Team Associated TC5


Old 06-18-2007, 01:00 PM
  #3106  
Team EAM
iTrader: (79)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,278
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Advil View Post
The Futaba 9550 and the KO 2343 do not fit the kit mounts.
Yes but Airtronics and JR ones do. I used the narrow mounts on mine from a B4 and my 9550 fit perfect....I think those are the mounts the kit is going to be updated with as it will allow the use of any servo.

EA
EAMotorsports is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 01:07 PM
  #3107  
Tech Adept
 
nutsisneat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 101
Default

Hello guys

I finished my TC5 two days ago, i have two questions:

How can i fix my orion Lipos? I need something for the corners (like xray offers for the FK05) I want to use the strap and not tape.

Where can i buy a one way, a spool and maybe an itf chassis? All shops
and the bay are out of stock.

My comments to the kit: not the same quality like an xray, but very good, good enough. But i think the COG is very high compared to other actual cars like let's say Corally phi or MI3.
I'm wondering how the car will perform.
Regards from switzerland...
nutsisneat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 01:15 PM
  #3108  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 1,857
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cannon View Post
Wow ... got my TC5 kit and what can I say. It is such a high quality kit that I relegated it to the garbage bin. Would have to rival the JRX-S for poor quality kits. Poor fit and quality, doesn't even fit the current generation servos without dremelling and drilling. Way to go Associated !!!!!
I afraid I will have to disagree with you on this. The only thing that might have been a problem was servo mounting. Other than that ONE thing this kit is MILES above the last AE kit I assembled (TC4) and required no "hand fitting" of components other than for my personal choice of servo. This kit is easily on par with the last car I assembled....and that thing cost waaaay more than my new AE kit.

FWIW
Advil is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 01:17 PM
  #3109  
JCB
Tech Addict
 
JCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 741
Default

Hey Guys,

I was able to mount the KO 2173. I just dremeled the inside of the servo mounts and it mounted just fine. I also ran the car this past weekend on carpet (medium bite) with foam tires. Box setup, the car ran great! I used double pinks front and rear. I probably ran 16 packs with 19T and had no issues with the diffs. Just tighten them down and then back them out 1/4. Hope this helps.

JC

Last edited by JCB; 06-18-2007 at 01:48 PM.
JCB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 01:18 PM
  #3110  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 1,857
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
Yes but Airtronics and JR ones do. I used the narrow mounts on mine from a B4 and my 9550 fit perfect....I think those are the mounts the kit is going to be updated with as it will allow the use of any servo.

EA
That's what I did too Eric. I had some left over from my older AE cars. I was able to get one of my 9550s to fit in once I changed the mounts out.
Advil is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 01:38 PM
  #3111  
Tech Master
 
EricF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,547
Default Battery Strap

EA,

Put a bug in B.T.'s about elongating one of the holes on the battery strap. That way there's less chance of the strap causing a tweak.

E
EricF is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 01:47 PM
  #3112  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
fatbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 812
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cannon View Post
Shayne ... you are bad. They will think we all talk like that with that post

Fatbear ... you need to understand Australian humour. The offroad guys are just having fun. They are all mates. Australians will tend to have a go at each other but generally without malice. This year at the TITC event in Thailand we sat with Scott Ernst and Jilles Groskamp. By the end of the week , Scott was understanding that we pick on each other all the time in good humour. Jilles however was threatening to spray us with motor spray if we didn't stop picking on each other

I am sorry that I have offended anyone with my comments. The car was simply a disappointment in relation to quality. I should have assumed I would have been blasted if I made a comment about it.

Cannon, I do understand Australian Humour. We have basically the same humour in NZ. Now it is you that isn't getting me.
fatbear is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 02:17 PM
  #3113  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,545
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jeff john View Post
I had basically the same problem except I had 5 b-cam holders and 3 a-cam holders.
Looks like someone in AE quality control only likes odd numbers
DOTMAN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 04:17 PM
  #3114  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (116)
 
Glowster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,494
Trader Rating: 116 (100%+)
Default

How has the car been performing on carpet? Thinking of getting one to try but I only run on the rug and want to get some opinions before I take the $350 plunge.....
Glowster21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 04:33 PM
  #3115  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
dawgmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Glowster21 View Post
How has the car been performing on carpet? Thinking of getting one to try but I only run on the rug and want to get some opinions before I take the $350 plunge.....
never stopped you beforegood luck with your future races
dawgmeat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 04:35 PM
  #3116  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (192)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 28,258
Trader Rating: 192 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Glowster21 View Post
How has the car been performing on carpet? Thinking of getting one to try but I only run on the rug and want to get some opinions before I take the $350 plunge.....
actually $320.00 if you buy from towerhobbies
Marcos.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 04:51 PM
  #3117  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

What servos people are using without any modification for the TC5.
zake540 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 04:53 PM
  #3118  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (192)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 28,258
Trader Rating: 192 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by zake540 View Post
What servos people are using without any modification for the TC5.
a friend of mine uses the futaba9550
Marcos.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 05:00 PM
  #3119  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
dbmartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 641
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I am running the 9550 w/o any mods. Of course I also am the one that melted my diffs, but thats a whole other issue. And yes I only backed it out a 1/4 turn, just like every other diff I have ever built w/o issues. On a brighter note, I ordered the spool/alum diff, just waiting for them to arrive. I also ordered the outdrives to build the stock ones back up. Nice that they are only $6.00 for 4 outdrives.
-
? for the those that may know. What is the size of the diff nut?
dbmartin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 05:07 PM
  #3120  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
Verndog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Stockman View Post
Hi,

I've just build my TC5 but I found three short outdrives and just one long outdrive:s:s:s
SO I cant build the two diffs!!
Does anywone also has this problem?
And does anywone know where I would find the spool kit or diff kit?
I wondered this after reading your post. Are you refering to PN 31167 diff. outdrive? They only list one length which is wrong (unless they come in a kit). I wondered if I had an issue, as the drive dogs on the CVD's are very close to the outer retaining ring of the outdrive. I can tell that with a BL setup I will be looking for the alum. upgrades there.

I'd call the sales (only # listed I can see) # 949-544-7500 pacific time.
Verndog is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service