R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-05-2006, 05:32 AM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 528
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Any ideas on how to revive IB3800's??

Well, here's the thing, they used to be pretty good, high voltage, high mAh 4 cell packs 4 months ago... I stored them for about a month but they deteriorated immensly.
I think my mistake was putting them on a Robitronics discharge tray for too long (about a week....) so they were way below 0.9/cell -> I'm gonna modify the trays to not go beyond 0.9V (putting in 0.91V Zeners in there instead of the normal diodes...)

Numbers atm are: 3150mAh @4.679V avg (18.5A).... is there any way to boost them?? Cause punch is gone, and forget about the 8 minutes in mod 1/12th.

I searched the treads and found nothing on how to revive these cells so if anyone has got a good trick to do so, please share!!

Thx in advance

Quante
Quante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 09:27 AM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 147
Default

Not sure if you can bring the cells back, but for future reference if you are not going to use the cells for mor than a week be sure to put 500 seconds of charge back in them after they have been discharged.
Andy C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 10:48 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
corradopsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: pa
Posts: 329
Send a message via AIM to corradopsi
Default

cycle them a few times at low charge and discharge rates. charge at 2A and discharge at 2-3A for 3-4 cycles. if the numbers come up, you can start increasing your charge and discharge rates and see if they will keep the numbers. do NOT let the batteries get hot (125*+). equalize them to 0.9V/cell every few cycles at the lower rates, and every cycle at the higher rates. next time you store them put charge in them. IB's dont like to be subjected to low voltage.
__________________
Mine: Nomadio Sensor; T2'007, Keyence, Express; ZX-5 SP, Mamba Max; XB8, OS V-spec and NR P5; ProBoat Shockwave 36
My Son: Futaba 3PM; T4 RS; Clodbuster; TT-01;Zig-Zag racer
corradopsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 12:27 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 528
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Thx, I'm gonna try that and I'll post here if it works!!

yeah, I'm still used to my 3300's who didnt have a problem when they were put aside...

Luckily the indoor season is almost over and I'm gonna buy new cells for mod touring and pan car racing outdoors, its just a shame of throwing away these cells...
Thx all
Quante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 03:40 AM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Patriiick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: France, Land of the French Fries.
Posts: 587
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

try to borrow a spintec discarger and run one or two cycles on it...
Could help, definitely..
Patriiick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 04:29 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

dyna-pulse, dyna-pulse, dyna-pulse.
Mo Denton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 04:30 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

he is doing 4 cells
Mo Denton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 05:08 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

Spintec will NOT give back lost run time.

All spintec does it draw lots of the energy out of the cells, because it pulsates, it thus allow the cells to rebound back to 1.2v and then draws energy again. its like discharging down to 5.4v many many times. yes it draws more juice out, thus you can then put more juice back in on the NEXT charge.

it like running your fuel tank till the cars empty light goes on and then filling up.

vs running you fuel tank dry, restarting the car and then running out the fuel lines, restarting the car and getting that every last drop out of the engine aswell.

obviosly when you fill up the next time you will get more fuel into the car. but it doesnt give you more capacity.
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 05:38 AM   #9
Tech Regular
 
thedudeaturdoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: the 8-0-4! aka the RVA!
Posts: 414
Send a message via AIM to thedudeaturdoor
Default

oh oh oh oh oh!!!

i know!

give them cpr!!! or a resperator

that should work
thedudeaturdoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 11:45 AM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 528
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

CPR, lol, 1-1000; 2-1000; 3........ LOL (retro house coming back to me ;-)

Just another idea, I just bought a Robitronics Overloader, would flex charging help somewhat?? Never tried it before cause I thought this was dangerous for the cells, but with these it doesnt matter, they're doomed anyway...

What setting does one normally use with flex charging??
Quante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 11:53 AM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Twin-Kyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Puce,ONT Canada
Posts: 234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quante
Well, here's the thing, they used to be pretty good, high voltage, high mAh 4 cell packs 4 months ago... I stored them for about a month but they deteriorated immensly.
I think my mistake was putting them on a Robitronics discharge tray for too long (about a week....) so they were way below 0.9/cell ->
Cells are far too gone.
CPR won't help either...lol
Time of death...When they came off the tray.
Twin-Kyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 12:09 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XingXing
Spintec will NOT give back lost run time.

All spintec does it draw lots of the energy out of the cells, because it pulsates, it thus allow the cells to rebound back to 1.2v and then draws energy again. its like discharging down to 5.4v many many times. yes it draws more juice out, thus you can then put more juice back in on the NEXT charge.

it like running your fuel tank till the cars empty light goes on and then filling up.

vs running you fuel tank dry, restarting the car and then running out the fuel lines, restarting the car and getting that every last drop out of the engine aswell.

obviosly when you fill up the next time you will get more fuel into the car. but it doesnt give you more capacity.
Somehow I just knew you would post after someone mentioned Spintec (and btw, you never seem to say a thing about the Dynapulse even though it's the same thing)
The Spintec and Dynapulse discharge using a pulsing current that occurs several times in a fraction of a second, which helps break down the crystallization that builds up on the inside of the cells. This crystallization hinders the cells ability to produce a stronger chemical reaction that produces electrical energy. Stop ragging on the Spintec every chance you get, it makes you look stupid. You say the Spintec can't get back lost runtime, well nothing can, because it's lost. (duh?) It maximizes what runtime and voltage you can get out of the cell, that you might not be getting because of crystallization and what not. He most likely killed the cells by traying them for a week.
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 05:03 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XrayFK
You say the Spintec can't get back lost runtime, well nothing can, because it's lost. (duh?) It maximizes what runtime and voltage you can get out of the cell, that you might not be getting because of crystallization and what not. He most likely killed the cells by traying them for a week.

well i am glad you agree with me. the post above mine implied that spintec could give back lost run time. so i was just correcting the misinformation about it giving more runtime.

also i cant comment on the dynapulse, coz i dont have one, however was told the dynapulse does not do the extra maintenance mode. so dynapulse stops discharging alot earlier. i guess trinity figured that the extra maintenance mode was causing cells to go into reverse. coz i know it caused my cells to drop below 0.9v (and even to 0volts for unmatched packs )

and please no need to get personal. i back my opinions up with reasons and with my own experiences. i dont have to give biased opinions to suck up and TRY to get "sponsership"
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 07:04 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XingXing
well i am glad you agree with me. the post above mine implied that spintec could give back lost run time. so i was just correcting the misinformation about it giving more runtime.

also i cant comment on the dynapulse, coz i dont have one, however was told the dynapulse does not do the extra maintenance mode. so dynapulse stops discharging alot earlier. i guess trinity figured that the extra maintenance mode was causing cells to go into reverse. coz i know it caused my cells to drop below 0.9v (and even to 0volts for unmatched packs )

and please no need to get personal. i back my opinions up with reasons and with my own experiences. i dont have to give biased opinions to suck up and TRY to get "sponsership"
I'm not giving any biased opinion, I am neither sponsored by Spintec nor am I trying to be. I have plenty of data that shows the improvements the Spintec has on cells. Of course if you leave the pack in "maintenance mode" on the Spintec for a long time, the voltage will drop, since it goes into that mode after it gets to 5.4v. I usually just disconnect it since I don't rely on the numbers that the Spintec gives. I go soley off the numbers from my CE35.
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 07:42 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
Ghostfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Milky Way
Posts: 617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XrayFK
I'm not giving any biased opinion, I am neither sponsored by Spintec nor am I trying to be. I have plenty of data that shows the improvements the Spintec has on cells. Of course if you leave the pack in "maintenance mode" on the Spintec for a long time, the voltage will drop, since it goes into that mode after it gets to 5.4v. I usually just disconnect it since I don't rely on the numbers that the Spintec gives. I go soley off the numbers from my CE35.
Dude, you're wasting your time discussing anything with him ! ....he's too narrow visioned to accept anything other than his own opinion


Quote:
Originally Posted by thedudeaturdoor
give them cpr!!! or a resperator

that should work
Ever heard of the Xipps3000 or Xipps3300 ? ......even batteries got zappers !
Ghostfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Let's Revive This Crew! Calling for New Members! Cmotif International Racing Team 254 10-31-2009 08:35 AM
Revive the Kyosho Sandmaster sandym Nitro Off-Road 1 05-11-2008 07:10 PM
Help me revive a RC10T, tell me what I need LXative Electric Off-Road 3 11-28-2005 12:51 PM
Revive tired 33k GPs battman Electric On-Road 34 07-09-2003 10:01 PM
How to revive 3000nimh ?? Kasey Electric On-Road 13 10-02-2001 03:18 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:49 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net