fantom motor dyno

Reply

Old 03-07-2006, 05:16 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 349
Default fantom motor dyno

I just purchased a fantom motor dyno. What should I look for in a power supply? I need to know how many amps it should be able to hold. I would also like to know where I could get a resonably priced power supply.
kmorast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 05:30 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I know a guy with one that uses some 6-cell battery packs in series so he gets consistant numbers (doesnt trust a transformer?).. I dunno.. i would have thought the battery packs would provide in-consistant figures.
James is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 05:48 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Rick Worth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Elmwood,Tn
Posts: 348
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

12 volt lawn mower or car battery.
Rick Worth is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 06:52 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

Originally Posted by kmorast
I just purchased a fantom motor dyno. What should I look for in a power supply? I need to know how many amps it should be able to hold. I would also like to know where I could get a resonably priced power supply.
you need at least 75 amp power supply
dakrat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 07:31 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Indy
Posts: 1,140
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

I would recommend just getting a dry cell battery their like $60 sealed and run the dyno well. You could also get a lawn mowe battery just get the 240 amp version. Those two both work well and are a lot cheaper than a power supply.
AxiomJacob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 07:35 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Kropy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: In a van down by the river
Posts: 1,763
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Depends on what kind of motors that you plan on running on the dyno, If you plan on just using the dyno for stock & 19 turn motors a 30 amp power supply will do the job, If you plan on using it for mod motors your gonna need to use a 75 amp power supply.
Kropy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 07:41 PM
  #7  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 349
Default

Thanks for all the help; I went out and got a auto battery. I may look at getting a power supply later.
kmorast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 07:44 PM
  #8  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pa
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

While a 30 amp power supply will be able to handle the current, it will cause the readings to be innaccurate. I would suggest using a 70+ amp power supply if you want to use one, or just use a car battery.
rcguy2477 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 07:53 AM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Indy
Posts: 1,140
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

just mount a trickle charger on the side of the battery and your set till the battery dies. My whole setup was $30 and a powersupply was around 250
AxiomJacob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 12:06 PM
  #10  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 181
Default

I use a lead-acid battery...
D_o_S is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service