• 3 Post By robk
  • 1 Post By Mantoya
  • 1 Post By porsche928gs

Tamiya F1 car questions

Old 07-06-2020, 12:19 PM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Tamiya F1 car questions

Hello all, I am new to F1 racing and I jumped in head first without doing a lot of homework. Now I am stuck with a difficult decision. Which Tamiya F1 car to race? I have a F104 Pro Vii that I went a little bonkers and upgraded just about every part I could get my hands on. (Aluminum motor mount, carbon drive shaft, carbon fiber top deck, aluminum pivot post, exotek adjustable front suspension arms and aluminum body posts. I race on a medium to small indoor grey carpet track using our track's spec tire (Hudy). the car was super loose and I cant seem to get it tuned right. Talking with some on this board, it has been suggested that, perhaps the F104 Pro Vii was a bad choice for indoor carpet. Is that true? If so, I do have other choices for Tamiya available to me. I could either a.) get a F104 VERSION II (not the Pro Vii that i currently have) or the TRF102. Note that i also have the TRF101 front suspension kit NIP that I could put in any of these cars. I am looking for advice on the best path forward. Of course, folks at my track want me to race xray or roushe but neither is the "standard car" at my track and i can get parts for Tamiya car pretty easily. If given the choices above, which would you choose and why? Or, would you sell the F104 Pro Vii and TRF101 suspension kit and get the new Exotek?

Thanks in advanced!
Old 07-06-2020, 12:31 PM
Dan
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)

Why does it have to be Tamiya? I would avoid the TRF102 also having one. I think I've seen more people have handling issues from the Exotek adjustable front arms being off than people actually benefitting from it.