R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-09-2006, 09:59 AM   #16
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Graduate Hospital
Posts: 966
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Deznuts05
Default

Sorry I always mix up amp vs volts... but yes that is what I was thinking however, think about being able to just plug in you lathe w/o using a charger...

like right now I have 2 pulsars and a turbo I have my two pulsars charge'n away and my turbo does double duty of discharge and running my lathe... would it be cool just to plug in the lathe so I can still charge 2x discharge 1x and cut all at the sametime????
Deznuts05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 05:32 AM   #17
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 558
Send a message via AIM to WhoMe
Default

I recently got this box, great little setup. Clean, the LEDs are BRIGHT x.x..lol, pretty straight foward. Now only if was had one of our forum engineers figuer out how we could stuff a voltage reducer/regulator into this thing so that we could plug a motor lathe into it..that would be SWEEET!
WhoMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 09:58 AM   #18
Tech Master
 
CCristo's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Millbury, MA
Posts: 1,439
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deznuts05
think about being able to just plug in you lathe w/o using a charger...
Why not just get a 55t lathe motor that runs on 12v?
__________________
Chris Cristo

Pro-Line RacingHobbywingMIPBOOMrcFutabaPT RC Racing Oils
CCristo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 10:01 AM   #19
Tech Master
 
SOuthernFRIED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Olive Branch,MS
Posts: 1,234
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

This thing is only 26 bucks at Tower. If givin' a choice between building one and spending the 26 bucks for one this nice...I'd rather just buy it
__________________
James Cooper
SouthernFriedRacing
[email protected]
SOuthernFRIED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 11:05 AM   #20
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 558
Send a message via AIM to WhoMe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CCristo
Why not just get a 55t lathe motor that runs on 12v?
Didnt know that was an option..thanks for the tip!
WhoMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 11:16 AM   #21
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 558
Send a message via AIM to WhoMe
Default

Went looking for one of those 55turn lathe motors. It seems as if Integy has the market cornered on this one and they dont have any and it seems no one else does either heh. If somone knows where I can get one..please shoot me the link.
WhoMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 11:48 AM   #22
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

I can't believe that companies are making them and people in this hobby are buying them... Guess it's the same crowd that buys the RTR's....

Go to RS, get the stuff and build it yourself, not too hard to drill a few holes and solder a few wires....
__________________
I still lurk....
vtl1180ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 12:23 PM   #23
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhoMe
Went looking for one of those 55turn lathe motors. It seems as if Integy has the market cornered on this one and they dont have any and it seems no one else does either heh. If somone knows where I can get one..please shoot me the link.
http://froogle.google.com/froogle_cl...le&scoring=mrd
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 01:21 PM   #24
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pa
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rcguy2477
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vtl1180ny
I can't believe that companies are making them and people in this hobby are buying them... Guess it's the same crowd that buys the RTR's....

Go to RS, get the stuff and build it yourself, not too hard to drill a few holes and solder a few wires....
For the integy box, it will actually end up cheaper than if you were to build it yourself from radioshack supplies. Not to mention you don't get the cool blue box with it
__________________
1989 Mazda Rx7
greddy t04b, megasquirt ecu, PlX wideband, 12x28x3 fmic, 50mm hks clone wg, ssqv bov, Safc, ss oil lines, walbro fuel pump, tubo intake manifolds, ssac exhaust manifold, 3" dp, 550cc primary/720cc secondary injectors, etc.
rcguy2477 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 01:27 PM   #25
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcguy2477
For the integy box, it will actually end up cheaper than if you were to build it yourself from radioshack supplies. Not to mention you don't get the cool blue box with it
You're right. I did build one of these over a year ago from Radio Shack parts and it cost me about $30 by the time I was done. And that's without any switches, lights, or fuses. I'm not a fan of Integy stuff, but this looks like a good deal. It'd be hard to screw one of these up and it cost less than the materials for the average guys to build it.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 01:42 PM   #26
Tech Master
 
SOuthernFRIED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Olive Branch,MS
Posts: 1,234
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Like I said...I'd rather spend 26 bucks and not have to screw with building it. I got better things to do
__________________
James Cooper
SouthernFriedRacing
[email protected]
SOuthernFRIED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 01:45 PM   #27
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I actually did enjoy building mine. But it's not perfect and has no switches, which would be nice for tire warmers. I may end up buying one anyways.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 03:07 PM   #28
Tech Fanatic
 
James35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 750
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I'd love to know where to get an assortment of boxes like this Integy one.. My Radio Shack only had black boxes, and the sizes were a bit too deep. I'd actually prefer them to be a little lower profile.
James35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 03:37 PM   #29
Tech Elite
 
raffaelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Land of the Free, Home of the Brave
Posts: 2,924
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by James35
I'd love to know where to get an assortment of boxes like this Integy one.. My Radio Shack only had black boxes, and the sizes were a bit too deep. I'd actually prefer them to be a little lower profile.
try here

http://www.mouser.com/
__________________
24ITA
raffaelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 06:15 PM   #30
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 558
Send a message via AIM to WhoMe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vtl1180ny
I can't believe that companies are making them and people in this hobby are buying them... Guess it's the same crowd that buys the RTR's....

Go to RS, get the stuff and build it yourself, not too hard to drill a few holes and solder a few wires....
Anyway Im really happy with mine. Close if not the same price as a do-it-yourselfer from radio shack, it has switches, fuses, pretty blue lights and..its got a snazzy blue case which is my favorite color =P. Oh and for the record I own no RTRs...though I should mention that particular section of the market are the folks that REALLY are the bang behind the buck in the RC market. So thank them..they foot the bill for a great deal of the racing-non-basher innovations you see in the hobby today.
WhoMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
********Team 12VDC 6 Channel Power Strip********** dgullickson R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 01-22-2008 10:11 PM
Integy 12 volts 6 channel power strip Erick_55 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 11-09-2007 02:39 PM
Xray Springs, belts and parts, 64 pitch pinoins, integy power strip, takeoff 27s bigoTC3fan R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 05-08-2007 11:32 PM
Integy 12v power distribution strip Scottrik R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 10 02-10-2007 01:57 PM
Question About Fuses and Integy Power Strip SlamMan Electric On-Road 3 08-13-2006 12:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:41 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net