Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tc3 A-arms have no provisions for droop screws >

Tc3 A-arms have no provisions for droop screws

Like Tree4Likes

Tc3 A-arms have no provisions for droop screws

Reply

Old 02-02-2018, 04:11 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St.louis mo
Posts: 431
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Tc3 A-arms have no provisions for droop screws

Got this car for cheap and has a few upgrades but when I replaced shocks
With some yeah racing 60mm shocks I noticed these aluminum arms have no droop screws..

The car handles ok other than tq steer

Without stoop adjustment Iím giving up some handling correct?

I got some tc4 carbon fiber f/r arms in my cart this should be enough or better
Than I got correct?
grabbem88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 04:20 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
 
Lone Drifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: SW Chicago Burbs
Posts: 1,064
Default

If I remember correctly the first Tc3 cars did not have droop screws or a nubbins on the chassis for a screw to meet. If you have no nubbins on the chassis you may have to ajustdroop with washers inside of the shock bodies OR....
Get a new chassis, Because finding a newer chassis and newer TC3 arms will be hard to find
Lone Drifter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 04:34 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St.louis mo
Posts: 431
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Ok cause I’m just going off the tc3 parts manual and it has droop screws

If I get a new chassis though what won’t interchange like a tc4 chassis?
grabbem88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 04:37 PM
  #4  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (148)
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,775
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

The original TC3 did not have provisions for droop screws in the suspension arms or on the chassis. Later editions did have droop screws in the arms and the chassis was revised as well to accommodate.

Sounds like you purchased after market aluminum arms and if they do not have the droop screws then you can only adjust droop my adding/removing shims from inside the shocks. It is a PITA to change droop as you must rebuild the shocks each time.
SteveM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 04:40 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St.louis mo
Posts: 431
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I do have a tc4 chassis to compare so I need to have nubbins huh ok
grabbem88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 04:43 PM
  #6  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (148)
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,775
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by grabbem88 View Post
I do have a tc4 chassis to compare so I need to have nubbins huh ok
Yes, the older TC3 tub chassis did not have the nubs for droop screws. It was revised and they were added. The arms were also revised to add the set screw for droop.
SteveM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 04:43 PM
  #7  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St.louis mo
Posts: 431
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

It came with these arms but I see now. Oh well the car handles decent but I might look into
A later tc3 chassis later
grabbem88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 04:44 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
 
Lone Drifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: SW Chicago Burbs
Posts: 1,064
Default

Originally Posted by grabbem88 View Post
Ok cause Iím just going off the tc3 parts manual and it has droop screws

If I get a new chassis though what wonít interchange like a tc4 chassis?
The Tc4 chassis has a different steering linkage, bottom motor mount Different coner braces if i remember. Hinge blocks are different too. At that point you might as well get a TC4
Lone Drifter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 04:47 PM
  #9  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (148)
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,775
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by grabbem88 View Post
It came with these arms but I see now. Oh well the car handles decent but I might look into
A later tc3 chassis later
To get the droop listed in the first manual without droop screws and nubs, you need to use 4 - #4187 shims on the front and rear shocks. This gets the settings right for racing.

SteveM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 05:33 PM
  #10  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St.louis mo
Posts: 431
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Is that 4 per shock? I hope these yeah racing shocks allow me to do that

I found a graphite tc3 chassis for $45 then add carbon arms I’ll have almost $90 in it
So yeah I’m not sure if this is worth it or not
grabbem88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 05:40 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
 
Lone Drifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: SW Chicago Burbs
Posts: 1,064
Default

Originally Posted by grabbem88 View Post
Is that 4 per shock? I hope these yeah racing shocks allow me to do that

I found a graphite tc3 chassis for $45 then add carbon arms I’ll have almost $90 in it
So yeah I’m not sure if this is worth it or not
I think I would agree its not worth it. I would just use the shock spacers
Lone Drifter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 05:45 PM
  #12  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St.louis mo
Posts: 431
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

So shimming shocks will give me same results?

Any pics of this?

Kinda curious where you put them?
grabbem88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 05:51 PM
  #13  
Tech Master
 
Lone Drifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: SW Chicago Burbs
Posts: 1,064
Default

Originally Posted by grabbem88 View Post
So shimming shocks will give me same results?

Any pics of this?

Kinda curious where you put them?
you would have to put the spacers inside the shock , on the shock shaft between the bottom the shock and piston. the bigger the spacer the Less droop you will have.
Lone Drifter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 05:57 PM
  #14  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (148)
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,775
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by grabbem88 View Post
So shimming shocks will give me same results?

Any pics of this?

Kinda curious where you put them?
When you build your shocks, and once you have the pistons on the shock shaft, you add shims underneath the piston before sliding it into the shock body.
SteveM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 06:22 PM
  #15  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St.louis mo
Posts: 431
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

So one per shock or 4?

I’m usually doing big truck builds but I like me some on road
Action too
So thanks for the help
grabbem88 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service