Team Associated TC5

Old 12-11-2007, 06:18 PM
  #4801  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 49 (95%+)
Default

so the ITF chassis is for using rubber tires?
loopedout is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 06:35 PM
  #4802  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (15)
 
stonedgti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 700
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

It depends on the track conditions. If the bite is way high, then you want to put on the thicker chassis, but when the bite is a bit lower, you want to use the thin chassis.

My TC5 is super dialed on carpet with rubber tires. You can see for yourself. I'm the lead car. http://www.ammdesigns.podcastpeople.com/posts/15734
stonedgti is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 08:33 PM
  #4803  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
RCpurplecow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 253
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by loopedout View Post
so the ITF chassis is for using rubber tires?
yes
RCpurplecow is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 08:52 PM
  #4804  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
RCpurplecow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 253
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stonedgti View Post
It depends on the track conditions. If the bite is way high, then you want to put on the thicker chassis, but when the bite is a bit lower, you want to use the thin chassis.

My TC5 is super dialed on carpet with rubber tires. You can see for yourself. I'm the lead car. http://www.ammdesigns.podcastpeople.com/posts/15734
your car is really fast, what's your setup?
RCpurplecow is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 12:23 AM
  #4805  
Tech Apprentice
 
MackTuned44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fitchburg,Ma
Posts: 74
Default

Whats up everyone, My name is Kevin and i run My TC5 at RcExcitement in Fitchburg.com...

I run my Car more and more everyweek. I actually switched from a Nice Rdx.which i still have...

But i been loitering around and reading up on how people like the TC5. i can see everone is really happy with it .. i am as well, the TC5 is one of those cars u can just grab off the shelf and rip it up in club racing and respectful enough to hold it down at bigg races.

i believe i have found a great set-up where i can run my car from my home track and still works at other places.. (maximus hey heath, 360 raceway fantastic w.e. Donny ...etc..) but as soon as i work the bugs out with my rear diff(alum. on da way) and run this week end at Rcexcitement.com 3rd annual Ho Ho race.so its good to see great info being thrown around....


Kevin
MackTuned44 is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 12:36 AM
  #4806  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (15)
 
stonedgti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 700
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Here is the set-up.

I got the baseline set-up from Brandon Melton at the IIC (almost made A-Main) and then modified it to our track condition.
stonedgti is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 03:10 AM
  #4807  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 43
Default

@stonedgti: u warm up your tires befor u race??? when not, do it...after some rounds it looks like your car have more grip, becouse they have a better Temp??? very smooth and fast drivingstyle u have.

Good look,
Marcel
BlueSilver is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 08:30 AM
  #4808  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
Brandon Melton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 2,506
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stonedgti View Post
Here is the set-up.

I got the baseline set-up from Brandon Melton at the IIC (almost made A-Main) and then modified it to our track condition.
Hey George, glad to be able to help out. I watched your last round at IIC to see if it looked liked it helped, it looked like you were on a great pace, just a little bad luck. Things seem to always tighten up in the last round at races like that.
Brandon Melton is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 09:08 AM
  #4809  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
t4mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 541
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

What servo is everyone using in their TC5. I've read about mounting problems with some servos because of the mounting brackets on the servo. Looking for something in a digital that will pop right in without any chassis mods.
t4mania is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 01:33 AM
  #4810  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 49 (95%+)
Default

Ive heard of sanding and sealing the chassis, can someone elaborate on this process?
loopedout is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 07:15 AM
  #4811  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (78)
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,703
Trader Rating: 78 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by loopedout View Post
Ive heard of sanding and sealing the chassis, can someone elaborate on this process?
This explains it pretty well. http://www.teamcrc.com/crc/modules.p...rder=0&thold=0
Kraig is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 07:25 AM
  #4812  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Originally Posted by t4mania View Post
What servo is everyone using in their TC5. I've read about mounting problems with some servos because of the mounting brackets on the servo. Looking for something in a digital that will pop right in without any chassis mods.
No problems really, just use the servo of your choice. I was using a Futaba 9550. The servo from with the servo mounts behind the mounting tabs. This usually provides the least amount of mounting problems.
kn7671 is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 02:33 PM
  #4813  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
t4mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 541
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Thanks kn, already picked out a servo, futaba 9452. Good specs!
t4mania is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 02:51 PM
  #4814  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
t4mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 541
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Anyone know of anybody that has the P-Dub bumper for the tc5? Everbody I've checked online seems to be out of stock.
t4mania is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 02:56 PM
  #4815  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,629
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BlueSilver View Post
@stonedgti: u warm up your tires befor u race??? when not, do it...after some rounds it looks like your car have more grip, becouse they have a better Temp??? very smooth and fast drivingstyle u have.

Good look,
Marcel
you should always use tire warmers with rubber tires, it helps the car be more consistent throughout the run, and not for example say loose at the begging of the run and good at the end once the tires have warmed up. foam tires heat up much quicker so its isnt realy a nessicity. Be careful not to cook the tire and overheat it, i think a good starting point is +10*f what they came off the track at.
geeunit1014 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.