Team Associated TC5

Reply

Old 08-17-2010, 08:50 PM
  #12571  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (43)
 
seth556's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,233
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

I have a used tc5 in the mail and it should be here in a few days. I'm planning on racing it down at my LHS (superior hobbies) and was looking for an asphalt setup and wondered if there was any must have upgrades for the car or anything I need to do to make it raceable?
seth556 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 09:54 AM
  #12572  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
rc pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Airdire, AB, Canada
Posts: 787
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Chiming in on the body choice, as well...
I carry only two body types to every race: Mazdaspeed 6 and LTC-R
Speed has a nice balance in low-to-medium traction conditions, whereas the LTC-R is a little on the loose side. Once you get a groove on the track the speed tends to be a little too planted. Then I run to the LTC-R, which is more responsive.
I used to also carry the original Mazda 6 and the Stratus 3.0, but they simply aren't on pace under most conditions.
rc pete is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 06:49 PM
  #12573  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
xtrememadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: new jersey
Posts: 974
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by spongerX View Post
I'm partial to the LTC-R these days. Protoform Stratus 3.0 feels really slow. Gotta cut down the rear wing a lot. MazdaSpeed 6 felt too loose to me.

LTC-R is a nice compromise of rear down force and good top speed.
speed 6 for rubber carpet. ltc-r for asphalt.
xtrememadness is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 07:26 PM
  #12574  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (17)
 
W.E.D.Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kissimmee,Fl.
Posts: 4,942
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
Default

Some sedan bodies done recently I thought might brighten up this thread.








...Jim
W.E.D.
www.wedjim.com
W.E.D.Jim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 04:05 AM
  #12575  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
georgec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 624
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Wow, sweet looking lids! Would like to have one of those, when I get to where I don't hit the boards hard and often =)
georgec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 07:32 AM
  #12576  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 778
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default tc5 shock bladder became bigger then new one ...

Hi!

In my new tc5r shock bladder became bigger ...

I mean rubber is little bigger and I can't rebuild shocks ... is too big now.

I use GM silicon oils ... but same shit came true with my 2y old shocks where was AE oil ...

Now I put bladder from Hot Bodies .. because I only have this one free at my home

Any driver get this problem with bladders like me?

Regards!
m
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 08:04 AM
  #12577  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (49)
 
Warren Weaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NASCAR COUNTRY
Posts: 2,521
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
Hi!

In my new tc5r shock bladder became bigger ...

I mean rubber is little bigger and I can't rebuild shocks ... is too big now.

I use GM silicon oils ... but same shit came true with my 2y old shocks where was AE oil ...

Now I put bladder from Hot Bodies .. because I only have this one free at my home

Any driver get this problem with bladders like me?

Regards!
m
if you used a motor spray to clean the shocks out and the bladders that would make them expand.
Warren Weaver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 08:17 AM
  #12578  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 778
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Warren Weaver View Post
if you used a motor spray to clean the shocks out and the bladders that would make them expand.
I never use it I know this from another car. With my tc5 for almost last 3y I don't made this stupid mistake



Regards!
m.
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 12:37 PM
  #12579  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 286
Default

The AE Bladder do swell up after a little while, I used the hotbodies bladder as well so no problem there !
Keven H is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 06:38 PM
  #12580  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
georgec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 624
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Anyone tried to buy anything from Exotek lately? I have been on their site several times lately wanting to buy some of the graphite pieces that you thread tape trough to hold the battery in place but their store seems to be closed! Oh well, I think I may have enough scrap pieces laying around to make my own =)
georgec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 06:54 PM
  #12581  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,381
Default

I had the same problem with the AE bladders, I never cleaned mine with motor spray either. I installed Tamiya bladders and never had a problem since. I think it's been two years.




Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
Hi!

In my new tc5r shock bladder became bigger ...

I mean rubber is little bigger and I can't rebuild shocks ... is too big now.

I use GM silicon oils ... but same shit came true with my 2y old shocks where was AE oil ...

Now I put bladder from Hot Bodies .. because I only have this one free at my home

Any driver get this problem with bladders like me?

Regards!
m
outlandr91 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 01:41 AM
  #12582  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 57
Default Need Help for my TC5R

Guys,

I've got a problem with my newly required TC5R. whenever I'm applying a brake on stretch she keep on turning right without steering input. Check already the ride hide, droop it is all ok. I don't know how why she keep on turning right. Your help is highly appreciated.

Thank you Guys

Shock
Shockflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 02:37 AM
  #12583  
Tech Regular
 
scoyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 465
Default

Originally Posted by Shockflyer View Post
Guys,

I've got a problem with my newly required TC5R. whenever I'm applying a brake on stretch she keep on turning right without steering input. Check already the ride hide, droop it is all ok. I don't know how why she keep on turning right. Your help is highly appreciated.

Thank you Guys

Shock
Have you checked you diff/diffs to make sure they are still tight and rotating ok? Under braking it may not be reacting the same on both sides and causing it to veer to the right?
scoyle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 04:32 AM
  #12584  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Barbados
Posts: 214
Default

Originally Posted by Shockflyer View Post
Guys,

I've got a problem with my newly required TC5R. whenever I'm applying a brake on stretch she keep on turning right without steering input. Check already the ride hide, droop it is all ok. I don't know how why she keep on turning right. Your help is highly appreciated.

Thank you Guys

Shock
I've had this happen a few times. Very frustrating to work out.

Here are some things you can try:

Check your front spool and make sure it is still tight. Mine goes through phases where it will start to slip a lot. Usually mid race and then braking gets really interesting.
Check left to right balance of the car using the balancing holes in the chassis.
Check for chassis tweak.
Check that all the suspension components are mounted in the same holes left to right.
spongerX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 02:06 PM
  #12585  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 57
Default

Scoyle and Sponger x

Thank you guys for the help. Now my TC5R is running fine. I do hope to catch up coz we will have our nationals race within 2 weeks.

Shock
Shockflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service