R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-17-2006, 11:10 AM   #16
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

what are you using for a laoding on the PSU to bring the 12v rail up?
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 01:38 PM   #17
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DA_cookie_monst
what are you using for a laoding on the PSU to bring the 12v rail up?
I use 1ohm resistors. It really depends on the individual power supply, as they are somewhat different internally. Make sure the wattage rating is high enough to handle the current so it doesn't overheat.
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 02:50 PM   #18
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 90
Default

DA_Cookie

Most computer power supplies have a switch in the rear, just above the AC in cord, to switch from 115v AC - 230 v AC.
M2Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 03:52 PM   #19
Tech Regular
 
BringItOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: AU, Sydney
Posts: 310
Default

have you overcome the "problem" where when you connect devices to the PS that is already on then they PS will turn off? i.e having to connect devices before turning on the PS?
BringItOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 07:38 PM   #20
Tech Master
 
bender's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,504
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BringItOn
have you overcome the "problem" where when you connect devices to the PS that is already on then they PS will turn off? i.e having to connect devices before turning on the PS?
ATX power supplies have in-built peak current overload protection, so if you're already running a charger and then plug in a lathe etc then it's possible to trip the PSU.

I have noticed that as you increase the load on the 5v line - you increase the chance of tripping the PSU when connecting other devices.

Presumably, this occurs because with a higher loaded 5v line, the PSU is running closer to it's maximum wattage capability.

I know my converted PSU can run a couple of chargers plus my lathe all at once, but it requires me to spin the lathe over by hand when I switch it on so that there isn't any large current peaks which would trip the PSU.
__________________
Jason W
FIR#2 - "You can't buy this much talent"
Durango Dex410 - Schumacher Cougar SV - Top Photon
bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 09:11 AM   #21
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BringItOn
have you overcome the "problem" where when you connect devices to the PS that is already on then they PS will turn off? i.e having to connect devices before turning on the PS?
I can plug in chargers and a motor cooler while it is running and haven't haf any problems so far. I also run my lathe off my T35 so I haven't had any issues with that either.
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer Power Supply for R/C? KevanB Electric On-Road 32 08-01-2013 04:37 PM
Computer power supply used for charger power supply? 66Racer Radio and Electronics 7 05-25-2008 12:52 AM
Computer power supply semper Australian Racing 79 11-23-2007 12:35 PM
computer power supply hpipro321 Electric On-Road 4 09-01-2005 01:25 AM
Computer power supply Losi Jet Pilot Electric Off-Road 3 06-15-2005 06:51 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:37 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net