Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Hobbywing XR10 Stock Spec 80A wiring >

Hobbywing XR10 Stock Spec 80A wiring

Like Tree5Likes
  • 3 Post By Marcos.J
  • 2 Post By Racermac73

Hobbywing XR10 Stock Spec 80A wiring

Reply

Old 07-28-2019, 04:45 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 17
Default Hobbywing XR10 Stock Spec 80A wiring

Just after some advice please. I have purchased a Hobbywing XR10 Stock Spec 80A ESC and am wondering if anyone has replaced the power wiring. I am considering swapping the original 14aw wiring with 12aw due to the lower resistance. Will this give a small performance increase or am I wasting my time??
CraigF72 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2019, 04:59 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

It won’t fit. The soldering post on the xr10 stock spec is way smaller than the xr10 160amp version. I was able to solder 13 gauge wire on my stock spec but that was already really pushing it.
riceball777 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2019, 05:30 PM
  #3  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (208)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 30,361
Trader Rating: 208 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CraigF72 View Post
Just after some advice please. I have purchased a Hobbywing XR10 Stock Spec 80A ESC and am wondering if anyone has replaced the power wiring. I am considering swapping the original 14aw wiring with 12aw due to the lower resistance. Will this give a small performance increase or am I wasting my time??
you will never noticed the difference
Marcos.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2019, 05:39 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,804
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Yea absolutely no reason to run that size wire with what that esc is able to deliver . You have to remember the esc delivers A/C current to the motor . Now your battery to esc wires could stand to be larger in some situations but if they are not getting hot it still wouldnt benefit
jlfx car audio is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2019, 05:41 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Racermac73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Palmyra, Virginia
Posts: 1,891
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I do the opposite personally, I remove the factory wire and replace it with TQ 16ga. No power loss but it allows the pod on a 12th scale to move very free.
Marcos.J and jlfx car audio like this.
Racermac73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2019, 10:08 PM
  #6  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 17
Default

Great advice, thanks everyone
CraigF72 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service