Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Associated TC5 >

Team Associated TC5

Team Associated TC5

Old 04-13-2009, 04:56 PM
  #9331  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,690
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by medservr View Post
Yeah, I think I'm just going to do the zip tie thing. Extending the wires seems like a good idea, but I all about keeping it simple. Since I'm planning to race my TC5, I'm happy to hear that the balance isn't thrown off by having the module up a little high on the motor wires.

Thanks
I have the cap for my SP on the bottom of the topdeck
geeunit1014 is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 05:04 PM
  #9332  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
mr crum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: tampa florida 813
Posts: 1,591
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by medservr View Post
Does anyone have a good place to mount a ESC power trans cap module on a TC5? You can't put it on the top plate because the belt is there and you can mount it on the chassis because these is not enough room. Any help, including pictures of your TC5/ESC setup, would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
i run speed passion and my cap is next to the speedo
mr crum is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 08:52 PM
  #9333  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Tunatsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 253
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default thx

thx to Mr Crum and all at the track for the info about the soon to be my TC5
Tunatsol is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 11:16 PM
  #9334  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Tunatsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 253
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

what does everyone think of runing a 13.5t sinsorless brushless with matching speed control in my tc5
Tunatsol is offline  
Old 04-14-2009, 05:16 AM
  #9335  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
mr crum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: tampa florida 813
Posts: 1,591
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tunatsol View Post
what does everyone think of runing a 13.5t sinsorless brushless with matching speed control in my tc5
should b ok just wont b as smooth as sensered bl but should b ok
mr crum is offline  
Old 04-14-2009, 08:13 AM
  #9336  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tunatsol View Post
what does everyone think of runing a 13.5t sinsorless brushless with matching speed control in my tc5
If you use a sensorless speedo and sensorless motor you should be fine. If the company has good software it will very smooth.

If you running a 13.5 sensored with a sensorless speedo it will hesistate off the line on initial hit of the throttle and cog.
wyd is offline  
Old 04-14-2009, 01:06 PM
  #9337  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 667
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

hey i just got my tc5 and i am wondering what a good starting point might be for the belt tension numbers. it seems that most people use the a cam. i am putting a 7.5L in it. what would be the prefered pinion to run with the 87 t spur?
JdogL is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 08:30 AM
  #9338  
Tech Regular
 
Team STPN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Roseville, Cal
Posts: 321
Default

This TC5 is starting frutrate me a lot and maybe someone out there can help me out. How can this car have a decent run during practice and the first qualifier and then turns crappy in the second, third, and final round? Now for the second, third, and the final round I just change the tires due to the track temp getting hotter. The cars starts hooking around and this is where all the settings are checked such as Tweek, camber, Diff, etc. prior to the run. I see other TCs not making any changes, except for tires, and just checking there settings and are fine for the whole day. So what gives with this car???
Team STPN is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 09:11 AM
  #9339  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
raven101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: topeka, ks.
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JdogL View Post
hey i just got my tc5 and i am wondering what a good starting point might be for the belt tension numbers. it seems that most people use the a cam. i am putting a 7.5L in it. what would be the preferred pinion to run with the 87 t spur?
to keep your final drive between 4.5 and 5.0 you would need a 34 to 37 tooth pinion but if your running a 7.5 turn motor i would say in the range of a 23 tooth to keep the temp down. anyone please feel free to correct me if i am off on that as gearing is not my best issue.
raven101 is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 10:05 AM
  #9340  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (80)
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,761
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Team STPN View Post
This TC5 is starting frutrate me a lot and maybe someone out there can help me out. How can this car have a decent run during practice and the first qualifier and then turns crappy in the second, third, and final round? Now for the second, third, and the final round I just change the tires due to the track temp getting hotter. The cars starts hooking around and this is where all the settings are checked such as Tweek, camber, Diff, etc. prior to the run. I see other TCs not making any changes, except for tires, and just checking there settings and are fine for the whole day. So what gives with this car???
Did this happen on more than one set of tires? Just curious because maybe there is something funny with that set. I am going to assume it is the same insert and wheel just a different compound correct?
Kraig is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 10:53 AM
  #9341  
Tech Addict
 
John_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 724
Default

What type of temperature variation are we wtalking about here? I run my car on sorex 32s in all weather condition here in the uk and have never needed to change from a warmer/cooler tyre.
John_S is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 11:39 AM
  #9342  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 427
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

i just got a tc5 and have been having problems with the rear shocks leaking out all the oil what is the tip to stopping this?
a.seffrood is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 12:17 PM
  #9343  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (80)
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,761
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by a.seffrood View Post
i just got a tc5 and have been having problems with the rear shocks leaking out all the oil what is the tip to stopping this?
Make sure you were able to seat the black plastic piece all of the way down into the shock body. When you insert the shock shaft make sure that you do not tear the o-ring. With only one o-ring in there now any tear will cause it to leak.
Kraig is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 03:12 PM
  #9344  
Tech Addict
 
speedsterblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 690
Default

Originally Posted by Kraig View Post
Make sure you were able to seat the black plastic piece all of the way down into the shock body. When you insert the shock shaft make sure that you do not tear the o-ring. With only one o-ring in there now any tear will cause it to leak.
Yeah, and the black washer. I started test fitting the black washers in the bodies before I put all the parts together for final incertion. I had a couple I didn't clean the burrs off of and wouldn't seat all the way...
speedsterblade is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 03:19 PM
  #9345  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
Hide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London
Posts: 931
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Been running this chassis for a while now.

Most recently i raced at a new club, I had never been there. Arrived late, had to put motor in etc after skimming it and rushed to make the 2nd qualifier. Despite a lack of grip (everyone was running additive and softer tyres) I still came second out of five on a new track against the regulars.

The car just maintains feeling dialed in and its very easy to set up Strong too! I got hit and the car flew about 6 feet up, landed on its roof, rolled over and kept going. Probably tweaked the chassis, but it was not handling any different after so I may have been lucky.
Hide is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.