R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-21-2006, 10:32 AM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Takt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 896
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Spektrum - GTB Glitch/shut down

Here is my situation.

I ran my spektrum system (M-8) with the GTB and a brushed 19t in my buggy. No issues.

I bought a 6.5 brushless motor and set-up the GTB. I'm running it around inside, and whenever I give it full throttle from a stop, the spektrum "shuts down" - steering centers and no power. After a second, spektrum comes back on. I can run around half throttle without any problem.

Any thoughts?

I did a search and couldn't find this in any other forum.

Thanks,
Takt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 10:40 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
jjmudd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 2,396
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I ran my Spektrum outside with both gas and electric cars with no problems but as soon as I went indoors....nothing worked!!! Same problems you're having. I found there was a recall on the TX unit for Futaba...perhaps there is the same recall on the M8. I just sent my gear in and they updated the TX with new software and replaced the antenae in all three of my receivers. I would suggest sending it in to Horizon Hobby to be refurbished.
jjmudd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 10:48 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Takt

I did a search and couldn't find this in any other forum.

Thanks,
You didn't look very hard...LOL...this has been discussed ad nauseum on the "Spektrum" thread

The Sprektrum has a built-in failsafe. Your batteries are dumped or you have a wiring or ESC/BEC problem that is causing a low voltage issue for the reciever.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 11:00 AM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Takt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 896
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo Joe

The Sprektrum has a built-in failsafe. Your batteries are dumped or you have a wiring or ESC/BEC problem that is causing a low voltage issue for the reciever.
Perfect -- Thanks. I'll make sure the battery has a full charge. Thanks
Takt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 11:13 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
SWAMPER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 209
Default

have the same prob. in a mini cooper if it takes a hit it shuts down
no matter what i do it sill happens and happens to a lot of guys so it's not a low battery or wiring prob., i run it in nitro all the time never had a prob. run and ele. car jrx-s no prob., I have to sent everthing back for them to look at but don't think they have any idea what to do
SWAMPER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 11:38 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SWAMPER
have the same prob. in a mini cooper if it takes a hit it shuts down
no matter what i do it sill happens and happens to a lot of guys so it's not a low battery or wiring prob., i run it in nitro all the time never had a prob. run and ele. car jrx-s no prob., I have to sent everthing back for them to look at but don't think they have any idea what to do
I'm told that you have to put in a capacitor on the receiver because spectrum receiver senses a voltage drop whaern the car takes a hit and shutsdown. Turn off-turn-on fixes this problem or so I've been told...
__________________
This is DICK!!! And you're NOT!
RC Tech member #11
Aussie Rules Footy, Brisbane LIONS!!
[url]http://www.pitter-pat.com/[/url] for pet care needs in Northern Virginia
Nova F1 Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 12:16 PM   #7
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I've been running my GTB with a 4300 and 5800 indoors in my XXX-4 over the last month or so with my Spektrum-equipped Z-1 without any issues. Before it was in my XXX-4, I ran the same setup in my JRX-S for the Novak Race and again did not have any issues. It sounds like a problem similar to what I ran into though on my Mini-LST with a Brushless system. If I'd pick up my truck up and peg the gas, it worked. But when I set it down and grab the throttle it would shutter and not want to go anywhere. What it ended up being was that the BEC output of the ESC wasn't high enough. A simple fix was to add the Spektrum Voltage Protector (SPM1600) and the problem cleared right up. Its just odd that you're having an issue with the GTB is all.
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 12:50 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SWAMPER
have the same prob. in a mini cooper if it takes a hit it shuts down
no matter what i do it sill happens and happens to a lot of guys so it's not a low battery or wiring prob., i run it in nitro all the time never had a prob. run and ele. car jrx-s no prob., I have to sent everthing back for them to look at but don't think they have any idea what to do
I had the same problem, turned out the ESC wasn't secure enough in the car and the reset button kept being pressed in a collision.
THancock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 02:45 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
jjmudd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 2,396
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCGaryK
Its just odd that you're having an issue with the GTB is all.
Odd...that's a laugh!!! I watched 4, 5.5 GTB's crater on the same weekend!!! One actually went up in a ball of fire!!!
jjmudd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 03:09 PM   #10
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I was drawing a parallel to the potential BEC issues that I has having with the micro brushless system. Since mine had worked flawlessly that is what I found odd. But I've actually run both the original Super Sport ESC, GTB, 5800 and 4300 with zero issues on any of them (besides the occasional thermal shutdown if I overgear)
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 04:22 PM   #11
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I had a similar problem when I had my servo rate set too high and my servo was binding. It sounds like it is just drawing too much power and shutting off. Mine would come back one after a second or so and center the servos.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 05:53 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

also had this problem with my gtb 5.5 + spektrum. I'm guessing the battery dipped in voltage and the spektrum glitched because of it. I hope. it only happened in one race with that one cell pack.. will be racing again this w'end and see if it happens again.

I have a fairly early model spektrum kit, wire goes on top of PCB in module, etc, etc. never had a problem with it ever until i put in the GTB this w'end. Mind you I've always run a GTX with stock 27t motors..

would it be worth me going to the Spektrum pro kit when it's available? Really dont want yet another CAP sitting on my chassis. it's heavy enough on the electronics side...
__________________
http://www.teamadrenaline.net/ - RC Race Results, News, and gossip in Australia!
http://www.nolimitarcade.com/ - the best web flash games
http://www.fireflyhelicopter.com/ - R/C heli vids 'n more
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 07:09 AM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
Posts: 278
Default

i know that this may not be the case, but do a quick check on your battery voltage drop as big load of current being drawn out from the battery.

I used 5.5 GTB with Spektrum for my pan car. The car went well with new fresh 4 cells. However, when i used my old 3300 GP, the Spektrum shutdown when i hit the throttle hard.
azmio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 08:33 AM   #14
Tech Addict
 
Stein Tumert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Norway (Oslo) / Germany (Hamburg)
Posts: 556
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by James
I have a fairly early model spektrum kit,....

would it be worth me going to the Spektrum pro kit when it's available? ...
Try to plug in the the Spektrum Voltage Protector (SPM1600)
http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...ProdID=SPM1600

Also, since I kept the antenna inside the car, I have not had one glitch (with old spectrum without the new software update (see http://www.spektrumrc.com/Articles/HobbyWire.aspx)). There is pictures on somewhere here on the forum how to do that, you basically shorten the antenna plastic tube so it is inside the car and roll/wrap the antenna around it.

Stein
Stein Tumert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upside down car = shut off ruggydriver Nitro Off-Road 7 08-22-2008 06:41 PM
Spektrum Glitch problems overflow Radio and Electronics 4 05-20-2008 08:17 PM
spektrum glitch? tenpins77 Electric Off-Road 22 08-30-2007 07:03 PM
spektrum glitch with burshless system straightaway Electric On-Road 4 09-12-2006 08:01 PM
Shut down Stadium Trucker Rookie Zone 12 02-13-2005 02:49 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:04 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net