Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
LRP SPHERE COMP. ESC (80700) >

LRP SPHERE COMP. ESC (80700)

LRP SPHERE COMP. ESC (80700)

Old 04-17-2007, 11:28 PM
  #391  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 83
Default

Robo,

the X11 4.5 and other LRP motors come with a sensor wire.

jarkko
jarkko is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 01:00 AM
  #392  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (7)
 
ROBORAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: JP Raceway
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

jarkko: thanks. just making sure!
ROBORAT is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 02:32 AM
  #393  
Tech Addict
 
burito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 513
Default

Originally Posted by cvt01
When I got my 2007 Edition I've put on the heat sink (because it looked cool ) and I used the double sided tape they included in the package. Now I have weight and balance issues but heat wasn't an issue with my 13.5 and 4300 so I want to get rid of it. The tape looks pretty strong to me. Is there a method LRP can recommend for removing the sink? I don't want to damage my ESC...
The best way is to slightly "cut" the thermal tape with a scalpel in one corner and then rotate the heatsink (do not pull!!!) until it comes off the stickerplate.
burito is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 05:11 PM
  #394  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

thanks burito, will try
cvt01 is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 05:43 PM
  #395  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
GymBeam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Losi|Novak|MuchMore
Posts: 434
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

do anyone adjust the timing on the lrp x11 motors?

does it make a big difference? is that an advantage the x-11 has over the novaks?
GymBeam is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 05:44 PM
  #396  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
dsrbltoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 890
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

novak has adjustable timing also!
dsrbltoys is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 05:47 PM
  #397  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
GymBeam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Losi|Novak|MuchMore
Posts: 434
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

how do u do that?

i dont see any markings on the can
GymBeam is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 11:17 PM
  #398  
Tech Addict
 
burito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 513
Default

Please refer to the manual how to alter the timing (see attachment) but actually almost everyone prefers the factory setting of 2mm timing.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
burito is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 05:28 AM
  #399  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 156
Exclamation Problems with TC spec

Hi,

after two days of practice with my new TC spec I am experiencing some serious issues. The first day the speedo performed well, and also most of the second day was ok, but with the last two batteries I had some problems. The car had not the same power as in the runs before, when hitting the throttle the acceleration was strange, abrupt power loss, motor is whining and the leds flash in a strange manner (when full power the mode led should be constantly yellow, but in my case it is yellow and then turns red just for a blink of an eye and then yellow again, it seems to me that it turns red just when it looses power for that time). A club colleague told me to change the timing of the motor, could that help?

Another strange thing is that when throttle is in neutral position the set led sometimes flashes blue.

I'm using a 4.5T X11 geared 7.8 (5 cells), large track.

maybe someone could help me out, first race of the season is only a week away
omoser is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 05:35 AM
  #400  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 308
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Dont think it is a timming thing. I would check if the sensor cable and his connections are in good condition.

If possible, try a different sensor cable.

Good luck mate
Itchy is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 09:07 AM
  #401  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 156
Default

Originally Posted by Itchy
Dont think it is a timming thing. I would check if the sensor cable and his connections are in good condition.

If possible, try a different sensor cable.

Good luck mate
thanks for the tipp, i will try to get hold of another cable but for me it looks good... has anybody else experienced the set LED flashing blue during partial load? With full throttle the set LED lights (more or less constantly) blue, but the mode LED turns yellow and then red (only sometimes, its not lighting yellow nor red constantly) - really strange. Tried also an RX cap with my spectrum micro receiver, same problem.

Maybe Reto could explain the strange LED thing?

regards
omoser is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 09:17 AM
  #402  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

I`m not positive but it seems you thermaled...(Too hot)..

Check gearing
Check if you have the ADPC mode (mode 2), if it is set to high...

Use the heat sink ...
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 01:00 PM
  #403  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Greece , Athens
Posts: 450
Default

Originally Posted by omoser
Hi,

after two days of practice with my new TC spec I am experiencing some serious issues. The first day the speedo performed well, and also most of the second day was ok, but with the last two batteries I had some problems. The car had not the same power as in the runs before, when hitting the throttle the acceleration was strange, abrupt power loss, motor is whining and the leds flash in a strange manner (when full power the mode led should be constantly yellow, but in my case it is yellow and then turns red just for a blink of an eye and then yellow again, it seems to me that it turns red just when it looses power for that time). A club colleague told me to change the timing of the motor, could that help?

Another strange thing is that when throttle is in neutral position the set led sometimes flashes blue.

I'm using a 4.5T X11 geared 7.8 (5 cells), large track.

maybe someone could help me out, first race of the season is only a week away
Do you experience any glitching???
If you have changed the timing than may be a timing problem otherwise no.
But if you have any other motor that you can try then try it , it maybe is a motor prob.

But before all these set again your speedo and set again the modes and don't use any expos at throtle -brake at the transmitter and if you can, set speedos drag and initial brake at 0!!
Zacharopoulos is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 01:04 PM
  #404  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Greece , Athens
Posts: 450
Default

Originally Posted by omoser
thanks for the tipp, i will try to get hold of another cable but for me it looks good... has anybody else experienced the set LED flashing blue during partial load? With full throttle the set LED lights (more or less constantly) blue, but the mode LED turns yellow and then red (only sometimes, its not lighting yellow nor red constantly) - really strange. Tried also an RX cap with my spectrum micro receiver, same problem.

Maybe Reto could explain the strange LED thing?

regards
yeap i had the same problem but at the same time that the leds got crazy the motor lost power and the ok and then again lost power..

Don't want to scare you but if you experience this only at FULL throtle then it is speedo' problem!!

I had my ISTC (nosram) burnt at the second battery after all this that you describe...
Zacharopoulos is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 01:41 PM
  #405  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 156
Default

Originally Posted by Wild Cherry
I`m not positive but it seems you thermaled...(Too hot)..

Check gearing
Check if you have the ADPC mode (mode 2), if it is set to high...

Use the heat sink ...
hmm it was pretty cold those days, maybe 15 degrees (celsius), and i was not really pushing it to the limit and TC spec comes with heatsink and fan preinstalled soi hardly can imagine that the damn thing burnt

ADPC mode is set to 2, initial brake is 0 and automatic brake 1
omoser is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.