Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Associated TC5 >

Team Associated TC5

Team Associated TC5

Old 06-07-2009, 12:22 PM
  #9721  
Tech Master
iTrader: (66)
 
Jason Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,502
Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)
Default

Okay guys I bought the ITF chassis and mounted it sealed it ran it and now noticed that it's one of the ones with the counter sunk holes too big is there anything I can do about it?

Can it be replaced?

Is it okay that way?

Or can I fix it somehow?
Jason Turner is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 01:32 PM
  #9722  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 140
Default

Originally Posted by Jason Turner View Post
Okay guys I bought the ITF chassis and mounted it sealed it ran it and now noticed that it's one of the ones with the counter sunk holes too big is there anything I can do about it?
I had one of the bad ones, and in my case, I couldn't tighten my steering post. It wobbled very badly from side to side and had noticeable play in it, even when screwed down.

I'd start by double checking you've got the right screws in every hole that goes through the chassis and if you do, see if the screw can get tight. The head of the screw doesn't have to be completely flush with the surface of the chassis for it to be fine. I've seen a few in my area where the screw is just a little bit recessed, but it works fine and people have no problems with it.

I'd return it to your place of purchase if it's a LHS. If not, mail it back to associated with proof of purchase. They should take care of you. I sent mine back about a week ago and I'm waiting on their response.
BlueEagle is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 01:55 PM
  #9723  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Maybell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,109
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jason Turner View Post
Okay guys I bought the ITF chassis and mounted it sealed it ran it and now noticed that it's one of the ones with the counter sunk holes too big is there anything I can do about it?

Can it be replaced?

Is it okay that way?

Or can I fix it somehow?
Im sorry if you got a bad chassis man....

Contact AE customer support and they will take care of you...
Maybell is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 02:49 PM
  #9724  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by chrisfrom619 View Post
My motor mount use to do that till I use that blue alluminum spacer as a washer for the motor mount.
Cool. I will sand down the motor mount screw holes smooth again and then try using those and see if that helpms me out. Thanks for the idea.
wyd is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 04:15 PM
  #9725  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 64
Default Oversize Chassis holes

The easiest way to 'fix' this problem is to take a hand countersink tool and SLIGHTLY countersink the aluminium part that you are fixing to the chassis.
Screw the part on and it tightens correctly.
donwhit is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 06:35 PM
  #9726  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
xtrememadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: new jersey
Posts: 978
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jason Turner View Post
Okay guys I bought the ITF chassis and mounted it sealed it ran it and now noticed that it's one of the ones with the counter sunk holes too big is there anything I can do about it?

Can it be replaced?

Is it okay that way?

Or can I fix it somehow?
jason i had the same problem. i sent it to associated and they sent me a new one that was perfect they will take care of you
xtrememadness is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 06:43 PM
  #9727  
Tech Master
iTrader: (66)
 
Jason Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,502
Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)
Default

Hey thanks for the help guys i'll call them tomorrow.
Jason Turner is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 10:17 PM
  #9728  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 667
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

.

Last edited by JdogL; 06-07-2009 at 10:31 PM. Reason: double post
JdogL is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 10:18 PM
  #9729  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 667
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

turner when you call them ask them if they are still selling driving skills, you might need those for thursday night. last i heard they were still on back order for you lol. you p***y step up to 10.5 and make this more fun. i love gettin beat by you hahahahaha. oh and loose the swaybars. those are just cruches for you. bring the fight unda da lights boi. should be really fun. i think its your speedo that is causing u to be so dam fast in 13.5
JdogL is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 10:40 PM
  #9730  
Tech Master
iTrader: (66)
 
Jason Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,502
Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JdogL View Post
turner when you call them ask them if they are still selling driving skills, you might need those for thursday night. last i heard they were still on back order for you lol. you p***y step up to 10.5 and make this more fun. i love gettin beat by you hahahahaha. oh and loose the swaybars. those are just cruches for you. bring the fight unda da lights boi. should be really fun. i think its your speedo that is causing u to be so dam fast in 13.5
Alright i'm in for 10.5 I just gotta ask work to leave early.

That SPX is something else that's for sure it's like a 2 speed tranny.
Jason Turner is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 10:45 PM
  #9731  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 667
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

isnt it past your beddy by time turner. are you gonna use the same excuse you used last week to leave work???? boss i am goin to play toy cars!!!
JdogL is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 10:45 PM
  #9732  
Tech Master
iTrader: (66)
 
Jason Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,502
Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)
Default

? What does putting shims in the front of the car next to the bulkhead do?

ie wider or narrower front end?
Jason Turner is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 10:48 PM
  #9733  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 667
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

hint jason take them all out
JdogL is offline  
Old 06-08-2009, 01:47 AM
  #9734  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perth, Australia.
Posts: 1,343
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I was wondering whats the exact difference between the TC5FT and the TC5R, I know the R comes with a Slipper Spool/Spool but not sure about other things. I'm planning to get a TC5 and use it in Stock (17.5) on a large outdoor with rubber tyres.
Scooter79rs is offline  
Old 06-08-2009, 02:32 AM
  #9735  
AE-Reedy
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 786
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Scooter79rs View Post
I was wondering whats the exact difference between the TC5FT and the TC5R, I know the R comes with a Slipper Spool/Spool but not sure about other things. I'm planning to get a TC5 and use it in Stock (17.5) on a large outdoor with rubber tyres.
The original TC5 comes with "stiff" 2.5mm chassis and upper deck, the R comes with the ITF 2.0mm parts. Also the TC5 come with plastic diff outdrives, the R uses alloy with the option of the slipper spool.
Sean Cochran is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.