R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-09-2006, 08:44 AM   #16
Tech Elite
 
Brandon Melton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 2,506
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brandon Melton
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AM03GT
do you run a spektrum module? i've heard some cases of crazy radio model settings like trim and epa changing on its own with the use of a spektrum module, sometimes even changing a few clicks while in use...
I've used a DSM for over a year without problems like that, but not to say it couldn't happen.

M11 USERS!! I do know of a friend who put wrap tape over his handle and every time he turned it on, the setting changed. He called airtronics and what was causing this was the fact that if the button on the grip handle is pressed when the radio cuts on, EVRYTHING goes back to default settings, just incase anyone has had this issue.
__________________
Team Associated~Reedy~Werks Racing~Pro-Line~Competition Suspension Inc.~Schelle Racing Innovations
Brandon Melton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 09:09 AM   #17
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

I just reset my model on my m8, set my dual rate to 100%, put the servo horn on that is already attached to the turning linkages, and try to postition it on the best spline as possbile, set my end points, put it on the track, set my dual rate, and im gold.

You want to start off with the same dual rate on each car. I know when i reset a model on the M8, it resets the dual rate to 125, have to make sure to put it to 100
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 10:46 AM   #18
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

I can't stand setting my circles on the track.

I like to set my throw on the HUDY setup station. Of course, this only works for touring cars.

First, I set my EPA's equal in the radio. Then, I take care that the servo horn is at the proper angle (90deg on most cars). Next, I make sure the bellcrank is straight/centered by adjusting the tie rod from the horn to the bellcrank. Then, I make sure that both tie rods are of equal length (unless the bellcrank is offset, in which case I set each side to the proper toe). After I set all that, I turn on my radio and set the proper toe on the HUDY station, taking care that my tie rods remain equal length (when applicable). Then, I make sure on the HUDY station that both wheels are turning the same amount. If they are a little different, I adjust my EPA a little, but I'll keep both sides within 4% of each other.

Here's the kicker: I double check on the HUDY station that D/R adjustments affect the throw on both sides equally. For example, if I change my D/R from 85 to 72, and the throw is suddenly a couple degrees off, I know something else is wrong...and I double check everything.

Doing it this way, I am always confident that changing my D/R isn't messing with any of my other settings.

One thing I absolutely hate about setting my throw on the track is that the car always seems to steer different depending on whether or not it is in the groove, even when doing very slow circles. It just doesn't feel accurate enough to me most of the time.

After making all these adjustments, my car feels completely balanced on the track...until I hit the wall hard enough !
__________________
NEXUSRACING.com
Nexus Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 12:44 PM   #19
Tech Elite
 
teamgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hampton/VA Beach USA
Posts: 2,089
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus Racing
I can't stand setting my circles on the track...
Same here, and I use the setup station method as well. It works especially good when changing ackerman settings and figuring out the approximate new amount of steering throw needed to compensate.
__________________
Guy Hood
Sponsored by: Team XRAY / Team RC America / RB Products USA
/ Twister Tires USA / Maxy's Mods & Fuel / Parma PSE / Zubaks
Un-sponsored Shoutout: NexusRacing.com
*** 301 Raceway is my home away from Home ***
teamgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 04:50 PM   #20
Tech Addict
 
Drew_Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 607
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

rayhuang, Nexus, and Brandon what radio are you guys using?
__________________
Items for sale:

TURBO GFX>>>> http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?p=4329165#post4329165
Tekin Battery Nurse >>>> http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?p=4329173#post4329173

Thanks for looking
Drew_Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 05:51 PM   #21
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

When you guys talked about setting up dual rates all the time, but isn't dual rate just decreases the steering servo's sensitivity?

Which setting do you guys use first when setting up a brand new car assuming you have set up the steering linkage on the car all right, servo horn in neutral position. Do you guys first set subtrim to fine tune the center point AND then set your EPA?
__________________
Muchmore l AHRP l Xenon l Futaba
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2006, 12:00 AM   #22
Tech Master
 
RCMits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,051
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSchorr
I just reset my model on my m8, set my dual rate to 100%, put the servo horn on that is already attached to the turning linkages, and try to postition it on the best spline as possbile, set my end points, put it on the track, set my dual rate, and im gold.

You want to start off with the same dual rate on each car. I know when i reset a model on the M8, it resets the dual rate to 125, have to make sure to put it to 100
dear.. all these years... sigh. and i thought i was nuts.
RCMits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2006, 12:16 AM   #23
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Very interesting thread guys. Thanks.
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2006, 07:04 AM   #24
Tech Champion
 
rayhuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 6,511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rayhuang
Default

I want to make it clear that I harbor no ill feelings towards any radio manufacturer nor do I blame the maker of my radio!! I dont want anyone thinking this is a "flame" thread which I am afraid it will become if we start naming brand names. But my radio, which I love is a KO helios. And I have t give major props to Robert at KO for suffering through this with me and trying to trouble shoot it.

Also-I want to be clear that I dont think the wandering EPA's, etc is caused directly from initially setting epa's and subtrim per se. What it is is being in a certain range of numbers (d/r in the mid ranges of say 40 to 70), epa's in the same range and subtrims (any value other than 0, but maybe worse if value is say 10 or higher).

Now those combined with changing d/r while driving and maybe all by itself will cause radio to not hold the Endpoint steady.
rayhuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2006, 04:23 PM   #25
Tech Master
 
racer-oZ's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Wichita
Posts: 1,485
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

another thing to keep in mind is epa adjustments on throttle. i've helped many guys reset their speedos cuz they say it doesn't feel very smooth. what i found was they had their epa's at 100% or below and then setting their speedo which makes it less smooth and less variable. before resetting your electronic speedo to the radio, always make sure you max out the epa "high" and "low" (on the m8 and m11 the high maxes out at 140% and low maxes out at 160%)

this allows the speedo to spread out it's variableness in speed over a greater amount of area when you pull the throttle or push for brakes. once i set the speedo, i always leave the epa high at 140% and then turn the epa low down to 100% and set the push brake for track conditions from there.

good thread guys

racer-oZ
racer-oZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2006, 05:02 PM   #26
Tech Addict
 
Drew_Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 607
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Manufacture terminology

Manufacture terminology can also add to the mix when bombarded with so so many options available on today's high end radios. One example of this is on the EX-10 Helios Dual Rate is called Steering Travel but on the Futaba radios it's just simply called Dual Rate. Another example of manufacture terminology differences: Steering Balance (KO) and End Point Adjustment (Futaba). This was one of the apparent differences that was noticed when switching from one manufacture to another.

My main reason for switching was mainly ergonomics and comfort. I can't tell any functional differences. My first radio was the 3pJ-super, the menu was not the easiest to navigate. When I got the 3pK, menu navigation was very easy, a night and day difference. I also get the same response from owners of the Helios that had the EX-1 Mars R.
__________________
Items for sale:

TURBO GFX>>>> http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?p=4329165#post4329165
Tekin Battery Nurse >>>> http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?p=4329173#post4329173

Thanks for looking
Drew_Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2006, 06:48 PM   #27
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by racer-oZ
another thing to keep in mind is epa adjustments on throttle. i've helped many guys reset their speedos cuz they say it doesn't feel very smooth. what i found was they had their epa's at 100% or below and then setting their speedo which makes it less smooth and less variable. before resetting your electronic speedo to the radio, always make sure you max out the epa "high" and "low" (on the m8 and m11 the high maxes out at 140% and low maxes out at 160%)

this allows the speedo to spread out it's variableness in speed over a greater amount of area when you pull the throttle or push for brakes. once i set the speedo, i always leave the epa high at 140% and then turn the epa low down to 100% and set the push brake for track conditions from there.

good thread guys

racer-oZ
This is a great tip for LRP and Novak speedos but do not do this on a Keyence. Keyence speedos have a lot more going on inside them than LRP and Novak and they prefer 100/100 endpoints. They have a microprocessor in them that dosen't understand what 40% more than full throttle means and this can make them stutter and do weird stuff. If you go back to 100% they are perfect again.
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2006, 09:10 PM   #28
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Transmitter Seminar

Anybody up for doing a seminar on transmitter settings at the Carpet Nats in Stockton? This stuff is excellent!
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2006, 10:14 PM   #29
Tech Master
 
subman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edmonton,Canada
Posts: 1,237
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

bump this is great a read
subman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2006, 10:53 PM   #30
Tech Master
 
RCMits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,051
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by racer-oZ
another thing to keep in mind is epa adjustments on throttle. i've helped many guys reset their speedos cuz they say it doesn't feel very smooth. what i found was they had their epa's at 100% or below and then setting their speedo which makes it less smooth and less variable. before resetting your electronic speedo to the radio, always make sure you max out the epa "high" and "low" (on the m8 and m11 the high maxes out at 140% and low maxes out at 160%)

this allows the speedo to spread out it's variableness in speed over a greater amount of area when you pull the throttle or push for brakes. once i set the speedo, i always leave the epa high at 140% and then turn the epa low down to 100% and set the push brake for track conditions from there.

good thread guys

racer-oZ
omg.. i am so ashamed. i did a reset. .and uh.. wow. ((sigh))

god.. why didnt i realize that?!
RCMits is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
im starting a live lounge threw this site for rc,ers big_jim1976 Web Links 14 08-07-2008 05:31 AM
CRC Gen X 3 months old! SALINET R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-28-2008 12:25 PM
lst 2 rtr 6 months old ALBERTO R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 10-29-2007 08:48 AM
getting bak into racing aftr a 10 months losi4life Electric Off-Road 4 10-23-2004 02:03 PM
OS.15CVX with Pullstart # tanks threw it K1WEY R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 02-13-2003 04:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:38 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net