R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-03-2006, 09:08 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
miniczar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 164
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Personal Transponder and Carbon Fiber

I recently got an amb personal transponder. I have a F201 car with a MLP chassy on it. I put the transponder on the carbon fiber and it would not read. So I put it on the side of the servo (so it is now verticle, not horizontal) and it would now work. But in the race there were quite a few laps that it would not read. Do I need to put it horizontal for it to work better? Is there something I could put under the transponder so I can attach it to the carbon fiber? Any help is much appreciated!
miniczar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 09:14 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,824
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

We actually cut a square out of the foam in the bumper, and installed it there. Even in the worst impacts, it never got damaged, and I don't remember it ever not reading a lap.
R40Victim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 09:47 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Pat Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Easton, Pa
Posts: 303
Default

I mount mine on the side of the servo on my fk05 and never missed a lap...
__________________
Associated, Reedy, Tekin, Tq Wire, Protoform, Veytrec Design Lab
Pat Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 10:14 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
GrandeGixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Waldorf, MD
Posts: 2,929
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

On my 1/12th I mount it where most do, on top of the servo. This means that the signal has to go through the noisy(electronically) servo as well as the Graphite chassis. I have never had a problem with it not counting.
__________________
Joe Cude
Mugen MBX-7R Mugen MTX-6R Mugen MTC-1 Mugen MRX-6 Mugen MST-1 Tamiya Euro Truck
GrandeGixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 10:27 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I have mine installed just with industrial velcro and have not had any issues with any of mine not working right.
__________________
JRXS Type R, I have four of them!! ;) ( Yes, I still have them!!)And racing one of them again!!
22 3.0SR
22T 2.0 w/ Exotech chassis
Yeti35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 06:05 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
Dongskie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,739
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Check with your amb system if the decoder sends strong signal hits. It may be a cause of loose wiring and connection. It may not be from your PT.
__________________
Bajer 1/5th
Dongskie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 07:04 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,570
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to teammidget lilB
Default

i have had my transponder for 2 years alway have been mounted on carbon fiber its never missed a lap
__________________
Bryan "Lil B" Ford

U.S. Army @ Camp Humphreys, South Korea
teammidget lilB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 08:57 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

Most likely it's not the carbon fiber or the servo that is causing you to miss laps. It sounds like it's an electrical issue meaning that your electronics on your car are hogging all the power and not giving the AMB transponder enough juice to do it's job.

With today's power soaking digital servo's and the Spektrum unit's, some ESC's may struggle to keep up on diverting optium power to all accessories. If the AMB is not getting enough power, your laps will not register. Try running a cap on your ESC or receiver and this should clear up the problem. The cap will act as a power storgae devise allowing any accessory that needs additional power to get it.

On another note, the AMB will work just fine mounted in a servo and even directly on carbon fiber. Just make sure that the entire underside of the transponder is fully covered by double sided tape so no part of the unit is touching the servo or transponder itself.
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 09:13 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Auburn, Wa
Posts: 2,265
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

mini it is not your personal it was the pin connection at the back of the AMB box.
For those having count issues with the AMBrc system the fix as suggested by Doug at scoring pro was to pul the wire at the exit of the box 180d to the connection and then duct tape it to the decoder. Worked like a charm.
I was having the same issues with house or PT's.
__________________
UF1 Seattle - SPEEDWERKES - VBC Racing - Team ORCA
Difuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 09:45 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
RC Scoring Pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Elm Grove, WI (Milwaukee area) USA
Posts: 2,010
Default

Transponders should not be mounted vertically, the signal goes out the top and the bottom of the transponder.
__________________
RCScoringPro.com

Official software of: ROAR Nationals, IIC, Cactus Classic, Indoor Champs, Reedy Race and Trackside Hobbies in Brookfield, WI!
RC Scoring Pro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 01:35 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

I have mine directly (double-sided taped) onto CF chassis... with no issues

Could be power issues.... I have seen this before on a friends car. Check if the orange light on the transponder is on, now check it under full throttle and full brake..... the orange light should stay on and at full brightness, there should be no change to the light when you accelerate or brake.... if the light does dim or flicker, then this is why your're missing laps.

Check your connections, and/or
if you have a spare reciver, repalce it.

hope this helps.......
__________________
Yokomo * G Force * Sanwa * SMC * ProSpec
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
where can i buy carbon fiber xrayflorida R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 06-05-2008 12:04 PM
T-REX 450 SE V2 Carbon Fiber scoobydew R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 11-18-2007 01:45 PM
Carbon Fiber HK Racing Joe Electric On-Road 7 01-24-2006 03:33 PM
Carbon Fiber Tc3 ALBERTO R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 36 10-13-2004 05:05 PM
carbon fiber? cencalballer Electric On-Road 10 03-20-2004 12:45 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:10 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net