Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Associated TC5 >

Team Associated TC5

Team Associated TC5

Old 05-27-2009, 10:14 AM
  #9616  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
raven101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: topeka, ks.
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jason Turner View Post
What do you guys think of my build?



Anyone else run there transponder here? If so any problems?

i have had a couple missed laps with it mounted to the carbon fiber so i mount mine to the top of the front bumper as far back as possible with velcro.
raven101 is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 10:36 AM
  #9617  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
Airflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manila
Posts: 823
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Hi, Ive snapped a rear belt. Any recommendation of an
alternative belt to use? Aside from AE?
Airflow is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 10:45 AM
  #9618  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
raven101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: topeka, ks.
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Airflow View Post
Hi, Ive snapped a rear belt. Any recommendation of an
alternative belt to use? Aside from AE?
the ae belt works on the corraly rdx you can try the reverse.
raven101 is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 06:39 PM
  #9619  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
Airflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manila
Posts: 823
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

We dont have Corally distributors here. Our LHSs carry only
these brands: Yokomo, HPI/HB, Tamiya, AE (TC4), Xray
and Serpent. It would take weeks if I order TC5 belt.

Thanks you for your suggestion though.
Airflow is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 10:30 AM
  #9620  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
mr crum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: tampa florida 813
Posts: 1,591
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Airflow View Post
Hi, Ive snapped a rear belt. Any recommendation of an
alternative belt to use? Aside from AE?
how did u snap a rear belt ive been runnin tc5 for 2 yrs now and havent snapped a front or rear belt
mr crum is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 07:24 PM
  #9621  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
Airflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manila
Posts: 823
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mr crum View Post
how did u snap a rear belt ive been runnin tc5 for 2 yrs now and havent snapped a front or rear belt
While doing speed runs, it suddenly understeered. When I checked it, the
rear belt was hanging to the motor wires. Funny thing is when I examined
the belt, there were no signs of hard impact from small stones. As if
it snapped by itself, I dont know. I was just running it on 10.5t BL setup.
I tried to pull the belt to see if I could snap it by force, it was freakin
strong. I tried the a rear belt from Yokomo BD last night, it was tight and
almost impossible to fit. Guess I have to wait for 1 week or so before
new belts arrive. I ordered another set more for spares. My TA05R doesnt
suffer from belt failures for 2 years.
Airflow is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 07:36 PM
  #9622  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (147)
 
FK05 lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: somewhere in 1973
Posts: 2,994
Trader Rating: 147 (99%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Airflow View Post
We dont have Corally distributors here. Our LHSs carry only
these brands: Yokomo, HPI/HB, Tamiya, AE (TC4), Xray
and Serpent. It would take weeks if I order TC5 belt.

Thanks you for your suggestion though.
Try Stormer Hobbies.com, they're got all the TC5 parts & are quick to deliver..
FK05 lover is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 08:01 PM
  #9623  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (18)
 
revo61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: In the dirty south
Posts: 2,886
Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)
Default

Hard impacts are the only thing that will snap a belt. The 1 time I broke one was after crash drag racing.


Originally Posted by Airflow View Post
While doing speed runs, it suddenly understeered. When I checked it, the
rear belt was hanging to the motor wires. Funny thing is when I examined
the belt, there were no signs of hard impact from small stones. As if
it snapped by itself, I dont know. I was just running it on 10.5t BL setup.
I tried to pull the belt to see if I could snap it by force, it was freakin
strong. I tried the a rear belt from Yokomo BD last night, it was tight and
almost impossible to fit. Guess I have to wait for 1 week or so before
new belts arrive. I ordered another set more for spares. My TA05R doesnt
suffer from belt failures for 2 years.
revo61 is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 10:26 PM
  #9624  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
Airflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manila
Posts: 823
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by revo61 View Post
Hard impacts are the only thing that will snap a belt. The 1 time I broke one was after crash drag racing.
What are you saying? I did not crash or hit something hard. Maybe a
pebble with sharp edges went under the chassis and somehow hit
the running belt and made a crack. My belt tension is not so tight nor
loose. Im just sad that I wont be able to run it this weekend. It is
a joy driving that kit.
Airflow is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 01:57 AM
  #9625  
Tech Master
iTrader: (66)
 
Jason Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,502
Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by raven101 View Post
i have had a couple missed laps with it mounted to the carbon fiber so i mount mine to the top of the front bumper as far back as possible with velcro.
Oh really? Why does it miss them on graphite? Maybe that's what happened to my B44 hmm...
Jason Turner is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 06:36 AM
  #9626  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
raven101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: topeka, ks.
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jason Turner View Post
Oh really? Why does it miss them on graphite? Maybe that's what happened to my B44 hmm...
i am not sure but on the amb instructions it says carbon fiber chassis will have ill effects on them this must be one of them. but i have had no problems with it since i mounted it on the bumper.
raven101 is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 07:06 AM
  #9627  
Tech Master
iTrader: (35)
 
rcterp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: No mans land.
Posts: 1,032
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

I would assume it has something to do with the fact that carbon fiber is a conductor. Maybe it scatters the signal too much for the loop to pick up.
rcterp is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 08:10 AM
  #9628  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (18)
 
revo61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: In the dirty south
Posts: 2,886
Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)
Default

My bad I thought you crashed, but a pebble will shread any belt.



Originally Posted by Airflow View Post
What are you saying? I did not crash or hit something hard. Maybe a
pebble with sharp edges went under the chassis and somehow hit
the running belt and made a crack. My belt tension is not so tight nor
loose. Im just sad that I wont be able to run it this weekend. It is
a joy driving that kit.
revo61 is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 09:18 PM
  #9629  
Tech Regular
 
chrisfrom619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 294
Default

Originally Posted by Airflow View Post
We dont have Corally distributors here. Our LHSs carry only
these brands: Yokomo, HPI/HB, Tamiya, AE (TC4), Xray
and Serpent. It would take weeks if I order TC5 belt.

Thanks you for your suggestion though.
Have you tried HPI rear belts from I say from pro 2 to sprint 2 I know they have various lenght I know this when I used to have sprint 2.

Mabuhay!!!
chrisfrom619 is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 11:26 PM
  #9630  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 140
Default

Originally Posted by Jason Turner View Post
I have never heard of any problems like this for the B44 it's made by AE I heard the TC5 is made by someone else so maybe thats why?
I heard of many initial fit/finish/breakage problems on B44s from early B44 owners (shock shafts and rear top plate). As I understand it, the B44 and the TC5R are both made by Thunder Tiger (they own Assoicated now?) but the graphite bits are still made in-house by Associated.

In any case, I managed to get in touch with AE this week and they asked me to send it in. Hopefully they'll quickly replace it and I can get back on the road.
BlueEagle is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.