Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Associated TC5 >

Team Associated TC5

Team Associated TC5

Old 06-20-2010, 12:53 AM
  #12451  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northampton, MA
Posts: 273
Default

Originally Posted by IL_AudiRacer View Post
Does anyone know off hand what parts are needed to fit Tamiya TRF shocks
to my TC5 just ordered a set and want to have parts for when they get here
Thanks
You will only need to replace the top hardware with 5mm ball studs. Use the same nuts that hold on the top bushings and you should be all set.
dragnse7en is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 07:28 PM
  #12452  
Tech Apprentice
 
Chewwie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 55
Default

what about gearing ?

Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
1 - Your are going to have to solder on a battery connector at the least.. If your doing speed runs id suggest the Mamba Max Pro/9000kv motor combo

2- Get a 2S lipo, as big (capacity wise) as your budget will allow.

3- Id get an Onyx 230 charger, does a/c and d/c, only $85

4- Again, depends on your budget. Id get a futaba 9551, they are $85 I believe. For just blasting up and down the street, you could probably get away with something cheaper.
Chewwie is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 08:11 PM
  #12453  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northampton, MA
Posts: 273
Default

Originally Posted by Chewwie View Post
what about gearing ?
I use 64p 105t spur/ 35t pinion. Great upper midrange gearing.
dragnse7en is offline  
Old 06-20-2010, 08:20 PM
  #12454  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,690
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chewwie View Post
what about gearing ?
Depends on how big the area your running in is. Without that, what I tell you could be way over or way under, and both can be bad for your system.
geeunit1014 is offline  
Old 06-21-2010, 12:03 AM
  #12455  
Tech Apprentice
 
Chewwie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 55
Default

2 blocks of flat surface

Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
Depends on how big the area your running in is. Without that, what I tell you could be way over or way under, and both can be bad for your system.
Chewwie is offline  
Old 06-21-2010, 12:07 AM
  #12456  
Tech Apprentice
 
Chewwie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 55
Default

Originally Posted by dragnse7en View Post
I use 64p 105t spur/ 35t pinion. Great upper midrange gearing.
thanks. i will keep that in mind.

just getting back to electric and everything has change so much
Chewwie is offline  
Old 06-21-2010, 01:17 AM
  #12457  
Tech Apprentice
 
Chewwie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 55
Default

Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
Depends on how big the area your running in is. Without that, what I tell you could be way over or way under, and both can be bad for your system.
what does the 7.4v , 11.1v , 14.8v , 20c , 30c , 40c means ??
Chewwie is offline  
Old 06-21-2010, 03:39 AM
  #12458  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 782
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chewwie View Post
what does the 7.4v , 11.1v , 14.8v , 20c , 30c , 40c means ??
It is simple.

Lipo 1 cell has 3.7V (1s), so 7.4V is 2 cell packet (2s), 11.1V is 3 cell packet (3s).

When you got for example 7.4V 3400mAh 20C packet, you can get from this
3.4*20 = 68A const, another packet, 5300mAh/50C -> 5.3*50= 265A

If more C then packet should be better.

Hope this help

Regards!
m
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Old 06-23-2010, 11:32 PM
  #12459  
Tech Apprentice
 
Chewwie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 55
Default

Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
It is simple.

Lipo 1 cell has 3.7V (1s), so 7.4V is 2 cell packet (2s), 11.1V is 3 cell packet (3s).

When you got for example 7.4V 3400mAh 20C packet, you can get from this
3.4*20 = 68A const, another packet, 5300mAh/50C -> 5.3*50= 265A

If more C then packet should be better.

Hope this help

Regards!
m
so i have a TC5R , which pack will fit just right
7.4v 2s or 11.1v 3s ?
Chewwie is offline  
Old 06-24-2010, 01:32 AM
  #12460  
RIP
Tech Rookie
 
RIP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Default Li-po

7.4 2s, but you need this AE optional part - #31257
Attached Thumbnails Team Associated TC5-31257.jpg  
RIP is offline  
Old 06-25-2010, 04:05 AM
  #12461  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 782
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RIP View Post
7.4 2s, but you need this AE optional part - #31257
It is optional part you need or not need
If you swap belts, it is better to use it and move holes outside for 7-8mm
or something like that :P
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Old 06-25-2010, 04:39 PM
  #12462  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northampton, MA
Posts: 273
Default

Originally Posted by RIP View Post
7.4 2s, but you need this AE optional part - #31257
Yep. I need that part too. No matter how tight I make the battery thumb screws, the battery shifts around. I was skeptical about the add-on part @ 1st, but a 2.5mm thick plate should be tall enuf to keep the lipo in place.
dragnse7en is offline  
Old 06-25-2010, 04:59 PM
  #12463  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northampton, MA
Posts: 273
Default

On a different note . . . .

I was running my car last Sunday, and one of the screws that holds the front suspension arm mount came loose, fell out, and all hell broke loose.

Keep in mind, I bought this car off ebay as an assembled roller, virtually new w/o scratches or any wear. I have a TA05-R I bought new and used blue thread locking compound on all the screws fastened to metal parts.

After realizing I lost a spacer and two shims for the inner hinge pin, I decided to tear the car apart. I found at least a dozen other screws fastened to metal were very loose as well.

As I tore the rest of the chassis down, I noticed that whatever was used as a thread locking compound looked like CA glue; other screws had a cakey white powder on their threads.

Needless to say, I am rebuilding my kit from ground zero, and will be using the same TL compound as I did on my TA05-R.

I may or may not be barking up the right tree, however it needs to be said; substituting the right thing will only cost more later down the road!!!!

I use CA glue on a regular basis, for resin model kits and regular models, and have used it for decades.

CA glue is brittle when dry, and no matter how much is used, will crack apart under tension.

I highly suggest against substitutions, unless in a pinch at the track where it's only needed for a few heats.
dragnse7en is offline  
Old 06-30-2010, 11:43 PM
  #12464  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 782
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default TC6 is DONE!

TC6 is DONE!!!

http://www.redrc.net/2010/06/exclusive-associated-tc6/

http://events.redrc.net/2010/06/new-...ssociated-tc6/

Now, Rick, question is how and which parts we can use from tc5 to tc6?

I mean, get new chassis and use old spares at new one.


For me, new tc6 is nice but ...
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Old 06-30-2010, 11:45 PM
  #12465  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,356
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
TC6 is DONE!!!

http://www.redrc.net/2010/06/exclusive-associated-tc6/

http://events.redrc.net/2010/06/new-...ssociated-tc6/

Now, Rick, question is how and which parts we can use from tc5 to tc6?

I mean, get new chassis and use old spares at new one.


For me, new tc6 is nice but ...
If you read the report, it says arms and rear uprights and some other bits i forgot.
defcone is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.