Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Associated TC5 >

Team Associated TC5

Team Associated TC5

Old 06-02-2009, 09:27 AM
  #9661  
Tech Adept
 
Redwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 188
Default

Originally Posted by IIGQ4U View Post
Those instructions for setting droop are simply downstop aren't they? I thought that droop was considered uptravel which is measured over ride height.
Yes but droop is a consequence of setting downstop and ride height, it is the combination of both, so changing either changes droop. Since we always want to run at a set ride height, your downstop value can be considered a droop value too. That is my understanding anyway.

Regards

Neal
Redwood is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 09:31 AM
  #9662  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 782
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mo View Post
Droop- Yes, just like that PDF.
....
Thank you!
Now it is all clear

Regards!
m.
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 09:33 AM
  #9663  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (53)
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, Palo Alto
Posts: 2,490
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Redwood View Post
Yes but droop is a consequence of setting downstop and ride height, it is the combination of both, so changing either changes droop. Since we always want to run at a set ride height, your downstop value can be considered a droop value too. That is my understanding anyway.

Regards

Neal
Since droop is a combination of ride height and downstop, you will need a separate value for it than downstop. If your downstop is at 6 and your ride height is at 5, what is your droop? Droop requires a separate value.
IIGQ4U is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 09:45 AM
  #9664  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 782
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cubic$Racing View Post
Michal,

I am experiencing a lack of rear traction that I cannot get a handle on. Would removing the foam in the shock help or make that condition worse? And would I remove it in both the front and rear shocks?
hi!

I think that, if remove foam from shocks, do it for all and set same rebound and uncompress speed, just shocks should work almost the same.

When you remove foam at rear, rear axle became softer and maybe this helps but I think it do wrong change for overall.

I think you should try Rick Hovart or Mister Mo setup for asphalt if you run on
rubber tires :-) (or maybe my last from Klodzko, you can found it at my signature).

Regards!
m.
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 10:10 AM
  #9665  
Tech Adept
 
Redwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 188
Default

Originally Posted by IIGQ4U View Post
Since droop is a combination of ride height and downstop, you will need a separate value for it than downstop. If your downstop is at 6 and your ride height is at 5, what is your droop? Droop requires a separate value.
Yes, sorry, I didn't mean that if your downstop is 5 then your droop is 5mm, I meant that if you change downstop and keep your ride height the same, then your droop changes proportional to your downstop. I suspect there is a simple relationship between the downstop markings on the droop gauge and actual droop measured above ride height.

Regards

Neal
Redwood is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 10:13 AM
  #9666  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 96
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
hi!

I think that, if remove foam from shocks, do it for all and set same rebound and uncompress speed, just shocks should work almost the same.

When you remove foam at rear, rear axle became softer and maybe this helps but I think it do wrong change for overall.

I think you should try Rick Hovart or Mister Mo setup for asphalt if you run on
rubber tires :-) (or maybe my last from Klodzko, you can found it at my signature).

Regards!
m.
Michal,

I am running on a medium grip carpet track
Cubic$Racing is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 10:13 AM
  #9667  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (53)
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, Palo Alto
Posts: 2,490
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Right, I understand the relationship and understand what you are saying.
IIGQ4U is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 10:26 AM
  #9668  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 782
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by IIGQ4U View Post
Right, I understand the relationship and understand what you are saying.

Hi!

For me, relationship is simple :-) I set downstop on tool (like in pdf, before
I put chassis and take about 26mm for front and 25mm for rear like this:
http://abram.eu.org/files/droop_tc5/ (26 + 10 = 36mm)), now if chassis is
balanced R/L, on setup station set 5mm RH for F and 5.5 for R (or 5.5 F and 6.0 R) using spring preload (after this I measure this on shock and set this same for fron and rear (for example F 3mm, R 2.5mm), I put chassis on tires and again
take Ride Height and drop, if somethings is not good I do again job with spring preload.

Now on track if my car drive nice and easy I will not change, if need some play, I do it with spring preload more drop, or less or more RH and less drop.

Btw, drop is something nasty for me, it depends on downstop, tire diameter,
lenght of shock, spring, spring preload, shock position, sway bars ...

I always want set it like usually, 2mm F, 2.5mm R or 1.5 F and 2.0 R.

If I do something wrong just tell me I will be happy with this :-)

Regards!
m.
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 10:28 AM
  #9669  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 782
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cubic$Racing View Post
Michal,

I am running on a medium grip carpet track
So maybe you should start from this point:
http://www.rc-setups.com/setups/170/edit

This setup help me

Regards!
m.

ps: look at properties
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 11:47 AM
  #9670  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 667
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

prob fixed

Last edited by JdogL; 06-02-2009 at 12:27 PM.
JdogL is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 11:52 AM
  #9671  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (53)
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, Palo Alto
Posts: 2,490
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

No,

You should have consistent contact between the spring and shock. You need to adjust your downstop screws.

What are your current droop settings?
IIGQ4U is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 12:00 PM
  #9672  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 667
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

6 up front and 5 in rear. the deal is like this the car is super dialed as it sits. but when i try to set the spring collarso that there is tension the ride height is way off.
JdogL is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 12:07 PM
  #9673  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 782
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JdogL View Post
6 up front and 5 in rear. the deal is like this the car is super dialed as it sits. but when i try to set the spring collarso that there is tension the ride height is way off.

Hi!

I have 6 at F and 7 at R, shock length taken from holes is 59mm for F and R,
if chassis is over table, springs are not loose, length between blue ring and shock body is about 2.5-2.8mm, springs F ae blue and R ae silver.

So you should check length of shocks and play with downstop

Springs can't be loose when your car jump over bumps they must little compressed

Hope this helps!

Regards,
m.
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 12:29 PM
  #9674  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 667
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

i see what i did wrong. it was a stupid mistake
JdogL is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 12:58 PM
  #9675  
Tech Fanatic
 
trailranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 946
Default

I guess I am lost reading all this downstop/droop thing in this thread.

Since I don't race competively due to living in the Abyss of R/C racing I never took much thought on this.

But when I mess with my car, I do the ride height first and loosen the downstops. I set the collars of my shocks to get my ride height. I measure the gap of the shock collar to shock body flange on top to ensure they are equal for L/R. I use the downstops to adjust my droop, and do not use the AE downstop gauge but use a ruler and check the lift of the chassis in mm.

The truth is, either you have the same downstop value, or the same droop value but not booth after you change ride height. So pretty much you are going to have to ignore one value if ride height does change because of tires or track conditions.
trailranger is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.