R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-11-2002, 11:42 AM   #31
Tech Regular
 
sonneteer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 337
Default

I never said SHINY!!! .... (damn... I just said it.....!!! )

Ture I have to put a rubber mat under the HUDY to stop the bloody thing resonating ...
sonneteer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2002, 11:44 AM   #32
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

yes the mcmaster bits come sharpened. they always ship in good time as well.i have had no problems ordering from them. if the comm is on the right i think you need an "AL" bit.
Jarrod Langlois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2002, 11:56 AM   #33
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Piqua, Ohio
Posts: 286
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

The onlyl good thing about a trinity tru lathe 3 is the carrying case and motor tubes. the lathe is dissapointing. it just looks good.
racerfreedxxxs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2002, 12:41 PM   #34
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default

wow lots of activity since my last post. spaz is correct. they do come sharpened. i don't remember which direction i got for my lathe. just match them with the picture.

seems like i'm always on here pimping mcmaster-carr as a supplier. i have no connection to them, other than they are 20 minutes from me so i can pick up whatever i want. i am however continuously impressed with them each time i need something.

the online catalog is complete and easy to navigate.
you don't need an account.
you don't need a vendors license.
there's no minimum quanity or price.
and i believe you can return what you don't want. maybe that's just at the will call desk for me before i leave.
the few items that they had to get from their chicago plant arrived at my house within the following two days free of any shipping charges.
awesome.

and they've only ever picked the wrong item once in nearly one hundred items. not bad, considering it was a shim washer that was .001 instead of .003. i used it anyway. ok, so i had to use three.

really though, for those of you looking to get some of those bits, check their fastener section as well. shims for axles, motors, stainless or aluminum screws...you get the picture. it's not always the best price, but in most cases they kill anything you'll get from an rc company. plus they have some stuff you can't even get anywhere else.

like i said, i don't own stock there. i'm just someone trying to help out a company that helps me like i'm their favorite customer. that's it.

later guys.
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2002, 02:10 PM   #35
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

ya i forgot to mention that theres free shipping when ever i order from them. thats always a plus.

also i cant remeber who mentioned it..maybe it was big jim..but remember the rest of the machining world cuts everything on lathes in the opposite direction that we cut comms on out comm lathes(they have the bit facing up). so when you check the picture on mcmaster carrs site just flip the picture around to get an idea of what the bit you need looks like.hope i didnt confuse anyone
Jarrod Langlois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 10:36 AM   #36
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cypress, CA
Posts: 75
Default Carbide bits from McMasters

Ordered 4 bits on Wednesday afternoon for $3.08 each, received them on Thursday - fast shipping & much cheaper than LHS.

Tried one last night and it works great too! (nice bonus)

Thanks to all for the help picking the correct bit.

McMaster part #'s are:
Right Hand Bit: 3367a121
Left Hand Bit: 3367a131

If you are considering ordering from them please see online catalog page #2327 to understand what they mean by left & right hand.
dalem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 02:20 PM   #37
Tech Elite
 
KINGZJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Milwaukee,WISCONSIN
Posts: 2,089
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to KINGZJ
Default

racerfreedxxxs,

what is your complaint with your true lathe 3 mine is very nice and works well for me. maybe we can help you out with yours.

Jesse
KINGZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 08:31 PM   #38
Tech Regular
 
hyperformance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: knoxville, TN
Posts: 369
Default tru lathe

my problem with the tru-lathe is i'm always bumping my hand agianst the slave motor as i turn the bit. i got my cobra lathe the other day, i got the vari-drive with it to. can't use it though, wife won't let me, says it's for x-mas.

has anybody tried the matrix 55 turn motor for their lathe. i believe it's a 0 timing motor with 55 turns to give proper torque/ rpm for comm cuts. i have heard they make it to run the lathe on 6 cells but i also heard poeple refer to it as a 12volt motor and run it straight of 12v power supply
hyperformance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 08:37 PM   #39
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Matrix 55t

A guy at the LHs bought one for his brush serrator. I didn't ask what his power supply is though. My Integy Xipp lathe uses a 4 cell pack in the base. I can do a couple of Arms with a fully charged pack. The slave motor isn't labeled with the # of winds.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 08:45 PM   #40
Tech Regular
 
hyperformance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: knoxville, TN
Posts: 369
Default 55t

i really think that 55t is for using a 6cell pack, that would be handy. the 0 timing would be for effeceintcy so the packs will cut more before discharging. you'd think someone could come up with a cheap way to run the lathe (aside for 4 or 6 packs). those 55t's would be great if you hook it straight to 12volts, but i really think it would take about an 80turn to do that.
hyperformance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 08:56 PM   #41
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,246
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to weaponx
Default

if you go to rc4less they have a slave motor that hooks directly to a 12 volt power supply i beleive it is around 45 dollars
weaponx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 09:10 PM   #42
Tech Elite
 
KINGZJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South Milwaukee,WISCONSIN
Posts: 2,089
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to KINGZJ
Default

the 55 turn does work fine and it runs off a turbo 35 without a problem
KINGZJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 09:14 PM   #43
Tech Regular
 
hyperformance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: knoxville, TN
Posts: 369
Default 55t

weaponx, holy crap, you can hook that thing straight to 12volts! kisbey makes it, iv'e never heard of them, i will search for their website and get some specs on that motor

king, what voltage do you cut at with your 55t? carbide or daimond bit?
hyperformance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 09:18 PM   #44
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,141
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

I'm using a 35 turn mod motor with 4 cells hooked up to it. This is the setup that Rob Cutman had when he was Trinity's team manager. It is in a Twister lathe. If you find a Twister Lathe I would buy it as it is still one of the best out their even after all these years.
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 09:21 PM   #45
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Piqua, Ohio
Posts: 286
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default tru lathe 3

I have since gotten rid of my tru lathe 3. I know all lathes are basically the same design, but the tru lathe 3 seemed like it took more time to set up and keep a consistant smooth finish. I use cobra lathes and have used a friends hudy lathe. I prefer either of them over a trinity. I would also like to know what people think of the fantom lathe?
racerfreedxxxs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trinity Tru Lathe Motor Comm Cutter Lathe maximum R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-14-2007 04:56 PM
Hudy comm lathe and Fantom comm lathe ACEDEAN R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 05-02-2007 11:27 AM
XIPP Super Lathe 3 / (pics) comm lathe diamond bit evostyle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 12-01-2006 12:53 PM
Trade EXTREME COMM LATHE(Hudy)for MUCH MORE COMM LATHE JoeyE R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 05-07-2006 09:49 AM
Tire Lathe, Motor Dyno, Comm Lathe For Sale 17Mark71 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 06-05-2005 01:07 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:59 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net