Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
HELP - HPI RS4 SPORT 3 DRIFT PROBLEMS >

HELP - HPI RS4 SPORT 3 DRIFT PROBLEMS

HELP - HPI RS4 SPORT 3 DRIFT PROBLEMS

Old 05-01-2018, 11:52 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Danielfoster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 1
Default HELP - HPI RS4 SPORT 3 DRIFT PROBLEMS

Hi all,

so so today I received my £500+ order from rc geeks and part of the order was a HPI RS4 Sport 3 drift RC Car I inboxed it and put the battery on charge immediately to give it a full charge before first use. I put it on and no sooner than 20 minutes after putting it on it was fully charged.

Hey ho I put the car all together and took it for itís first spin! LOVED IT.

however the car stopped all of a sudden made a quiet beep noise but he steering was still responding completely Fine. 10-15 second later after me walking over to the car it started working again I thought I dunno maybe the Ariel needs to be sticking out the top of the car, so I stuck the Ariel out the top and it happened again so far itís happened 3 times ? Can anyone help me please the car is off the rc geeks website and can be found easily

please help
Danielfoster is offline  
Old 05-01-2018, 12:44 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Mooreland, IN
Posts: 253
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

The ESC could be getting hot and going into Thermal protection. If it happens again, check to see if the ESC is very hot. If so, you may need to put a fan on it (if there isn't one already) or make sure you are getting adequate cooling to the ESC.
0010 is offline  
Old 05-01-2018, 12:57 PM
  #3  
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 9,668
Default

I think the battery needs some charge. The manual says 6 hours and you just did 20 minutes. A NiMh battery normally comes about half charged so I think the battery is not full. Beside thad, the battery needs some charge/discharge cycles before it will perform om max capacity.
Roelof is offline  
Old 05-01-2018, 01:12 PM
  #4  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Billy Kelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Far south suburbs of Chicago area
Posts: 14,539
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Check the esc settings. There usually is s lipo mode and a nimh mode. Hpi is notorious for including a nimh battery, but esc comes set in lipo mode. I’ve had it was 3 different Hpi vehicles over the years.
Billy Kelly is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.