R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-27-2006, 09:22 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: BLACK CREEK, WI
Posts: 16
Default Need a little help

I just purchased a used GT7 speed control for my sons 19 turn car, we previously bought new a GT7 thats in his stock rubber car. my question is
the new one we bought has 2 black, one blue, one red wire, the used one we bought only has 2 black and one red wire, how in the heck do I hook this unit up. Sorry if it`s a dumb question but we`re noobies here.
JERRYT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 09:39 AM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 500
Send a message via AIM to RcCzarOfOld Send a message via MSN to RcCzarOfOld Send a message via Yahoo to RcCzarOfOld
Default

First off Jerry, the only dumb question is the one not asked. If you look on the case of the speedo, it'll say which wire is which. The red wire is the battery and motor + lead. One of the black wires is connected to (mot -) and the other is connected to (bat-). Just hook them up accordingly. Make sure to look on the case of the speedo to be sure which wire is which. Also, just to be safe, I'd change the motor - wire to a different color like blue or something along those lines. You don't want to mistake which is which and wonder why the car doesn't move and there's a plume of smoke coming out of the speedo...

Tony
RcCzarOfOld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 09:44 AM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
BugFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bergen - Norway
Posts: 83
Default

Check out novaks instruction manual: http://teamnovak.com/download/instru...fs/GT7_ins.pdf
__________________
Svein E. Pedersen
- tamiya4ever -
BugFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 10:00 AM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: BLACK CREEK, WI
Posts: 16
Default ESC

So let me get this straight, the red wire goes to both the mot + and bat +, do I have to split this wire correct? That what I gather, also I have the instructions on my other speed control, but they list the blue wire which I do not have.
JERRYT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 10:24 AM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 588
Default

Just copy the wiring in your sons stock rubber car. If you need extra wire get it from your LHS. Or you may have some wire left after installing the GT7 you bought new.
andsetinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 10:25 AM   #6
Tech Apprentice
 
BugFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bergen - Norway
Posts: 83
Default

You are correct regarding splitting the wire, and I have done it this way:



You can also take one wire to one of the sides on the enbells + tabs, and solder another from the second tab to the battery.. hope this helps
__________________
Svein E. Pedersen
- tamiya4ever -
BugFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 12:12 PM   #7
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: BLACK CREEK, WI
Posts: 16
Default ESC

Thanks thats what I though, didn`t want to havea barbeque
JERRYT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:50 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net