R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-07-2006, 06:16 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 349
Default fantom motor dyno

I just purchased a fantom motor dyno. What should I look for in a power supply? I need to know how many amps it should be able to hold. I would also like to know where I could get a resonably priced power supply.
kmorast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 06:30 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I know a guy with one that uses some 6-cell battery packs in series so he gets consistant numbers (doesnt trust a transformer?).. I dunno.. i would have thought the battery packs would provide in-consistant figures.
__________________
http://www.teamadrenaline.net/ - RC Race Results, News, and gossip in Australia!
http://www.nolimitarcade.com/ - the best web flash games
http://www.fireflyhelicopter.com/ - R/C heli vids 'n more
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 06:48 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Rick Worth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Elmwood,Tn
Posts: 348
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

12 volt lawn mower or car battery.
Rick Worth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 07:52 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmorast
I just purchased a fantom motor dyno. What should I look for in a power supply? I need to know how many amps it should be able to hold. I would also like to know where I could get a resonably priced power supply.
you need at least 75 amp power supply
dakrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 08:31 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Indy
Posts: 1,140
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AxiomJacob
Default

I would recommend just getting a dry cell battery their like $60 sealed and run the dyno well. You could also get a lawn mowe battery just get the 240 amp version. Those two both work well and are a lot cheaper than a power supply.
__________________
Jacob

Proline Racing
AxiomJacob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 08:35 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Kropy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: In a van down by the river
Posts: 1,763
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kropy
Default

Depends on what kind of motors that you plan on running on the dyno, If you plan on just using the dyno for stock & 19 turn motors a 30 amp power supply will do the job, If you plan on using it for mod motors your gonna need to use a 75 amp power supply.
__________________
Dale "Kropy" Kropaczewski
Kolors by Kropy
Postman, Save a spot on the stand for me
Kropy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 08:41 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 349
Default

Thanks for all the help; I went out and got a auto battery. I may look at getting a power supply later.
kmorast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 08:44 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pa
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rcguy2477
Default

While a 30 amp power supply will be able to handle the current, it will cause the readings to be innaccurate. I would suggest using a 70+ amp power supply if you want to use one, or just use a car battery.
__________________
1989 Mazda Rx7
greddy t04b, megasquirt ecu, PlX wideband, 12x28x3 fmic, 50mm hks clone wg, ssqv bov, Safc, ss oil lines, walbro fuel pump, tubo intake manifolds, ssac exhaust manifold, 3" dp, 550cc primary/720cc secondary injectors, etc.
rcguy2477 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 08:53 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Indy
Posts: 1,140
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AxiomJacob
Default

just mount a trickle charger on the side of the battery and your set till the battery dies. My whole setup was $30 and a powersupply was around 250
__________________
Jacob

Proline Racing
AxiomJacob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 01:06 PM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 181
Default

I use a lead-acid battery...
D_o_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Fantom Motor Dyno jeffscrew R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 04-04-2008 02:29 PM
fantom motor dyno E-clip Australia For Sale/Trade 12 05-16-2007 06:07 AM
Thunder Zapper Fantom Dyno Fantom Lathe Spring dyno Brush Butcher Fussy full monte HenBeav R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 12-06-2006 11:38 AM
FANTOM MOTOR DYNO RCDEMON1 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 12-03-2006 06:07 AM
Fantom Motor Dyno F/S tamiyarcracer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 11-08-2005 06:24 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:30 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net