R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-13-2006, 12:54 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 265
Default GFX leads

I replaced my GFX leads (alligator clips) with some smaller sized leads.
I noticed that whenever i cycle a 4 cell pack pretty much no matter what my labels read, the pack is always a 4.79.

I started to think about it, and my goofy numbers started with i went to the smaller leads.

Anyone else have this problem ?
I think its because the smaller alligator clips dont disappate the heat as well.

Anyone got a part number of the leads i should use that are similar to the factory clips that come with it ?
Like is there a certain amp rating I should go by ?
erock1331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 09:01 PM   #2
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 68
Default

There are two sets of leads - which one did you change? And what are you doing with the other set? Hopefully you are using both sets of leads like CE recommends.
Corner Weight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 09:10 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corner Weight
There are two sets of leads - which one did you change? And what are you doing with the other set? Hopefully you are using both sets of leads like CE recommends.
i changed the large leads to a smaller medium sized lead.

i use both sets when i cycle

tonight i swapped the medium sizes ones out for the normal larger size clips and cycled a pack, the size of the leads didnt change anything
erock1331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 09:13 PM   #4
Tech Champion
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,833
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kevin K Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin K
Default

If you changed the size of the alligator clips that should not effect anything....if you changed the size of the wire LEADS that will effect your numbers. Also as CW said you need to use both sets of alligator clips when you are cycling or discharging a pack....if you dont use the set with the smaller size wire when discharging/cycling you will get wrong readings as far as your voltage and runtime go.
__________________
2013 USVTA World Champion of the World
MOTIV RC presents the Midwest All-Star Carpet Series....15th year running 2017/18!!!
USVTA National Championship....check it out!!!
Im only responsible for what I say NOT what you understand.
Kevin K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 09:17 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
RayWarner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 474
Send a message via AIM to RayWarner
Default

I would suggest you just contact CE directly. These guys are great to deal with. (from the web site) 8:00-4:00 Monday thru Friday central time at 815-874-8001 FAX 815-874-8181 or email [email protected]
RayWarner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 09:44 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 265
Default

Yep i used both sets of leads and did not change the wire length. only the size of the clips. you are right it did not change the results.

pretty much everybody is getting 4 cells packs in oval these days at 4.80-4.85 @35 amps. Some even as high as 4.88-4.90 (which I think they are lying)

I just questioned mine cause I keep getting better and better packs on the lables and on the track but seems like they will only go 4.79 on my machine no matter what the battery labels read.

I noticed the 5 second reading on my buddies GFX is always 5.40+
My 5 second reading is always 5.35 or lower
his 15 sec reading is 5.25, mine is always 5.19-5.21 range

He gets store bought packs that go 4.80-4.84 on his machine.
My team stuff is 4.77-4.79 on my machine.
erock1331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 10:54 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 208
Default

erock1331

Go to the Competition Electronics Web site and under the GFX download the Extended Users Manual for the charger.

Then get a Serial cable and connect the GFX to a laptop or other PC with a serial port. Follow the instuctions in the Extended Users Manual.

Per the manual setup the GFX to give you readings to the port in 1 sec intervals. Take the data and follow the instructions for making a graph in Microsoft Excel.

My brother and I have been able been get almost to the exact second results between our two chargers with the same battery pack. My understanding from talking to CE this is more accurate than what you see on the display.

Also, the power supply you are connected to and how clean the power that is coming from the power supply will depend on how accurate your results are going to be. When I run my charger at the track I have always recieved different results than when I am home. At home I use a power supply that is designed to clean all the noise coming from the power line. I have a very old pyramid 40Amp regulated and noise filtered power supply at home that is used for Ham Radio equipment and I always get better results at home.
LeadFoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 04:25 PM   #8
Tech Rookie
 
squeege's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Default

my leads get so hot during 30 amp discharge that the rubber boots over the large alligater clip on the positive wire starts smoking and melting
squeege is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 06:59 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
davepull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange Park, Florida
Posts: 1,180
Default

sounds like your machine needs a tune up Eric
davepull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 07:40 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
HVFracingwilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oshkosh
Posts: 1,379
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HVFracingwilly
Default

Ive also noticed that it matters where the sensing wires are placed i always clip mine between the charging leads and the cell on the battery bar just another thought
__________________
Hobbytown USA Oshkosh
www.revolutionraceway.com
HVFracingwilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 08:13 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
tbeardmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: aka "Rock Star"...!
Posts: 879
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HVFracingwilly
Ive also noticed that it matters where the sensing wires are placed i always clip mine between the charging leads and the cell on the battery bar just another thought
Very Impportant to get accurate numbers
__________________
BMI DB10R, Corally RDX PHi, BMI 12R..!!
Need a "real" car... contact me at:
www.beardmorechevy.com -or- www.beardmoresubaru.com
tbeardmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 09:08 AM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HVFracingwilly
Ive also noticed that it matters where the sensing wires are placed i always clip mine between the charging leads and the cell on the battery bar just another thought
That is where i put mine as well.

but the small leads are just for measuring IR right ?
the big clips measure the voltage.
erock1331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 09:09 AM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davepull
sounds like your machine needs a tune up Eric
dave
what are you seeing for your packs ?

I dont like posting stuff about batts on the other thread because it just becomes a big pissing contest over numbers.
I just wanna see if my machine is reading low or if maybe this is what everybody is really seeing
lol
erock1331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 09:32 AM   #14
Tech Addict
 
ICEMAN's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 730
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i changes all of mine as soon as i got mine , with Gen. Silicone wire, works GREAT
__________________
Blizzard Concepts / Team Losi / Team ProMatch / Team MuchMore / The SPEED Shop / Ko Propo USA / AVID RC / BigDog Graphics / Nitro R/C Chop Shop /

The ONE that DIES with the Most Toys WINS!!!
ICEMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 10:20 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
RC Professor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by erock1331
That is where i put mine as well.

but the small leads are just for measuring IR right ?
the big clips measure the voltage.
The small leads measure voltage. If you connect only the small leads and leave the large ones off, you will see the voltage of the pack appear on the screen.
RC Professor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Used ICE no istructions or leads gulio R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 04-17-2008 06:19 PM
What motor leads... kyohpi Rookie Zone 10 04-06-2006 07:58 PM
leads on gxf getting hot & melting squeege Electric On-Road 7 03-16-2006 08:44 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:53 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net