R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-17-2003, 03:44 AM   #31
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 74
Default Re: How about the Triton DC peak charger?

Quote:
Originally posted by Nightbreed
This thing does everthing;

-charges NIcd, NiMH, lithium-ion and lead acid batteries.
-charger/discharger, cycles 1-10 cells
-times auto-matically, memorizes peak and average battery voltage and more.

check it out at www.electrifly.com

Only costs $129.99 at Tower and that don't include a coupon deal.

Does any one have one of these? It sounds to good to be true.
5A max output seems not enough for R/C car.
Loman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2003, 04:09 AM   #32
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default Re: Re: How about the Triton DC peak charger?

Quote:
Originally posted by Loman
5A max output seems not enough for R/C car.
True. Especially since the capasity grows all the time, so you'll need more and more amps, to keep the punch up.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2003, 11:04 PM   #33
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 21
Default

That triton looks nice man. I'd like to hear some reviews on it. bgotori, too bad about the multi. That hot dog thing made me laugh hard. Thats classic.
lameposeur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2003, 01:21 PM   #34
Tech Addict
 
dyaz21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cali
Posts: 672
Default Victor Super High IQ2 Battery Charger

My friend have a Victor Super High IQ2 Battery Charger. He's wondering if there's a company or place that can do a repair and upgrade for this charger?
dyaz21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2003, 01:46 PM   #35
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 321
Default

Hey dyaz21

the person I got my 3000 worked on is/was in Canada, but I don't think he's working on them anymore. PM (private message) lameposeur maybe he has his e-mail.

If you live in SoCal goto SoCal raceway, I remember years ago someone there was saying he could fix them, try Tuesday or Saturday nights.


Good Luck!!!

Bradley J. Gotori
[email protected]
bgotori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2003, 09:12 PM   #36
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 74
Default

Hi
Anyone can give comment on YoKoMo BMS charger? and how about the Yokomo charge mode?
Loman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2003, 09:38 AM   #37
Tech Adept
 
rallyweapon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: New Manila, Quezon City, Philippines
Posts: 154
Send a message via Yahoo to rallyweapon
Default

hi.

is there any way to upgrade the software in a Millenium Pro ?

price not a factor, which is the better charger: the Pit Bull, Mill Pro, or the LRP Pulsar ?

any info is highly appreciated
rallyweapon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2003, 11:02 AM   #38
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rallyweapon
hi.

is there any way to upgrade the software in a Millenium Pro ?

price not a factor, which is the better charger: the Pit Bull, Mill Pro, or the LRP Pulsar ?

any info is highly appreciated
Why would you want to upgrade it? It can charge any NiMh out there right now. All of the chargers you mentioned are good. LRP pulsar will be a "bit" nicer because of it's motor break-in feature which you can also use to power lathes and truers.
elnitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2003, 05:59 PM   #39
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 43
Default High ampere discharge

One for the disadvantage that I noticed about the Pulsar is the high amp discharge. If you want to condition the cells by drawing out all the charges and recharging it, the fixed 10A discharge on the Pulsar can't do it. The high current load from the discharge current dips the voltage below 5.4V, and the discharge function will end.
alyee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2003, 06:27 PM   #40
Tech Initiate
 
RC RACIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sterling Va
Posts: 25
Default

the pulsar is a pretty good charger or mabey the pitt bull
RC RACIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2003, 06:34 PM   #41
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: High ampere discharge

Quote:
Originally posted by alyee
One for the disadvantage that I noticed about the Pulsar is the high amp discharge. If you want to condition the cells by drawing out all the charges and recharging it, the fixed 10A discharge on the Pulsar can't do it. The high current load from the discharge current dips the voltage below 5.4V, and the discharge function will end.
for that reason alone i'm thinking of getting another charger...
is there any charger in the $160-200 range that has 30A discharge?for single cells?was kinda hoping i could do some matching of my own since i buy loose cells on the cheap.
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2003, 06:37 PM   #42
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 43
Default Re: Re: High ampere discharge

Quote:
Originally posted by lee82gx
for that reason alone i'm thinking of getting another charger...
is there any charger in the $160-200 range that has 30A discharge?for single cells?was kinda hoping i could do some matching of my own since i buy loose cells on the cheap.
30A discharge is kinda high in load. I don't think you'll be able to empty your cells at such high current draw, because the voltage drop will cause the cut off to kick in.

Have you seen the Eagle CDC v6 charger? It has adjustable discharge current.
alyee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2003, 06:48 PM   #43
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

yep the Eagle/Integy is currently in my sights.20A max discharge.
but if a sub-C cell cannot discharge at 30A then how do the matchers do it?i dont think only a Turbo35 can make the cell discharge at 30A right?
I think the 30A is achieved by using a stable but extremely low resistance circuit to make lot's of heat.
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2003, 06:51 PM   #44
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default Re: Re: High ampere discharge

Quote:
Originally posted by lee82gx
for that reason alone i'm thinking of getting another charger...
is there any charger in the $160-200 range that has 30A discharge?for single cells?was kinda hoping i could do some matching of my own since i buy loose cells on the cheap.
Hmmm. I think that the Pulsar is a very good charger. You can get some that are slightly better, but I think you have to ask yourself: Will that make me faster?

Another important thing: The Pulsar is already capable of matching cells, the only difference is that the amp rate are a little lower. But as long you compare your own cells at the same rate, it doesnt matter much.

I believe that you can get really, really good results with the Pulsar. So I suggest that you spend the money somewhere else. I dont know what else you got, so my suggestion might be wrong, but a good steering servo makes a big difference. Usually, it's one of the most overseen, yet very important hop ops.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2003, 07:05 PM   #45
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lee82gx
yep the Eagle/Integy is currently in my sights.20A max discharge.
but if a sub-C cell cannot discharge at 30A then how do the matchers do it?i dont think only a Turbo35 can make the cell discharge at 30A right?
I think the 30A is achieved by using a stable but extremely low resistance circuit to make lot's of heat.
They can be discharged at 30A. I'm not saying that you can't. Just that it will be very hard to draw all the charge out at 30A, because of the high load, the cell voltage will drop rapidly and the cutoff circuit will kick in to switch off the circuit.

Besides, the charger discharges current for the entire pack, even for the Pulsar. If you really want to condition and match your cells, you should get a tray, if you're using saddle packs, and discharge individual cells so that all of them are properly "matched" in discharge state.
alyee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TD: RC18mt RTR, LRP Comp Charger, (2)GP4200 Matched for Lipo Charger/Battery...LOOK!! smarking1212 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 10-08-2008 04:25 PM
FS: Duratrax ICE Charger, Great Planes Triton Charger, & MRC Power Supply wrxnfx R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 08-20-2008 11:33 AM
Mini-V, Lipo charger, Nimh/Nicd charger, Starter, AIRBOAT CustomTrendzInc R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 11-08-2007 03:08 PM
Duratrax IntelliPeak DC Only Mini Pulse Charger & Towerhobbies charger$25.00(Shipped) xsxracing R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 10-13-2007 03:51 PM
Integy 16x7v6 Charger (with 30 amp discharge), Tamiya F201, Astro Flight 109 Charger 403forbidden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-07-2005 08:08 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:09 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net