R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-23-2006, 09:36 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default seperate battereis for servo...

look at surikans ride. hes got extra 5cell receiver pack to power his servo... anyone know how that works? you would need two recievers? one for the esc and one for the servo?

servo -> receiver 1
5cell -> reveiver 1
esc -> receiver 2

XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 09:46 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Charles Leto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 238
Default

Servo-Channel 1
ESC-Channel 2
5 Cell-Batt/possibly channel 3

same as you would run in a gas car 5-cell equals receiver back.

thats how i've seen it done.
Charles Leto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 09:50 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

hmmm yeah but wont the ESC supply power to the receiver already from your 6cells?
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 10:49 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XingXing
hmmm yeah but wont the ESC supply power to the receiver already from your 6cells?
Only if you switch it on. When you run a separate receiver pack you don't switch the ESC on, and the receiver pack powers the receiver and servo.
(when you switch on an ESC, you're actually turning its BEC on, the "drive section" of the ESC is already live and only waiting for a signal from the receiver)
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 10:55 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
scmicromike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orlando
Posts: 165
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to scmicromike
Default

so if you have the reciever pack you dont need to turn on power to the esc in order to run the car? all you do is put on your transmitter and the car will run?
scmicromike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 11:03 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Nickmind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 388
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Nickmind
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XingXing
hmmm yeah but wont the ESC supply power to the receiver already from your 6cells?
When you hook up a receiver pack to your receiver, the receiver then turns off its BEC from use. Then ESC will not supply the receiver power.
__________________
Nickmind - 2 x savages, hyper 7, Revo 2.5, TC4, T4, 3 x 18T, CRT x1, Tmaxx, 8ight & 8ight-T 2.0 - all ran from a 3PK and spektrum.
Nickmind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 11:05 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Nickmind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 388
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Nickmind
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scmicromike
so if you have the reciever pack you dont need to turn on power to the esc in order to run the car? all you do is put on your transmitter and the car will run?
No you will need to turn the switch on, so the ESC can receive single from the receiver.
__________________
Nickmind - 2 x savages, hyper 7, Revo 2.5, TC4, T4, 3 x 18T, CRT x1, Tmaxx, 8ight & 8ight-T 2.0 - all ran from a 3PK and spektrum.
Nickmind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 11:29 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

For all the ESC's I've used so far, you do NOT turn the ESC switch on when using a separate receiver battery, you only turn on the switch between the receiver battery and the receiver, or if there is no switch there, just plug the RX battery into the receiver and everything will come on.

( I haven't used every speed control out there, so this info may not apply to some speed controls )
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 11:05 AM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Nickmind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 388
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Nickmind
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trips
For all the ESC's I've used so far, you do NOT turn the ESC switch on when using a separate receiver battery, you only turn on the switch between the receiver battery and the receiver, or if there is no switch there, just plug the RX battery into the receiver and everything will come on.

( I haven't used every speed control out there, so this info may not apply to some speed controls )
My Bad, He is right. I have tested three of my ESC's you don't have to have the switch on. I don't know what i was thinking.

Nick
__________________
Nickmind - 2 x savages, hyper 7, Revo 2.5, TC4, T4, 3 x 18T, CRT x1, Tmaxx, 8ight & 8ight-T 2.0 - all ran from a 3PK and spektrum.
Nickmind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 12:11 PM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Colorado, Above The Rest
Posts: 992
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XingXing
look at surikans ride. hes got extra 5cell receiver pack to power his servo... anyone know how that works? you would need two recievers? one for the esc and one for the servo?

servo -> receiver 1
5cell -> reveiver 1
esc -> receiver 2

It's powering all of the electronics, not just the servo. There are often problems when runn low-turn mod motors that pull large amounts of amps. These motors often will rob power from the electronics and cause glitching
__________________
Team BSR
Team Power Push
Protoform Race Bodies
KSKT Racing - #1 in SK Racing Chassis
Darkside Motorsports - "WE ARE WHAT'S NEXT." - www.darksidems.com
THE DARKSIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 02:49 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickmind
My Bad, He is right. I have tested three of my ESC's you don't have to have the switch on. I don't know what i was thinking.

Nick

so what would happen if you turned the ESC switch on? do you still plug the esc into the receiver?
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2006, 03:14 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

If you turn the ESC switch on while a separate receiver pack is powering the receiver damage to the BEC in the speed control might result (according to the manuals I've read)

You still plug the ESC into the receiver's throttle channel, the ESC still needs the receiver signal to tell it how to operate. Just don't turn the ESC s3witch on.
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 Mini-t's Like New ( Will Seperate ) edge6245 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 30 11-01-2006 09:26 PM
F/S LOSI XXXT MF2 RTR OR SEPERATE PAPAMAC R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 10-22-2006 08:58 PM
Emaxx EVX, motors and battereis hs748 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-21-2006 09:45 PM
Stock Motors and Battereis FS losirunner R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 10-30-2005 09:10 AM
5 sanyo matched team orion 3300 battereis f/s!! eds24 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 04-28-2005 02:49 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:22 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net