Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By glennhl
  • 2 Post By theproffesor

Mounting TC Body

Old 12-23-2018, 05:15 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Mounting TC Body

Hi all. I'm new to RC and decided on road seemed more challenging and interesting so I purchased the TC7.2. Any tips on mounting the body? Do I leave the posts as they come and make the mark for the hole that way? Or do I need to cut the posts down first?

Also, how do I find the center to cut the wheel well? I'm gonna put on a Protoform Corvette Zr1 body 190mm. I noticed there are dimples in the part of the wheel well that get cut off, but the rear & for dont line up evenly on the axles. I'm using the Protoform Crosshair magnet system and Raceform Wheel Well Cutter to help me out.

Thanks in advance. I'm looking forward to learning from all of you.
Old 12-23-2018, 05:20 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

It takes practice. After 8 years I still struggle getting bodies straight. I do trim and do body holes before paint.

Its personal preference with trimming body post. I tend to use multiple bodies on same car, so trimming it’s usually best for me.
Old 12-23-2018, 05:23 PM
Tech Rookie

Originally Posted by Billy Kelly View Post
It takes practice. After 8 years I still struggle getting bodies straight. I do trim and do body holes before paint.

Its personal preference with trimming body post. I tend to use multiple bodies on same car, so trimming itís usually best for me.
Thank you for the response. So, if I don't trim the posts and make the hole with them full size, will there be a change in their orientation when I fit the body and trim?
Old 12-24-2018, 03:33 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)

I'm with Mr Kelly, except I've been mounting bodies for over 30 years and still struggle to get them straight! I'm probably going to buy my next body from BittyDesign and it's going to be precut and drilled.
ZEe_NYC and Billy Kelly like this.
Old 12-24-2018, 04:19 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)