Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
X-ray t4 16 chassis >

X-ray t4 16 chassis

X-ray t4 16 chassis

Old 01-09-2020, 09:05 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 4
Default X-ray t4 16 chassis

New to X-ray and just trying to find out if any othe chassis will fit the 2016, donít fancy buying a new chassis if it can be helped
Copperplumb is offline  
Old 01-09-2020, 10:39 AM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (30)
 
mschumi101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago-land/U of Wisconsin-Madison
Posts: 919
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Just to be clear, you have a T4 ‘16 and need a new chassis for it? Are you looking at only X-ray chassis or aftermarket?

With the ‘16 car you can easily adapt any ‘16-‘19 chassis. All of the suspension and bulkheads will line up. Only difference is the servo-motor mount area. The servo mounts were different year to year, but all used the same holes in the chassis. The motor mounts and lay shaft mounts were all very different, but the ‘16 motor mount would fit on any newer chassis. You’ll just have a lot of unused holes. Any aftermarket or used chassis made for a ‘16-‘19 should work as well.
mschumi101 is offline  
Old 01-09-2020, 11:43 AM
  #3  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 4
Default

Yeah I have the 16 but itís the Ali chassis and wonít work great on the carpet/ wood floor we race on, so if I get any year up to 19 and just get the servo mounts to go with it I should be ok👌
Copperplumb is offline  
Old 01-09-2020, 01:34 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (30)
 
mschumi101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago-land/U of Wisconsin-Madison
Posts: 919
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Motor mount is the more important one.

The ‘17-19 aluminum servo mount was the same, difference to the ‘16 was that it had an extension for the inline chassis flex stiffeners. Probably not needed if you say you’re running on low grip with carbon chassis anyway. The carbon bit on top of the servo mount added floating steering option for ‘17-18. In ‘19 they eliminated the floating steering and the top carbon piece is really similar to the ‘16 car. The motor mount and lay shaft stays underwent the most changes, and is different year to year. ‘17 it added a longer center mount and the ability for the center flex stiffeners. ‘18 made that piece extend further rearward. ‘19 the lay shaft mounts changed a lot as well as changing the center flex mount. Your ‘16 motor mount would fit up to any of the chassis, just depending on the year, you would have a lot of unused screw holes. If you’re trying to save money, there’s no need to get another motor mount or servo holder.

Aluminum flex chassis is usually far better on carpet, especially higher grip. I’ve had success with it on low grip old gray carpet as well. Asphalt is usually only carbon chassis.
mschumi101 is offline  
Old 01-09-2020, 02:29 PM
  #5  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 78
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mschumi101 View Post
Aluminum flex chassis is usually far better on carpet, especially higher grip. Iíve had success with it on low grip old gray carpet as well. Asphalt is usually only carbon chassis.
I will second this! I run a 2017 XRAY T4 and run the aluminum chassis on carpet for VTA. You want to keep to Aluminum Chassis if you're running on carpet, you'll have much better grip than with the carbon chassis.
Nikolas8898 is offline  
Old 01-10-2020, 05:11 AM
  #6  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
mrreet2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 251
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

If it's a solid aluminum XRAY (branded) '16 chassis and you don't want it PM me.
mrreet2001 is offline  
Old 01-10-2020, 02:24 PM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (43)
 
rcguyfpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 836
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Only $30 for a brand new one, after market.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Carbon-Chas...cAAOSwflBct97a
rcguyfpr is offline  
Old 01-11-2020, 06:27 AM
  #8  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks guys, couldnít find one in the UK, Iíll grab this one
Copperplumb is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.