R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2006, 02:24 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
fat500's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Boca Raton, florida
Posts: 983
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default Dead short question for novak smart tray

When dead shorting my gp3300 on my ST does everyone wait an additional 15-30min after the lites start blinking to remove the cells and put on the jumper or can i remove the pack right after the leds start to blink?

my 3300 will only charge to about 3180mah.
I have never DS them before and i am trying to rejuivenate them.Any tips?
I always charge at 5.5v. too low?
Thanks for the help
fat500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 02:28 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,547
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to GroffBall
Default

Dead shorting will not revive the capacity of your cells if anything it will kill it all the more. Also if any of the cells are weak they will give up the ghost if you dead short them. Another thing do not remove them from the tray and then solder the jumper, solder the jumper while they are in the tray. I've never dead shorted using a Smart tray however, but I know you have to leave them in whatever tray you are using while you apply the jumper. Dead shorting a pack won't cause any miricales.
GroffBall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 04:45 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
fat500's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Boca Raton, florida
Posts: 983
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

ok thanks but how should i charge them? 5.5 or 6 or 6.5amps?
fat500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 12:42 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
corradopsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: pa
Posts: 329
Send a message via AIM to corradopsi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fat500
ok thanks but how should i charge them? 5.5 or 6 or 6.5amps?
heh, i charge my 3300's at 7A just to get some more punch out of them. i race stock though, if your trying to use them for mod, use a lower amp rate like 5A-5.5A

novak recommends leaving them in the tray for 15-30 after the lights start to blink, but i never had any trouble shorting them as soon as they start blinking. i use a wire with 2 alligator clips on it, and clip it while still on the tray. i hate taking a soldering iron to the track, the only time i use one is changing motors, and then i borrow a friends for 2 minutes.
__________________
Mine: Nomadio Sensor; T2'007, Keyence, Express; ZX-5 SP, Mamba Max; XB8, OS V-spec and NR P5; ProBoat Shockwave 36
My Son: Futaba 3PM; T4 RS; Clodbuster; TT-01;Zig-Zag racer
corradopsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dead short tray, equalizer tray & 19t Reedy quad mag for sale Guo Chean R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 07-07-2007 11:00 AM
Battery/Novak smart tray question..... DotyThe8ight Electric On-Road 3 12-27-2006 11:16 AM
novak smart tray question chrisw Electric On-Road 8 01-18-2006 01:31 PM
Dead Shorting with Novak Smart Tray DustinR Electric On-Road 5 11-30-2005 09:38 PM
Question on Novak Smart Tray gaeric Electric On-Road 3 10-31-2005 10:29 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:48 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net