R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-27-2006, 01:46 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
duckbutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: fontana CA
Posts: 34
Send a message via Yahoo to duckbutter
Default how I get my motor to not bogg down so much? Thinking of getting the new xray T2.

I have a FT TC4. My motor is the integy KOS 27 V12 stock 27t and my speed contorller is LRP sphere brushed and brushless. When i let go of the throttle it brakes and I cant take turns very sharp. I have to give a little throttle so the motor dosent bogg down is there a way to adjust the speed controller so it only brakes when i press foward on the throttle.
Also Im thinking of getting the new xray T2. What do you guys think about it?
duckbutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 01:52 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Superkarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Scarborough Australia
Posts: 630
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

try restting the end points on the speed controller for throttle and brake.
When u say braking when u step off the throtle so u mean it slows down imediately or just slows by the drag of the magnets.

Hope this helps
Superkarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 01:52 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
AM03GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,028
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

1) make sure your drivetrain is relatively free so you don't have too much transmission drag

2) adjust speed control per instruction sheet and use a lower drag brake profile if desired

3) make sure to set speed control with brakes at 100% so you can turn them down to allow the car to slow down slower and less...

4) you can also use throttle end point adjustments to reduce off throttle braking...
__________________
Associated // Reedy // Radiopost // Integy // Parma PSE
AM03GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 01:54 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Michael Barch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Penticton, BC (Canada)
Posts: 268
Send a message via AIM to Michael Barch
Default

Haha, first thing I read: "Im thinking of getting the new Xray T2, I have a FT TC4." Exactly what I did and everyone else is doing
Michael Barch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 02:56 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Burlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,277
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Burlap
Default

Check that you are not overgearing it as well.
Burlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 03:16 PM   #6
Tech Apprentice
 
LANCEisaCRACKER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 60
Default

Also check the drag brake on the radio and the speed controller. Maybe if you havn't adjusted it yet, its still at its factory settings?

XRAY T2 nice car, but I have a RDX, the time I have had I have had no complaints, I absoluty adore it
LANCEisaCRACKER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 03:17 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
jw92656's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aliso Viejo, CA
Posts: 342
Smile

I have one of these motors I built to do some R&D on. I am experimenting on starting a motor tuning company; maybe? I am at work, so I am going to use some rough numbers off my Fantom Dyno. Out of the box it only had 17,500 RPMs, 55-58 Watts?, and 89 Nmm on the torque. Rebuild the whole thing. My comm was not round, the brush hoods were not aligned properly, and the arm was not aligned in the field correctly. I bet if you install 769's, polish the bushings, and the shaft, and fix the other stuff you should get a little more rip from it. I used it all day as my practice motor, and it did fine. As I recall I got it to 19,7 - 19,800 ish RPM's, 64 Watts, and 103 Nmm torque. Get a good Monster with over 65 watts, and use the Integy to practice with.
jw92656 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 01:25 AM   #8
Tech Initiate
 
duckbutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: fontana CA
Posts: 34
Send a message via Yahoo to duckbutter
Default

I followed the set up procedure for my speed controller. No change It brakes when i let go of the throttle .I dont have to push foward to brake. My speed controller is brand new Its a sphere brushless + brushed. In the mannuel it says the brake is fixed and i cant adjust it.I know the motor has drag but shouldnt i be able to brake when i press forward on the stick to full brake. I have all kinds of options for braking with a brushless motor but nothing for a brushed motor.
duckbutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quark 4T BL motor, rc18t xps esc, mlst shocks, and xray alloy motor mount. rschoi_75 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 09-08-2011 12:28 PM
thinking about x-speed motor gweed Micro and Mini Scales 0 03-23-2008 12:02 PM
New here, thinking about an RC8 RTR... Furadi Nitro Off-Road 3 03-13-2008 07:41 AM
Xray T2, Brushed Motor Combo, Setup Tools, Xray Springs, Bodies etc... GroffBall R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 09-23-2007 08:53 PM
Workshop Tabletop CNC machine?!! Are you thinking what I'm thinking?? CLUBCONCEPTS Canadian R/C Scene 6 01-24-2007 10:13 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:33 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net