Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By trigger

Setting droop

Reply

Old 05-23-2019, 12:48 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sandusky, Ohio
Posts: 302
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default Setting droop

Good afternoon,
I wanted to get people's opinion on how they set droop on a touring car and what is the proper way. I'm sure will be subject to peoples preference. Do you do droop over ride height, droop blocks and measure from the lower hinge point of the control arm?

Thanks.
Red5Ltr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 01:05 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 844
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I typically measure over ride height, but will use blocks if I'm following a setup that lists it that way.
anthonyscardina is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 04:29 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (30)
 
Teufel Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sparks Nv.
Posts: 2,228
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

You can either use blocks and then a drop gauge to measure droop or just place the chassis flat on the setup board and use a ride height gauge to measure droop. Using the blocks gets the chassis up off the board and you can make it easier to see where you're pulling the measurements from. I usually use the lowest point on the arms at the outer hinge pin. So if I have antidive on the front I'll use the front side of the arm to get the measurement. Same thing the the rear, if I have any antisquat, I'll pull the measurement at the rear side of the rear arm. If that makes sense. I think it's what's ever easiest for the person checking their droop, as either way described above (blocks and droop gauge or chassis on the board and a ride height gauge) can get you the same result.
Teufel Racing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 06:35 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sandusky, Ohio
Posts: 302
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys! So either way will accomplish the same thing. On the setup sheets I find online for my Tc7.1.Are those measurements listed droop block and gauge numbers or are they over ride height? If you guys know.
Red5Ltr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2019, 06:47 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,325
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Method to Measuring and Setting Droop - By David Jun
snopro31 likes this.
trigger is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service