Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Speed Controller Hype for spec racing? >

Speed Controller Hype for spec racing?

Like Tree12Likes
  • 2 Post By Nerobro
  • 1 Post By valk
  • 2 Post By Radneed4speed
  • 2 Post By nexxus
  • 1 Post By JeffofSpace
  • 2 Post By old_dude
  • 1 Post By gigaplex
  • 1 Post By LzREngineering

Speed Controller Hype for spec racing?

Old 08-27-2018, 06:55 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 19
Default Speed Controller Hype for spec racing?

I noticed when I went to an 80A speed controller from a 40A that there was a noticeable performance difference even in Blinky mode. Would I see the same jump if I went to a 160A?
Trampsinger is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 06:57 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 2,196
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Depends on the motor you're running. But most likely, no. This "probally" shows that there was a problem with your 40amp esc, not that the 80amp esc was "that much better"
jlfx car audio and nickcza like this.
Nerobro is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 11:26 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,128
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

More powerful escs will come with added perameters such as drive frequency which can be beneficial with some motors. Current capacity is less Important though haveing more capacity would allow the esc to run more effciently without getting hot which decreases efficiency.
Also some escs just have better construction than others and can switch faster which helps with motor efficiency.
You can kinda hear this difference on track by how cars sound. You can kinda tell whos running what even assuming the same motor by how the car sounds sometimes ha.
If we are comparing hobbywing 40 amp justock to say the 80amp Xr10 you would definitely feel the difference in newer electronics and better software.
silden likes this.
valk is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 01:45 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 389
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default ESC

Originally Posted by valk View Post
More powerful escs will come with added perameters such as drive frequency which can be beneficial with some motors. Current capacity is less Important though haveing more capacity would allow the esc to run more effciently without getting hot which decreases efficiency.
Also some escs just have better construction than others and can switch faster which helps with motor efficiency.
You can kinda hear this difference on track by how cars sound. You can kinda tell whos running what even assuming the same motor by how the car sounds sometimes ha.
If we are comparing hobbywing 40 amp justock to say the 80amp Xr10 you would definitely feel the difference in newer electronics and better software.

Andrew Knapp won the F1 IIC last year with just a plain jane 7 year old hobbywing just stock ... the first addition... JUST SAYING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Radneed4speed is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 02:09 PM
  #5  
Tech Addict
 
DaSilva3525's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 525
Default

I noticed a difference going from a 80amp esc to a 160 amp Esc personally, and like mentioned all the added features with freq for throttle and brake control make a big difference as well.
DaSilva3525 is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 07:10 PM
  #6  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (315)
 
nexxus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,853
Trader Rating: 315 (100%+)
Default

I've run top 3 in State titles using a $35 Trackstar Sportsman Esc, a lot of the difference users say they feel by having a higher end speedy is psychological. (Easier to rationalize the cost that way)

That said I can say the Castle Mamba X is not an ideal ESC for Blinky 21.5 Tried it, it worked, but you can tell it's designed to handle faster more powerful motors, not extract the last 0.01 out of a 21.5
slodsm and Radneed4speed like this.
nexxus is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 08:31 PM
  #7  
Tech Regular
 
JeffofSpace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Seattle
Posts: 443
Default

Yep, I have an old school justock in my f1 21.5. Didnít even know it was only 40amps. My car is just as quick and fast as any other on the track. Plenty of adjustability for 25.5, 21.5, and I even used it with 17.5 when I first started.
Radneed4speed likes this.
JeffofSpace is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 09:06 PM
  #8  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (36)
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 944
Trader Rating: 36 (92%+)
Default

Quick question. Can 16 gauge wire work for touring cars.
Rcforlife13 is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 11:11 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 2,196
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

yes. You may be giving up some low end torque though..
Nerobro is offline  
Old 08-28-2018, 05:20 AM
  #10  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 1,261
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I would say that the main thing once you get to a 80A esc is one with adjustable frequencies (both drive and brake) as well as drag brake. If you are running on pavement and traction is limited be sure to have a good punch control also. There are several that fit the bill. I prefer the XR-10 Stock Spec series which go for around $115. Small footprint and drive frequency down to 1k.
jlfx car audio and JoshuaRC10 like this.
old_dude is offline  
Old 08-28-2018, 10:36 AM
  #11  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 389
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default 12ga

Originally Posted by Rcforlife13 View Post
Quick question. Can 16 gauge wire work for touring cars.
no don't use nothing below 12ga for touring car
Radneed4speed is offline  
Old 08-28-2018, 10:56 AM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 3,838
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Radneed4speed View Post
no don't use nothing below 12ga for touring car
Many high end stock spec ESCs come with 14awg. You don't need 12awg unless you're running mod.
jlfx car audio likes this.
gigaplex is online now  
Old 08-28-2018, 03:02 PM
  #13  
Tech Regular
 
LzREngineering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 307
Default

Originally Posted by gigaplex View Post
Many high end stock spec ESCs come with 14awg. You don't need 12awg unless you're running mod.
If you are concerned with getting battery IR right down for stock, going from 14 to 12 awg will save a couple of milliohms. Whether you notice that is a different matter.
the rc guy likes this.
LzREngineering is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.