Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Xray chassis plate question >

Xray chassis plate question

Xray chassis plate question

Reply

Old 01-15-2019, 12:50 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
dun4sho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: nashville tn.
Posts: 373
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default Xray chassis plate question

would a 2018 alum. Flex chassis plate fit a 2015 xray t4? Thanks
dun4sho is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2019, 05:46 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,428
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

No, 15 and 16 are basically the same 17+ moved to inline motor and servo mounts
Troy Carter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2019, 06:16 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
dun4sho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: nashville tn.
Posts: 373
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Ok thanks im looking for a 15 flex chassis none to be found....
dun4sho is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2019, 09:23 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,567
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

It might be possible to make it work. When I got my '19, before I built it, I held the chassis plate up to the bottom of my '16. The hole spacing for the servo mount looked the same, but the servo mount was moved inboard. And of course, the '16 servo mount doesn't have pins. The motor mount foot plate looked like it would fit the '19 hole pattern, but the hole for the button head screw didn't line up. There could also be an issue with fitting the combined motor mount + left layshaft bulkhead, since the motor mount was moved inboard.

Maybe I'll get a chance to test it this weekend with my friend's '19 flex chassis (he's currently using the full hard chassis).
grippgoat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 04:10 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chi-Town West Burbs
Posts: 1,649
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dun4sho View Post
would a 2018 alum. Flex chassis plate fit a 2015 xray t4? Thanks
Yes you can use an 18 chassis. Besides the chassis, you will need an 18 motor mount plate. It is the piece that the motor mount attaches to. I just switched a 16 to an 18.
mooby64 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 04:32 AM
  #6  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (59)
 
Slo_E4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 1,162
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

Yes it will work, Everything will bolt right up. You do not need a motor mount.
Slo_E4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 04:55 AM
  #7  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
dun4sho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: nashville tn.
Posts: 373
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

What about servo mount?
dun4sho is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 07:24 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chi-Town West Burbs
Posts: 1,649
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dun4sho View Post
What about servo mount?
You will have no problem using The 15 servo mount. The screw holes line up, but the chassis has locating holes for the 18 servo mount.
mooby64 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service