R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-12-2003, 01:54 PM   #106
Tech Elite
 
OSherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: o0O In the FishBowl O0o
Posts: 3,273
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Display

I know of 4 people (including myself) who run the 3PK..only one of us have had 'display shutdown'..[radio still works (transmits signal) you just cant see any adjustments you wish to make...]

3 of us all bought ours from the LHS...the fourth, which experienced 'display shutdown' , i don't know yet where it originated..will ask him to see, i do know he does have ties 'overseas' though...interesting...
__________________
•KO Propo America
•EXOTEK
OSherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 02:01 PM   #107
Tech Elite
 
OSherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: o0O In the FishBowl O0o
Posts: 3,273
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
display contd.

furthermore, I do notice on my display whenever in warm surroundings (outdoors during a race day, or rite after unpacking my equipment from the trunk of car) there is a little 'rainbow haze' in one protion of the screen ..best seen when display is turned off....it doesn't affect the display output, everything displays correctly....and the 'haze' is not permanent..one day its ther, the next day its not...i called myself monitoring it over the course of a month, and it comes-and goes..noticing it only during the warmer part of the days that it does occur...I'm not worried though....

all-in-all, I love this radio...
__________________
•KO Propo America
•EXOTEK
OSherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 02:04 PM   #108
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: display contd.

Quote:
Originally posted by OSherman
furthermore, I do notice on my display whenever in warm surroundings (outdoors during a race day, or rite after unpacking my equipment from the trunk of car) there is a little 'rainbow haze' in one protion of the screen ..best seen when display is turned off....it doesn't affect the display output, everything displays correctly....and the 'haze' is not permanent..one day its ther, the next day its not...i called myself monitoring it over the course of a month, and it comes-and goes..noticing it only during the warmer part of the days that it does occur...I'm not worried though....

all-in-all, I love this radio...
the LCD screen might be temperature sensitive...haven't seen that happen to mine yet...still cold up here. I'll keep an eye on it when the weather gets warmer.

Overall the radio is awesome!
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 06:42 PM   #109
Tech Elite
 
GregH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,306
Send a message via AIM to GregH
Default

I have a question about receiver's. I'm currently using the HRS in my 8th scale with no problems, digital JR servo's. My problem arised when I tried using a older PCM receiver. The #'s on it are FP-R113iP on the case. I've gone through the radio and know how to change all the settings in mod-mode. I'm using my current crystal that came with the HRS receiver. Is the receiver I mentioned above compatible with the 3PK?
GregH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 07:02 PM   #110
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: TEXAS. USA
Posts: 1,219
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Thumbs up FP-R113iP

Yes, you can run that recever on the 3pk.....Mine came with it.
I also have another R113iP recever that is older and it works!



I race on-road nitro and the receiver is mounted next to the fuel tank. I have had problems with the receiver/radio go into the fail-safe mode or no signal transmitted. I believe that fuel got to the receiver and cause this. So now I have it in a shrink-rap now. BEWARE of any thing getting on the receiver...it is much sensitive then other receivers!
PUNISHER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 07:10 PM   #111
Tech Elite
 
GregH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,306
Send a message via AIM to GregH
Default

Hummm, the receiver was gotten from a friend that ran oval years ago. I mean like the better part of 15 years. If it was a wide band receiver, wouldn't that affect it?? I can't get it to work with a TC2 that worked before I put the PCM reciever in.
GregH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 02:12 AM   #112
Tech Master
 
BOLISARIO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: S. Corona
Posts: 1,762
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BOLISARIO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BOLISARIO
I'm thinking about getting a 75mhz PCM 3PK. I currently have an R1(for a few years now) and I'm getting tired of the 1.5-2 hrs of battery time i'm getting from it. I was wondering, if I make the switch, will I have to change the servos and other electronics(I have a Hitec steering servo with JR connectors, JR throttle servo, and 1100mah Rx pack) to accomodate the Futaba Rx?

What runtimes are you getting from 1800-2000mah(8cells)?

How's the whole quality and durability of the radio? No persistent LCD problems?

Is $265 a good price for a 3PK with PCM receiver?

Thanks
Can anyone help me? Thanks
BOLISARIO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 03:05 AM   #113
Tech Adept
 
PHANTOM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SINGAPORE
Posts: 197
Default

One thing for sure about the battery runtime, it's super lasting.... I can go for 2 full race days without charging, 3 x 7mins heats and 45mins main per day. On top of that, there's about an hour of practice rounds.
PHANTOM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 08:22 AM   #114
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: TEXAS. USA
Posts: 1,219
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by BOLISARIO
I'm thinking about getting a 75mhz PCM 3PK. I currently have an R1(for a few years now) and I'm getting tired of the 1.5-2 hrs of battery time i'm getting from it. I was wondering, if I make the switch, will I have to change the servos and other electronics(I have a Hitec steering servo with JR connectors, JR throttle servo, and 1100mah Rx pack) to accomodate the Futaba Rx?

What runtimes are you getting from 1800-2000mah(8cells)?

How's the whole quality and durability of the radio? No persistent LCD problems?

Is $265 a good price for a 3PK with PCM receiver?

Thanks
The R-1 is a battery eating radio.....
I have too gone a whole race day with my 3pk with out charging it!! I'm using 1800mah on my 3pk and it seem to be just fine.

I keep my 3pk in a case when not in use on the pit-table and have no problems with the LCD screen.


$265 is a good price for the 3pk.....thats about how much i got mine for!
PUNISHER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 08:31 AM   #115
Tech Regular
 
RC Nitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NN Virginia
Posts: 432
Default

Second on the price. I have run the stock 700 mah pack for both classes with put a hitch. (3) 5 min qualifier and a main plus the (3) 8 min quilifier and main for 1/12. 2.5+ hrs on the display. I also have a 1500 mah pack I use to use in my 3PJS. Overall I love the radio. No display problems for me either.
RC Nitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 11:25 AM   #116
Tech Master
 
BOLISARIO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: S. Corona
Posts: 1,762
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BOLISARIO
Default

Thanks for the feedback. Can I still use my hitec(JR connectors) and JR servos and Rx pack? Or does that have to change?
BOLISARIO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 11:28 AM   #117
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: TEXAS. USA
Posts: 1,219
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by BOLISARIO
Thanks for the feedback. Can I still use my hitec(JR connectors) and JR servos and Rx pack? Or does that have to change?
YEAH SURE!
I'm using a JR servo on mine!!
PUNISHER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 11:52 AM   #118
Tech Regular
 
RC Nitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NN Virginia
Posts: 432
Default

PCM & FM (PPM) yes. HRS, you need a digital servo and 6.0 volts. That is noted in the manual. FYI manual is online on the futaba site.
RC Nitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 12:33 PM   #119
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: TEXAS. USA
Posts: 1,219
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Exclamation HRS

Thats correct...HRS needs a digital servo.
PUNISHER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 12:40 PM   #120
che
Tech Regular
 
che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Niagara Falls, Ontario
Posts: 291
Default

Where are you guys finding them locally for $265?
(US Magnum branded, not Megatech labelled) ...
che is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Futaba R203HF HRS Micro Receiver + Futaba Transmiter FP-PK-FM RF Module 75MHz WogBoy Australia For Sale/Trade 4 11-22-2015 02:56 PM
FS: Futaba R203HF HRS Micro Receiver + Futaba Transmiter FP-PK-FM RF Module 75MHz WogBoy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 08-28-2006 12:18 AM
Futaba HRS 75mhz recevier - Futaba Digital servo s9451 - Novak cyclone esc 4SALE alltech R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 10-14-2005 07:15 AM
Futaba 3PDF FM Pistol Radio, Futaba FP-R133F FM 3 Channel Receiver, FM 66 xtal 403forbidden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 16 05-19-2004 09:34 PM
Futaba 3PK $260, Futaba R203HF $80, R113IP $75, Futaba $9450 $80, OS 12TR $135 smash123 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 02-13-2003 04:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:39 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net