Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Associated TC5 >

Team Associated TC5

Team Associated TC5

Old 05-03-2010, 08:31 PM
  #12286  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
JKL1031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

anyone?
JKL1031 is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 10:25 PM
  #12287  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
blanks596's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles Dojo
Posts: 884
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default overweight balance issues

so I've got my car balanced, but it's balanced at 1488g; I'm about 70g past the min weight so what can I do-I had to add about 140g to balance my car on the lipo side using the associated lipo tray
blanks596 is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 10:30 PM
  #12288  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (80)
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,082
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

a photo of your car will help or a list of everything you got.

If you can move your electronics closer to the middle.

That is why I don't like the lipo braces that don't allow you to move your lipo as you please. I tape my lipo to the stock tc5 brace and move it around till my car was balanced. I was able to balance my car to about 1380 if I remember right.
pakk is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 10:45 PM
  #12289  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
blanks596's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles Dojo
Posts: 884
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

originally, I was not using the lipo brace and car was balanced at around 1350, which is way below min. the problem was that I don't have battery brace; i just strapped the battery down with tape while using double sided tape on the bottom to keep it from moving laterally. I don't want to use double sided tape anymore. I don't have a pic but i;m using tekin rs with airtronics 94357 servo, amb and stock airtronics fm receiver
blanks596 is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 10:49 PM
  #12290  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (80)
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,082
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pakk View Post
I was going to try to explain, but photos are so much easier.



That is how I am doing it. Get a brace. Best solution IMO.
pakk is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 11:51 PM
  #12291  
Tech Master
iTrader: (47)
 
hijinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bendigo
Posts: 1,364
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default Loose in the rear end

Hey there guys, my TC5 is loose in the rear end through a corner off power, i have got 40w oil in all dampers, black sway bar on the rear and gold on the front, running .5 deg camber in the rear and 1 deg on the front, 3.0 deg toe in on the rear and 1 deg toe out on the front.
I'm running rubber tires and on a outdoor ashphalt track.
If anyone has some set up ideas that would be awesome as
hijinx is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 11:53 PM
  #12292  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 993
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by W.E.D.Jim View Post
I have some pics to post of some Protoform LTC-R sedan bodies just finished up, figured you guys might dig em' .










still trying to uncross my eyeballs!

...Jim
W.E.D.
www.wedjim.com
WOW! Very talented!
B.JUCHA is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 12:34 AM
  #12293  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
blanks596's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles Dojo
Posts: 884
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hijinx View Post
Hey there guys, my TC5 is loose in the rear end through a corner off power, i have got 40w oil in all dampers, black sway bar on the rear and gold on the front, running .5 deg camber in the rear and 1 deg on the front, 3.0 deg toe in on the rear and 1 deg toe out on the front.
I'm running rubber tires and on a outdoor ashphalt track.
If anyone has some set up ideas that would be awesome as
probably want to add more rear camber, reduce your rear droop
blanks596 is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 02:16 AM
  #12294  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Robert_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands, Sweet Lake City
Posts: 500
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hijinx View Post
Hey there guys, my TC5 is loose in the rear end through a corner off power, i have got 40w oil in all dampers, black sway bar on the rear and gold on the front, running .5 deg camber in the rear and 1 deg on the front, 3.0 deg toe in on the rear and 1 deg toe out on the front.
I'm running rubber tires and on a outdoor ashphalt track.
If anyone has some set up ideas that would be awesome as
Maybe a bit more informatie on your whole set-up will help. But Something that workes really wel is puttin' more shims underneed the outer ball on the rear hub (in the outer hole). This will give you more camberchange, and in my opinion "lock" the rear end Off-Power instead of sliding away. try raising it until it hits the rimm. Then again, the rest of the set-up needs te be okee.

Best Regards

Robert
Robert_K is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 07:11 AM
  #12295  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: South Jersey -- Exit 4
Posts: 232
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hijinx View Post
Hey there guys, my TC5 is loose in the rear end through a corner off power, i have got 40w oil in all dampers, black sway bar on the rear and gold on the front, running .5 deg camber in the rear and 1 deg on the front, 3.0 deg toe in on the rear and 1 deg toe out on the front.
I'm running rubber tires and on a outdoor ashphalt track.
If anyone has some set up ideas that would be awesome as
I've had the same issue, but mainly when I lift too much going in or in mid corner. Resisting that temptation helps a lot. Too much weight is going forward and the back loses grip. Try zero kick up or even some anti-dive in the front arm angle. You can increase the front ride height a little and try that.

I added droop to the rear (lower number on the droop gauge) and that kept the rear tires in better contact.

The downside is that you might induce a push where you don't want it. Like most cars, the TC5 is happier with a little positive throttle than off-power. If I'm having a problem losing it in mid-corner on a sweeper, I try a little lift going in to let the back free up, the get back into the throttle pretty immediately. The car will take a set and drift neatly through the corner.
jhberger is offline  
Old 05-05-2010, 06:08 PM
  #12296  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
JKL1031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

do yo have guys have problems with rocks eating the belts and diff?
JKL1031 is offline  
Old 05-05-2010, 06:34 PM
  #12297  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Barbados
Posts: 214
Default

Originally Posted by JKL1031 View Post
do yo have guys have problems with rocks eating the belts and diff?
No. I run in extremely dusty/dirty conditions and have been running the same pulleys and belts for 7 months now. Just run the belts a bit loose and they'll last ok. The belts will ride over any stones that get caught in the pulley teeth and you can just take them out after driving.

My biggest problems are dust/small stones in the CVD joints and stones jamming rims.

The ball diffs don't like being run in dusty conditions very much and will need rebuilding a lot quicker. Try not to let too much grease escape the ball runs, wipe off any excess to avoid it attracting dust.
spongerX is offline  
Old 05-05-2010, 07:56 PM
  #12298  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perth, Australia.
Posts: 1,343
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JKL1031 View Post
do yo have guys have problems with rocks eating the belts and diff?
No, and I run on large out door tracks. At one track there is grass, but I get a black rubbery gunge in my pulleys. Which I think is from 1/5th scale tourers and trucks, or it might be foam from 1/10th and 1/8th Nitro's. Don't know really, I just regularly check my pulley's and clean them as needed.

Last edited by Scooter79rs; 05-06-2010 at 08:36 AM.
Scooter79rs is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 08:31 AM
  #12299  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
poochy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,476
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

where can i get the new tc5 bulkheads?
poochy is offline  
Old 05-07-2010, 09:00 PM
  #12300  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
blanks596's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles Dojo
Posts: 884
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pakk View Post
That is how I am doing it. Get a brace. Best solution IMO.
well, I ended up getting the new diggity designs lipo tray and it totally allowed me to reduce my weight by 114g and completely balanced at 1390-no brace, just tape.
blanks596 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.