Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
noob looking for first kit >

noob looking for first kit

Like Tree12Likes

noob looking for first kit

Old 03-31-2020, 06:32 AM
Tech Rookie

Default noob looking for first kit

I am new to RC cars, I have had a few planes , but am excited to get into cars. My initial thought was an on road car (had one as a kid) and am looking for advice on a good fast 1st kit. I think $300 is a good place to start, but don't really know. Sorry if this is the 10 billionth time you have seen this question...
Old 03-31-2020, 06:36 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Depends what you're going to do with it. Are you planning to race or drive around in your driveway/parking lots? Are you interested in racing/tuning for lap times or more scale modeling? More info on what you want to do will help with good recommendations!
Old 03-31-2020, 09:07 AM
Tech Rookie

I think mostly just driving around the driveway and that kinda stuff mostly to start, go from there and see where it takes me.
Old 03-31-2020, 09:11 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)

I'm not sure if $300 is achievable. Decent 1/10 scale cars start at around $500 and that doesn't include the motor, servo, speed control, radio, receiver, battery, and battery charger. If you want to race a competitive car, probably $1000 is more like it. So with $300, search for a decent used car that comes complete and ready to run. I'm not even sure you can find a complete used car with radio for $300, but maybe you can. Good luck.

EDIT: To give you an idea, I've listed some acceptable equipment and their approximate prices:
Chassis: you can go with one of the copies, not sure what they are called, but can be had for around $150
Motor: look for a decent used motor for around $50
Speed Control: Hobbywing Justock $50 new
Battery: SMC or similar $50
Radio: Sanwa MX-6 with receiver $110
Steering Servo: used Futaba S9551, BLS551, or BLS571 $50
Battery Charger: Used for around $50