R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-14-2006, 09:10 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
jhigga15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Miami
Posts: 513
Default Power Supply

Hello every one,
I am looking into getting a power supply...I am looking at maybe the Much More Worlds power supply...any one have any suggestions?
Thanks
jhigga15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 09:51 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 1,604
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

buyreliant.com. Pyramid 20 amp power supply. $59. Got 2 work great.
__________________
Mike Dobbs
barnacle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 09:53 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
whitelazer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 428
Default

just sold my ce power supply and ordered my world edition 2........
whitelazer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 09:56 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
XMSRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 1,013
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to XMSRacing Send a message via Yahoo to XMSRacing
Default

I have the 23 amp CE power supply. Nice and small, works perfect.
XMSRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 05:45 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: I don't know
Posts: 201
Default

One word Rivergate small, strong, and last for ever.

B
rockdog200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 06:43 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barnacle
buyreliant.com. Pyramid 20 amp power supply. $59. Got 2 work great.
Same here, best power supply for the money. Don't waste your money on the Much More one, the only thing extra you get for your money is the color.
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 08:20 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XrayFK
Same here, best power supply for the money. Don't waste your money on the Much More one, the only thing extra you get for your money is the color.
Yea save some money...
Plus www.tresleonard.com can make you a sweet wrap for it.
here is the direct link to the power supply...
http://www.buyreliant.com/psupplies/psv200.htm
Oh by the way it is just tiny bit bigger than the CE 23amp one...
-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 09:57 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 500
Send a message via AIM to RcCzarOfOld Send a message via MSN to RcCzarOfOld Send a message via Yahoo to RcCzarOfOld
Default

This is also a very good power supply.

http://www.rcmart.com/catalog/produc...ducts_id=16126

I think they're located in Hong Kong, China so the shipping might make up for the savings, but you'll just have to check and see...

Tony
RcCzarOfOld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 10:08 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RcCzarOfOld
This is also a very good power supply.

http://www.rcmart.com/catalog/produc...ducts_id=16126

I think they're located in Hong Kong, China so the shipping might make up for the savings, but you'll just have to check and see...

Tony
It would be cheaper to get 2 of the Pyramid power supplies in the US And then you'd have 40A total.
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 11:06 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
James35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 750
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If you want the best, then you'll want the Alinco DM-330MV power supply:


Here is a review I did of it on a different forum:
Well, I got my Alinco 32A power supply in, and I love it! It's so much higher quality than the Samlex/Radio Shack ones. And the adjustable voltage makes this so much more useful to me. The clean voltage it provides is just amazing. You can literally unplug this for 2-4 seconds and it still provides steady power without blinking an eye. Even when you turn it off, it provides power for about 2-4 seconds. So far, the fan has only turned on once for me, and even so, it's a nice slow, auto-adjusting, variable speed running fan so it's not too loud. The front and back panel inputs are wonderful. 32A banana/screw connectors in the back, remote voltage control, preset voltage dial plus on/off switch options, noise control, lighted front voltage display, and the extra front output connectors are all a welcome bonus.

The size of this is not much bigger than the Samlex/Radio Shack power supplies, although the Alinco is heaver since it's made with metal (something that Radio shack does not believe in). This thing looks like it's made to last, and I bet I'll have this for 25+ years. In my opinion, the only reason you wouldn't want to get this ultimate power supply is if you are concerned about saving weight. In my opinion, it's worth spending $40 more than Samlex/Radio Shack power supplies. You get more continuous amps, features, durability, quality, and adjustability.

I bought mine at gigaparts.com for $139 shipped. They can be found on ebay too. The ICE sits on top of this power supply nicely, and they really compliment eachother. I use the adjustable voltage all the time, for things like motor lathes, tire truers, fans, etc.. After having adjustable voltage, it seems silly to ever go back. I like to give credit where credit is due, and this Alinco is awesome.

Two more pictures:
http://www.rctech.net/forum/attachme...hmentid=109784
http://www.rctech.net/forum/attachme...hmentid=109785
James35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 11:11 AM   #11
Tech Addict
 
jhigga15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Miami
Posts: 513
Default

Has me looking...
jhigga15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 11:18 AM   #12
Tech Addict
 
jhigga15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Miami
Posts: 513
Default

what else can I hook up to the supply other than a charger?
jhigga15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 12:42 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
Superkarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Scarborough Australia
Posts: 630
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
what else can I hook up to the supply other than a charger?
Any that needs power Lathe, Tire truer, discharger.
Superkarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 01:36 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhigga15
what else can I hook up to the supply other than a charger?
Anything that runs off of DC power, lol. Though it has to be the right voltage of course.
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 04:32 PM   #15
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 211
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have a used Lambda (Nemic-Lambda) power supply. Actually, I own two of them: one 53 amps (which stays in the house), and one rated 35 amps (nice, small, portable).

I got it from a guy who works at a telecom company. He said these power supplies are normally on 24/7, 365 days of the year, and these are what are used at cell(phone) sites.

He plugged in a 70 amp load on the one rated at 53 amp, and the voltage dropped from 13.87 to 13.86 (yes, .01 volt!). When he plugged in a 35 amp load on it, the multi-meter didn't even blink. And, just like that Alinco, even when unplugged for about 2 seconds, it still provided power.

(I have unplugged it for about 2 seconds, then plugged it back in, and the MuchMore charger didn't even complain even as it was charging at 5 amps).

Overall, am very happy with them. He was even offering me an 84 amp power supply ("in case your battery is dead and you want to start your car"), but that one was a tad big. The 53 amp can be portable , but the 35 amp one is small.
Alfalfameister is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer power supply used for charger power supply? 66Racer Radio and Electronics 7 05-25-2008 12:52 AM
RC BLOW OUT !!!! Ice chargers,novak discharger,power supply,power bridge,integy setup shrum1340 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-23-2007 05:37 AM
>>> TEAM NOVAK N-POWER POWER SUPPLY GREAT CONDITION $50 <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 02-06-2007 10:53 PM
turning pc power supply into a rc power supply andy_666 Electric On-Road 20 01-16-2006 05:20 PM
SEC Power Supply vs. Hobbico Power Supply? F1Junkie Electric On-Road 1 06-05-2004 08:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:04 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net