R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-02-2018, 07:26 PM   #16
Tech Fanatic
 
Lone Drifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: SW Chicago Burbs
Posts: 785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grabbem88 View Post
So one per shock or 4?

I知 usually doing big truck builds but I like me some on road
Action too
So thanks for the help
one spacer for each shock shaft
__________________
USVTA , USGT, Buggy and Wheeler Fan
TC7, TC6, T3 11 & 12, TLR 22 3.0 and 22-4
" Warning Too Many Shortcourse Trucks Cause Brain Damage"
Lone Drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 07:31 PM   #17
Tech Fanatic
 
Lone Drifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: SW Chicago Burbs
Posts: 785
Default

I remember my first TC3 didnt have droop screws , My 2nd one did.
__________________
USVTA , USGT, Buggy and Wheeler Fan
TC7, TC6, T3 11 & 12, TLR 22 3.0 and 22-4
" Warning Too Many Shortcourse Trucks Cause Brain Damage"
Lone Drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 07:37 PM   #18
Tech Master
 
IndyRC_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,822
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Speaking from racing experience...you can use TC3 a-arms with droop screws on an Associated TC3 chassis that doesn't have the "nubs" that were designed for the droop screws.

While this isn't an ideal solution, enough of the droop screw will contact the non-droop screw chassis to make the droop screws effective. If I get a chance to get my hands on my friend's shelf queen TC3, I will show that this will work.

If I still have my original TC3 Racer kit manual, I will post some pics of the shock instructions that show how to install internal droop limiters.

----------

While it is also possible to buy a TC3 chassis designed for droop screws online (ebay for example), often the people selling these chassis are selling them for too much money. I just searched ebay and there is a new in package chassis selling for $45.
__________________
I'm currently racing VTA. Check here for rules/info: http://www.usvintagetransam.com/

Last edited by IndyRC_Racer; 02-02-2018 at 07:51 PM.
IndyRC_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 07:45 PM   #19
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St.louis mo
Posts: 228
Default

Well I like to get the carbon arms and toss these gpm arm in the trash so that’s good to know
__________________
Tc3 tc4 tc6 sprint2 custom flm rustler 2 pedes sc10 rc8.2 mt4-G3 8ight-T
3 custom crawlers and 2 losi lst's
grabbem88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 07:48 PM   #20
Tech Champion
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,464
Trader Rating: 142 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grabbem88 View Post
So one per shock or 4?

I知 usually doing big truck builds but I like me some on road
Action too
So thanks for the help
4 spacers on each shaft.
SteveM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 07:50 PM   #21
Tech Champion
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,464
Trader Rating: 142 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyRC_Racer View Post
Speaking from racing experience...you can use TC3 a-arms with droop screws on an Associated TC3 chassis that doesn't have the "nubs" that were designed for the droop screws.

While this isn't an ideal solution, enough of the droop screw will contact the non-droop screw chassis to make the droop screws effective. If I get a chance to get my hands on my friend's shelf queen TC3, I will show that this will work.

----------

While it is also possible to buy a TC3 chassis designed for droop screws online (ebay for example), often the people selling these chassis are selling them for too much money. I just searched ebay and there is a new in package chassis selling for $45.
The TC3 is still popular today and parts are readily available, but some parts are over priced for sure.

I still run my TC3 (was a RTR kit) in the USGT class.
Attached Thumbnails
Tc3 A-arms have no provisions for droop screws-dsc09816.jpg  
THEBIGBULL and DarthBacon101 like this.
SteveM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 08:05 PM   #22
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St.louis mo
Posts: 228
Default

I got a crap load of o-rings of that type from all the yeah racing shock kits I bought so those should work as well? It would equal 4 of those spacers stacked
__________________
Tc3 tc4 tc6 sprint2 custom flm rustler 2 pedes sc10 rc8.2 mt4-G3 8ight-T
3 custom crawlers and 2 losi lst's
grabbem88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 08:08 PM   #23
Tech Champion
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,464
Trader Rating: 142 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grabbem88 View Post
I got a crap load of o-rings of that type from all the yeah racing shock kits I bought so those should work as well? It would equal 4 of those spacers stacked
The spacers are thin which is why Associated advised to insert 4 on each shock shaft to set the droop, but you can use whatever you have.
SteveM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 08:13 PM   #24
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St.louis mo
Posts: 228
Default

I didn’t know if it mattered but I knew I had those the 4187 I used up to get these arms from flopping around so yeah got hit with a catch 22. Unless I change arms out
__________________
Tc3 tc4 tc6 sprint2 custom flm rustler 2 pedes sc10 rc8.2 mt4-G3 8ight-T
3 custom crawlers and 2 losi lst's
grabbem88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 09:22 PM   #25
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St.louis mo
Posts: 228
Default

Since we talking about this car
Set-up

Tekin rsx Tekin 6.5 gen3 10* on motor 25* on rsx
Geared 72/29
Ft axles lightened steel outdrives f/r
Foam tires carbon wheels

Motor temps are below 130* no fan

Should I take timing to 0* on motor and control it only by rsx or is this ok?

What’s the right way really?
Thanks
__________________
Tc3 tc4 tc6 sprint2 custom flm rustler 2 pedes sc10 rc8.2 mt4-G3 8ight-T
3 custom crawlers and 2 losi lst's
grabbem88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 04:55 PM   #26
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St.louis mo
Posts: 228
Default

I’m glad I did some research cause I thought the tc4 arms would fit

So how durable are plastic tc3 arms?
__________________
Tc3 tc4 tc6 sprint2 custom flm rustler 2 pedes sc10 rc8.2 mt4-G3 8ight-T
3 custom crawlers and 2 losi lst's
grabbem88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 05:07 PM   #27
Tech Master
 
gigaplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 1,732
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grabbem88 View Post
I知 glad I did some research cause I thought the tc4 arms would fit

So how durable are plastic tc3 arms?
I haven't driven a modern car to compare, but I've only broken one in the many years I've been using them, when I ran into a concrete wall.
gigaplex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 05:30 PM   #28
Tech Champion
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,464
Trader Rating: 142 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grabbem88 View Post
I知 glad I did some research cause I thought the tc4 arms would fit

So how durable are plastic tc3 arms?
The TC3 is just as durable as anything out there as long as you stay away from the boards. One of the first upgrades I recommend is the RPM wide front bumper. This installs easily and looks factory and almost eliminates front arm breakage. The downside is that they are hard to find now and I don't believe RPM make them anymore.

Black - RPM80292
Blue - RPM80295
THEBIGBULL likes this.
SteveM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 05:38 PM   #29
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St.louis mo
Posts: 228
Default

I’ll look those up. And on the shocks since I’m using yeah racing 60mm does that matter or mean I might have to add more shims
__________________
Tc3 tc4 tc6 sprint2 custom flm rustler 2 pedes sc10 rc8.2 mt4-G3 8ight-T
3 custom crawlers and 2 losi lst's
grabbem88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 05:52 PM   #30
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St.louis mo
Posts: 228
Default



This is what I did to bumper now
DarthBacon101 likes this.
__________________
Tc3 tc4 tc6 sprint2 custom flm rustler 2 pedes sc10 rc8.2 mt4-G3 8ight-T
3 custom crawlers and 2 losi lst's
grabbem88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:56 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net