R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-06-2006, 10:49 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
vabroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: dark side of the moon
Posts: 936
Default Integy lathe motors

Integy has 4 different lathe motors - 35t, 45t, 55t and 65t. What is the difference between them and which ones can be with 12v source? Of course, it would help if Integy had them in stock!
__________________
RC racing is still trying to prove that two solid objects can be in the same place, at the same time.
vabroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 11:16 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 224
Default

I know the tractor puller motor from LRP is 55T and works @12V at a suitable speed for a lathe.
__________________
Kyosho Evolva M3 / Kyosho Lazer ZX-5 SP / Xray T3
aantonis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 11:33 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You can always just use any old motor, and power it with a four cell pack or your charger if it has a motor run function.
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 12:22 AM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Drewdc90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by XrayFK
You can always just use any old motor, and power it with a four cell pack or your charger if it has a motor run function.
Or you can make a variable voltage controller that will allow you to run a Johnson or Mabauchi motor off 12volts supply and dial the voltage between 2.5v to 12v. Also comes in handy if you want to have differant temp for your tyre warmers
__________________
-Xray--Nosram--Orion--Trak Power--Duratrax--Spektrum--Futaba-

Sunshine Coast QLD AUSTRALIA

"If you stand still long enough you'll go backwards"
Drewdc90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 12:30 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewdc90
Or you can make a variable voltage controller that will allow you to run a Johnson or Mabauchi motor off 12volts supply and dial the voltage between 2.5v to 12v. Also comes in handy if you want to have differant temp for your tyre warmers
Most people don't want to spend time fiddling around with electronic components. Although, it wouldn't be that expensive or hard to make. Just find a suitable potentiometer.
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 01:59 AM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 224
Default

Or you can get yourself a ready made.... I use this one from MRT. A bit pricy, but you only get what you pay for.

http://eshop.rcring.com/index.asp?ca...uct&prodid=210


I have seen lots of home made construction creating double the damage of this little thingy....
__________________
Kyosho Evolva M3 / Kyosho Lazer ZX-5 SP / Xray T3
aantonis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 09:23 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
vabroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: dark side of the moon
Posts: 936
Default

thanks guys for the info. i'll try the 55t for now. if that doesn't work, i'll look into getting a new charger/controller.
__________________
RC racing is still trying to prove that two solid objects can be in the same place, at the same time.
vabroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 09:44 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
BeetleBailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Harrah Oklahoma
Posts: 343
Default

I just use an old stock motor. I use the motor run feature on my dyno to run it. It works great.
BeetleBailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 09:46 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vabroom
thanks guys for the info. i'll try the 55t for now. if that doesn't work, i'll look into getting a new charger/controller.
You will do fine with the 55T....
That is what I have on my Hudy but mine was made by Scott at Banzai Motorsport. Plug it right into the power supply and the perfect RPM for cutting it there.
Hope that helps,
-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 10:31 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
vabroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: dark side of the moon
Posts: 936
Default

thank you, Mr. shookie. I rather spend the money on the motor and for tires/tracktime than on another piece of equipment.
__________________
RC racing is still trying to prove that two solid objects can be in the same place, at the same time.
vabroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 12:23 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: houston, tx
Posts: 612
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

How many amps is that 55t motor pulling anyways ?
stumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 12:44 PM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
James35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 750
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Could the 55T be used inside a 12th scale 4 cell car? I don't see why not. I would like it for slower practicing.
James35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 01:22 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pa
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rcguy2477
Default

technically yes, but it would be a lot slower than you would think. Just imagine, a stock motor used for a lathe is usually run at 3-4v. To achieve the same rpm with a 55t motor, 12 is needed, approximately triple the voltage.
__________________
1989 Mazda Rx7
greddy t04b, megasquirt ecu, PlX wideband, 12x28x3 fmic, 50mm hks clone wg, ssqv bov, Safc, ss oil lines, walbro fuel pump, tubo intake manifolds, ssac exhaust manifold, 3" dp, 550cc primary/720cc secondary injectors, etc.
rcguy2477 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 01:58 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stumper
How many amps is that 55t motor pulling anyways ?
Good question. For my lather motor, I tried using a Monster Stock that I had lying around. I powered it with my ICE charger in motor break-in mode. If I tried to make more than just the most microscopic cut, the motor would draw more than 10A and the ICE would shut down.

I'd love to have a motor that would spin reasonably fast even under a bit of load and not draw more than about 8A.

Ira
iblumberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 07:25 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pa
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rcguy2477
Default

If you would like to decrease the amp draw of the motor, shave the sides of the brushes making them more narrow. My stock motor now pulls 5 amps at the most using specially cut brushes.
__________________
1989 Mazda Rx7
greddy t04b, megasquirt ecu, PlX wideband, 12x28x3 fmic, 50mm hks clone wg, ssqv bov, Safc, ss oil lines, walbro fuel pump, tubo intake manifolds, ssac exhaust manifold, 3" dp, 550cc primary/720cc secondary injectors, etc.
rcguy2477 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Integy Auto Lathe, new 19t motors CCristo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 02-18-2008 03:41 PM
Integy / Eagle Racing MOD Lathe, No Limit ESCs, Motors for sale Cain R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 08-13-2007 10:24 AM
Integy 55T lathe motors ManicRC R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 03-23-2007 03:53 PM
integy 55t lathe motors GReddy Electric On-Road 2 03-04-2005 06:35 PM
Integy Lathe/ Cyclone2/ 4 mod motors with extras midnight oil R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 10-19-2003 10:04 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:01 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net