Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
T.O.P. Racing "Scythe" 1/10 EP Touring Car >

T.O.P. Racing "Scythe" 1/10 EP Touring Car

T.O.P. Racing "Scythe" 1/10 EP Touring Car

Reply

Old 03-25-2008, 11:35 AM
  #961  
Tech Addict
 
E.J. Evans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 601
Default

Originally Posted by xray racer View Post
Hey EJ,

Are you running any different parts on those shocks?... eg: HPI lower collars etc, just wondering how you went making ride height with HPI springs???

I just mounted up my set of TRF shocks to my scythe, trying to get some pics to post, but i found them better. I just wasnt sure my set of HPI springs would fit comfortably.

Also, have you played with rear toe settings much???... a couple of Scythe guys here have commented that reducing the rear toe-in unsettles the car too much and it doesnt respond all that well, obviously dependent on track condition, and whilst im waiting for my set of blocks to come i though it ask if any of you guys could expand on that.

Cheers,

Robbie
Hey Robbie, I had to use different lower shock collars and lower ball mounts. Not sure what they are but I stole them from Josh during the snowbirds. I'll try to find out what they are.

If you are using the stock shock tower HPI springs will fit fine.

I have not played with rear toe very much. With rubber tires I almost always use the 0/3 blocks (front rear/rear rear), even on carpet. I know the guys that have ran it on foam have used 0/2.5, 0/2, or even 1/3.
E.J. Evans is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 02:17 PM
  #962  
Tech Adept
 
Jamesalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 185
Default Lipo

Hi what lipos can you fit into a scythe without any modification?
Jamesalex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 02:22 PM
  #963  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

The Orion 3200 fits nicely. It's a little more snug with the 3.5mm chassis as everything is sunk down an extra 1mm but it still fits.
The battery does have to be moved to the outside to avoid rubbing on the belt. You also have to use tape. The battery does not fit between the posts for the battery bar.
GreaseMonkey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 04:16 PM
  #964  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,984
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jamesalex View Post
Hi what lipos can you fit into a scythe without any modification?
I run trackpower without any issues.
Besercoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 01:32 AM
  #965  
Tech Master
iTrader: (22)
 
xray racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 1,574
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Besercoe View Post
I run trackpower without any issues.
Ah so thats the secret to the Windsor LR
xray racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 06:49 AM
  #966  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (35)
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Mmmmmm ... found this pic from TITC ...... TOP driver Neils and a team mechanic

Last edited by cannon; 03-30-2008 at 09:25 PM.
cannon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 12:19 PM
  #967  
Tech Adept
 
Jamesalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 185
Default

Has anyone had any problems using trackpower 3200 lipo's in the scythe and how has power and run time seemed with these lipo's what the best process for lipo's the first time you charge them?
Jamesalex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 11:26 PM
  #968  
Tech Addict
 
jasons56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 685
Default

Originally Posted by cannon View Post
Mmmmmm ... found this pic from TITC ...... TOP driver Neils and a team mechanic
Um . Wow. Does the mechanic need an apprentice?
ummm. errr. My wife might get just a little bit jealous.
Nevermind.
jasons56 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2008, 12:56 PM
  #969  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Does TOP have a center one way for this car?

Or which one will fit it?

THX
Nova F1 Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2008, 04:17 PM
  #970  
Tech Addict
 
E.J. Evans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 601
Default

Originally Posted by Nova F1 Racer View Post
Does TOP have a center one way for this car?

Or which one will fit it?

THX
Because of our design no center one way is available. Only a front will work on the car.
E.J. Evans is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 10:48 AM
  #971  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by E.J. Evans View Post
Because of our design no center one way is available. Only a front will work on the car.
THX EJ, looks like I'll have to make one....
Nova F1 Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 12:14 AM
  #972  
Tech Adept
 
Jamesalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 185
Questions?? Lipo Pics

Has any one got any pics showing how your lipos go into the chassis, as I had a trackpower 3200 and the centre pulley was wearing a dent into the lipos casing any ideas or pics or solutions would be a great help.

Cheers

James
Jamesalex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 03:22 AM
  #973  
Tech Master
iTrader: (22)
 
xray racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 1,574
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Hey Guys,

I'm having drama's with my wheel bearings, they seem to all be s**ting themselves lol.

Its an issue been bugging me for a while now, but i think i've come to the conclusion that it occurs when i tighten my wheels.

Am i tightening them too much???

Just to confirm, i am definately running the little plastic insert between the two bearings, and currently i have speedtech ceramics in the car. This is with plastic hubs.

Has anyone else come across this???...

Cheers,

Robbie
xray racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 03:47 AM
  #974  
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Havent had that hassle on any of my cars.
Double check you dont have one to many shims fitted.
razzor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 04:12 AM
  #975  
Tech Master
iTrader: (22)
 
xray racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 1,574
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

It seems as though thats what it was.

I'm running the clamp type hex hubs now, and i'd never had this problem with the originals, but its as though the axle pulls through more when the wheel is tightened.

Removed all the shims and it seems good, theres just a tiny amount of play when the wheel is on, but one shim is too much.

Hopefully thats fixed it.

Also, EJ or anyone else that has done so, what were the lower spring retainers you used with the lowered towers. I've bought some HPI ones that apparently do the trick.

Cheers

Robbie
xray racer is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service