Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
New Exotek IFS V2 front suspension for Formula 1 cars >

New Exotek IFS V2 front suspension for Formula 1 cars

Like Tree5Likes

New Exotek IFS V2 front suspension for Formula 1 cars

Reply

Old 04-19-2019, 06:05 AM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (33)
 
fat500's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Boca Raton, florida
Posts: 1,451
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default New Exotek IFS V2 front suspension for Formula 1 cars

So I just got this new exotek ifs front end for my trf103 I am really enjoying it I decided to start this thread so other people using it can post their setups and various tuning options that they have figured out I am racing it on medium grip surface Outdoors using Tamiya TCS tires
Leester, Tim Neja and aracefan like this.
fat500 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 07:37 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (33)
 
fat500's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Boca Raton, florida
Posts: 1,451
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

I noticed with the wider front arms I could use a little more steering compared to the narrow arms
fat500 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 12:24 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,271
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

couple that front end with the street jam f1 rear end...that would be awesome
thefnshow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 02:00 AM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (16)
 
RaZz0R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 849
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by thefnshow View Post
couple that front end with the street jam f1 rear end...that would be awesome
I have two of those cars - this might be a good idea
RaZz0R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 05:21 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (33)
 
fat500's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Boca Raton, florida
Posts: 1,451
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

wow anyone running this set up? it is really nice. looking for some set up tips for outdoor asphalt med grip. need more turn in
fat500 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 09:16 PM
  #6  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,320
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fat500 View Post
wow anyone running this set up? it is really nice. looking for some set up tips for outdoor asphalt med grip. need more turn in
Camber changes are huuge for F1. I would try more camber or if you already have a lot then go a step softer on the front tires
MikeR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 05:32 AM
  #7  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (33)
 
fat500's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Boca Raton, florida
Posts: 1,451
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

what about tuning with your spring set(soft) and using the different mounting locations for the shocks, what do you find works best?
fat500 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 01:14 PM
  #8  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,320
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fat500 View Post
what about tuning with your spring set(soft) and using the different mounting locations for the shocks, what do you find works best?
Yes the soft option springs you can try if you have them, will definitely get more steering. Laying the front shock down should help also but may be less noticeable. Sometimes 10gr on the front wing can help.
MikeR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 03:02 PM
  #9  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 197
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default Front

Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
Yes the soft option springs you can try if you have them, will definitely get more steering. Laying the front shock down should help also but may be less noticeable. Sometimes 10gr on the front wing can help.
mike what all would I need to mount this on a Roche and is it compatible?
john holmes 69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 06:40 PM
  #10  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (33)
 
fat500's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Boca Raton, florida
Posts: 1,451
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

thanks will try
fat500 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 04:22 AM
  #11  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (16)
 
RaZz0R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 849
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

awesome tips - thx all - I have this coming in the mail currently and will be fitting it to a streetjam first to see how it performs - if its all good I'll fit it to a speedpassion 1.1 chassis too
MikeR likes this.
RaZz0R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 08:59 AM
  #12  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,320
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by john holmes 69 View Post

mike what all would I need to mount this on a Roche and is it compatible?
Hi, I don't own the Roche cars so am not sure if it's possible sorry.
MikeR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 09:40 AM
  #13  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Plantation, FL
Posts: 464
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Hi Mike, I’m really enjoying the new front end. At our recent state series race I ran into some issues with the lower arms. I broke the left and right arms on consecutive runs. The weak point is at the front of the arms where there’s a whole possibly for sway bars. Can the arms be produced without the holes? Also I have replaced the lower shock ball studies , which were bent. Yes, I crash, but not as much as you would think.
astgerma52sp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 09:42 AM
  #14  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Plantation, FL
Posts: 464
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

astgerma52sp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 09:44 AM
  #15  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Plantation, FL
Posts: 464
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

astgerma52sp is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service