R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-03-2018, 05:57 PM   #31
Tech Champion
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,486
Trader Rating: 142 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grabbem88 View Post
Iíll look those up. And on the shocks since Iím using yeah racing 60mm does that matter or mean I might have to add more shims
If you have droop screws then no shims needed. Otherwise you will likely need shims.

For carpet racing, I use droop 6 front, 4 rear using the Associated droop gauge.
SteveM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 06:03 PM   #32
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St.louis mo
Posts: 244
Default



Looks like I got newer chassis



It runs decent though
__________________
Tc3 tc4 tc6 sprint2 custom flm rustler 2 pedes sc10 rc8.2 mt4-G3 8ight-T
3 custom crawlers and 2 losi lst's
grabbem88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 06:47 PM   #33
Tech Champion
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,486
Trader Rating: 142 (100%+)
Default

Yup....just need newer arms now.
SteveM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 07:06 PM   #34
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St.louis mo
Posts: 244
Default

I think prior owner bent a arm or two as well cause he was running a Tekin 2.5 in it and the car should settle better even without droop it’s kinda cockeyed the more I look at it
__________________
Tc3 tc4 tc6 sprint2 custom flm rustler 2 pedes sc10 rc8.2 mt4-G3 8ight-T
3 custom crawlers and 2 losi lst's
grabbem88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 07:38 PM   #35
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St.louis mo
Posts: 244
Default

I went to associated site and bought every FT stuff they had left plus arms and polished hinge pins. Stuff was cheap
__________________
Tc3 tc4 tc6 sprint2 custom flm rustler 2 pedes sc10 rc8.2 mt4-G3 8ight-T
3 custom crawlers and 2 losi lst's
grabbem88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 09:24 PM   #36
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 49
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveM View Post
The original TC3 did not have provisions for droop screws in the suspension arms or on the chassis. Later editions did have droop screws in the arms and the chassis was revised as well to accommodate.

Sounds like you purchased after market aluminum arms and if they do not have the droop screws then you can only adjust droop my adding/removing shims from inside the shocks. It is a PITA to change droop as you must rebuild the shocks each time.
Not entirely true . If you get it close with internals you can do your fine adjustments by unscrewing the shock ends to get your change . I very rarely vary from 1.5mm over ride height to 2.5 ovh on carpet and from 2.0 ovh to 3.0 ovh on asphalt. Set the fronts at 1.5 with internal shims then you can extend to 2.0 ovh with I think one turn out of shock end .
john holmes 69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 05:39 AM   #37
Tech Champion
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,486
Trader Rating: 142 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by john holmes 69 View Post
Not entirely true . If you get it close with internals you can do your fine adjustments by unscrewing the shock ends to get your change . I very rarely vary from 1.5mm over ride height to 2.5 ovh on carpet and from 2.0 ovh to 3.0 ovh on asphalt. Set the fronts at 1.5 with internal shims then you can extend to 2.0 ovh with I think one turn out of shock end .
The stock droop settings on the TC3 are 6 front / 4 rear using the droop gauge that they included in the kit. Less for asphalt racing.
SteveM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2018, 06:48 PM   #38
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St.louis mo
Posts: 244
Default

Ok got it all assembled “right” had to use some tc4 hub carriers since the tc3 were shot big time

So since I don’t have a droop gauge I just did it by making sure both wheels lift off the ground the same time.

I know that is probably wrong till I get a gauge
__________________
Tc3 tc4 tc6 sprint2 custom flm rustler 2 pedes sc10 rc8.2 mt4-G3 8ight-T
3 custom crawlers and 2 losi lst's
grabbem88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:39 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net