Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Silver Can Motor Tips/Tricks > Silver Can Motor Tips/Tricks

Silver Can Motor Tips/Tricks

Reply

Old 07-20-2010, 12:56 PM
  #1381  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by A-Ko View Post
I have been running Tekin FX Pro.
It is said to be the last serious brushed ESC released that is solely Brushed.
It is supposed to be better than Tekin RS in Brushed mode, if looking at Hobbywing BL they no longer support Brushed mode.
+1, although I run the regular FX, which is more than great for silver can. Just ran one in the 6-hour M-Chassis Enduro on a raging hot day and never saw more than 2-3 LEDs (out of 7) on the onboard temp indicator.
reenmachine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 07:38 PM
  #1382  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside of Crook County Illinois
Posts: 1,951
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by reenmachine View Post
+1, although I run the regular FX, which is more than great for silver can. Just ran one in the 6-hour M-Chassis Enduro on a raging hot day and never saw more than 2-3 LEDs (out of 7) on the onboard temp indicator.
Were you one of the teams that did not have to change motors?
I would be surprised if you did after using the Tekin.
A-Ko is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 09:00 PM
  #1383  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Never Never Land
Posts: 53
Default

How does the G-11 Pro compare to the FX series? I'm currently running Quantum Comp 1 on my M05 and I've just received a G-11 pro. Wondering if I should swap the QC1 to the G-11 or if the FX is loads better, then bypass the G-11 and go look for an FX esc?
TRF512 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 05:59 AM
  #1384  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by A-Ko View Post
Were you one of the teams that did not have to change motors?
I would be surprised if you did after using the Tekin.
We did not have to change motors, and it was a used motor to start with.
reenmachine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 06:09 AM
  #1385  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TRF512 View Post
How does the G-11 Pro compare to the FX series? I'm currently running Quantum Comp 1 on my M05 and I've just received a G-11 pro. Wondering if I should swap the QC1 to the G-11 or if the FX is loads better, then bypass the G-11 and go look for an FX esc?
I haven't run a G-11, but it seems like a decent little ESC. The G-11 Pro has the same on resistance as the regular FX. I think it has a lot less adjustability. I'm also not sure if the G-11 series has a lipo cutoff.
reenmachine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 11:56 AM
  #1386  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 151
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Tekin FX & LRP QC3 have Lipo cutoff built in. I've used both & they are as good as it gets for silver can.
mariob62 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2010, 10:05 AM
  #1387  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (15)
 
kuanseng1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 560
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Video of a Tamiya Lightly Tuned @22k rpm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aSbD1ZkDoAE
kuanseng1981 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2010, 10:24 PM
  #1388  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside of Crook County Illinois
Posts: 1,951
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kuanseng1981 View Post
Video of a Tamiya Lightly Tuned @22k rpm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aSbD1ZkDoAE
Although at 12v anything will look good.
Wonder how bad it would look at 5v?
A-Ko is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 04:16 AM
  #1389  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (15)
 
kuanseng1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 560
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Not so sure whether u know how to use a Much More Motor Master. But the 12 volts is the input volts, the motor is running at 7.2 volts.
kuanseng1981 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 05:37 PM
  #1390  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (22)
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,670
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

How does it run on track? I have been able to get some motors to pull big RPM, but they don't have any torque.
robk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 06:29 PM
  #1391  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,367
Default

Originally Posted by kuanseng1981 View Post
Video of a Tamiya Lightly Tuned @22k rpm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aSbD1ZkDoAE
That is very nice work. We don't use it here, so have only played with one. But that is good work.
Granpa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 09:58 PM
  #1392  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (15)
 
kuanseng1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 560
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by robk View Post
How does it run on track? I have been able to get some motors to pull big RPM, but they don't have any torque.
Usually we used it for TCS/TAC (Tamiya Asia Championship) Mini Class, and i tuned it to have average torque and more rpm.
kuanseng1981 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 01:41 PM
  #1393  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Where is the appropriate spot on a 540J to take a temperature reading? After a 6-minute race with my FF03, I read about 115F on the can, but about 185F on the black endbell. What temps should I be shooting for, measured where?
reenmachine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 02:34 PM
  #1394  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,367
Default

Originally Posted by reenmachine View Post
Where is the appropriate spot on a 540J to take a temperature reading? After a 6-minute race with my FF03, I read about 115F on the can, but about 185F on the black endbell. What temps should I be shooting for, measured where?
Generally the end bell gives better readings. The can readings with the inexpensive temp guns we use are of no value. Another thing you can try is to make a dark area on the can with a marker and build your data base off those readings. I'm don't like temps in excess of 170 measured at the end bell.
Granpa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 06:47 PM
  #1395  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Granpa View Post
Generally the end bell gives better readings. The can readings with the inexpensive temp guns we use are of no value. Another thing you can try is to make a dark area on the can with a marker and build your data base off those readings. I don't like temps in excess of 170 measured at the end bell.
Thanks for the info. For brushless motors I use a patch of electrical tape on the can. I'll try that here as well.
Originally Posted by Granpa View Post
I don't like temps in excess of 170 measured at the end bell.
Whoops!
reenmachine is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service