Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
what pinion gear should I run? >

what pinion gear should I run?

what pinion gear should I run?

Old 02-22-2006, 05:07 PM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
duckbutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: fontana CA
Posts: 34
what pinion gear should I run?

Im going to race at SoCal raceway on saturday and I was wondering what is a good gear to run at that track. I have FT TC4 and my motor is integy KOS-27 stock. my gear now is 23t. I looked at the track online it looks like it has some long straight aways should i go up some for more top end. If anyone runs out there I would like any tips for set up.
duckbutter is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 08:27 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (35)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,147
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

You want to hit top speed about 2/3 through the straight so you will have to gear at the track during a few practice runs.
Sean R is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 08:42 PM
  #3  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (222)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 31,519
Trader Rating: 222 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by duckbutter
Im going to race at SoCal raceway on saturday and I was wondering what is a good gear to run at that track. I have FT TC4 and my motor is integy KOS-27 stock. my gear now is 23t. I looked at the track online it looks like it has some long straight aways should i go up some for more top end. If anyone runs out there I would like any tips for set up.
you might want to change the brushes and the springs on that motor , I got one and it was a slow not so much rpms,after rezapping the magnets ,cut the comm(was not round at all) installed a pair of F brushes with purple springs + & - the RPMs came up from 23347 to 29142 and the total watts from 103 to 129 watts(@7 volts)
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 10:18 PM
  #4  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
duckbutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: fontana CA
Posts: 34
Talking

Originally Posted by Marcos.J
you might want to change the brushes and the springs on that motor , I got one and it was a slow not so much rpms,after rezapping the magnets ,cut the comm(was not round at all) installed a pair of F brushes with purple springs + & - the RPMs came up from 23347 to 29142 and the total watts from 103 to 129 watts(@7 volts)
can anyhobbie shop rezap the magnets and cut the comm? Are F brushes a standerd brand? Im mostly likely going to get that done before i race saturday. How much will that cost me to do that to the motor?
duckbutter is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 10:33 PM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
minicooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beautiful Downtown L.A. Where the sky is always on fire and the grass is always brown
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by duckbutter
can anyhobbie shop rezap the magnets and cut the comm? Are F brushes a standerd brand? Im mostly likely going to get that done before i race saturday. How much will that cost me to do that to the motor?
duckbutter, There's a lot more to making a motor fast. Don't worry about all that right now. Pack your stuff up and go to SoCal. You'll be able to get some advice and help on gearing and setting your car up properly. Good luck!
minicooper is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.