R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-19-2006, 07:49 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Garland TX
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to T1bobo
Default POWER SUPLIES!!!

Does anyone know if a computer power supply would work for the chargers?
T1bobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 08:10 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
aN4rK1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 586
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

yep they will, i use one.
aN4rK1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 08:13 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 229
Default

They sure do I use a custom built CPU power supply.

I also sell them

Chris
DR.FeelGood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 08:21 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Michael Barch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Penticton, BC (Canada)
Posts: 268
Send a message via AIM to Michael Barch
Default

Whats the site that would show him how to convert it?
Michael Barch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 08:30 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Garland TX
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to T1bobo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Barch
Whats the site that would show him how to convert it?

yes please a site would be nice how much do they run most of the time?
T1bobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 08:40 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Michael Barch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Penticton, BC (Canada)
Posts: 268
Send a message via AIM to Michael Barch
Default

If you want a good brand PSU it will run you anywhere from 50 and up. (By good I mean for the use of RC).

I honestly would just go out and buy a RC power supply. It will save you tons of hassle and wiring and stuff. I own the Competition Electronics 23amp and it's awesome. With 23amp I will never have to worry about not having enough power too.
Michael Barch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 08:44 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Garland TX
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to T1bobo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Barch
If you want a good brand PSU it will run you anywhere from 50 and up. (By good I mean for the use of RC).

I honestly would just go out and buy a RC power supply. It will save you tons of hassle and wiring and stuff. I own the Competition Electronics 23amp and it's awesome. With 23amp I will never have to worry about not having enough power too.


how much did that run you?
T1bobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 09:04 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
BimmerDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 178
Default

PYRAMID PS14KX 12 Amp Power Supply Transformer on e-bay for $40 plus shipping
BimmerDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 09:09 PM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Garland TX
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to T1bobo
Default

how much power would i need cause one dude has 25amps and then another has 12amps?
T1bobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 09:14 PM   #10
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

http://www.buyreliant.com/psupplies/psv200.htm
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 09:18 PM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Garland TX
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to T1bobo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me

can i use this outside also
T1bobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 10:35 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by T1bobo
can i use this outside also
If you have an AC power source.
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 04:31 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
HotrodHopkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Asphalt Unlimited Customs, Baltimore MD
Posts: 3,144
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HotrodHopkins
Default

I use a 15amp from radioshack, lol.
__________________
SHAUN HOPKINS a.k.a NoRod Hopkins

-1990 Chevrolet K1500 Silverado TBI350 "Heavy Half". 1971 Chevrolet Nova

-My lug nuts require more Torque than your Honda makes.
HotrodHopkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 05:09 AM   #14
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

buy a proper power supply.

dont bother with a computer one, especially if you have to pay for it.

here are a few issue with it...

1. they will flick off if you add chargers to it when the PS is on.

2. they will flick off if you use it to power a dyno, especially mod motors. 9works ok for stock motors)

3. the fan is always on, gets annoying

4. depending on your club, they may not be legal (insurance issues)

5. it looks ugly

6. if you dont know what you are doing you could kill yourself

7. there PS is open, and foreign objects could fall in.

8. they do not work with every charger.

9. you look like a tight arse.
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 05:47 AM   #15
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Garland TX
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to T1bobo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XingXing
buy a proper power supply.

dont bother with a computer one, especially if you have to pay for it.

here are a few issue with it...

1. they will flick off if you add chargers to it when the PS is on.

2. they will flick off if you use it to power a dyno, especially mod motors. 9works ok for stock motors)

3. the fan is always on, gets annoying

4. depending on your club, they may not be legal (insurance issues)

5. it looks ugly

6. if you dont know what you are doing you could kill yourself

7. there PS is open, and foreign objects could fall in.

8. they do not work with every charger.

9. you look like a tight arse.

lol!ok so dont buy that kind got it!so how many amps should i be wanting to get? (mod motor).
T1bobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine Max Power XL3 .12 with pipe max power efra 2602 dht R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 22 11-03-2008 12:57 AM
RC BLOW OUT !!!! Ice chargers,novak discharger,power supply,power bridge,integy setup shrum1340 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-23-2007 05:37 AM
Novak N-Power power supply, original box, like new condition!! Scottrik R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 05-28-2007 05:04 PM
>>> TEAM NOVAK N-POWER POWER SUPPLY GREAT CONDITION $50 <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 02-06-2007 10:53 PM
Novak Millenium Pro charger ans N- Power power supply RobertF R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 11-27-2005 08:59 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:58 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net