R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-03-2006, 09:28 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MN
Posts: 1,090
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Lightbulb spektrum shutdown

hi im posting this becaus for about the past month that i have had this system in my 1/12 scale it would shut down in the midle of the race. i tryed every thing from the cap, to horizon's idea of stacking a 1/4" of tape under it to get it off the carpet. not if i didnt tap a board i had no problem. but how offen do you make a whole race with out doing that!!! so i decide i would take the reciever apart. i grap my tube of silacone and packed it in between the two boards and all over the instide of the case. and this has seemed to fix the "static shut down" issue ive been having! just an idea for you if you have this same problem!!!!!!
__________________
TEAM GENESIS R/C, Roche P12 2017, Roche F-1, PAINT BY MIKEY
onroad dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 09:48 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,824
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Wow, I've slammed my 8th scale into the wall @ 50+ mph a few times, and it never shut down on me... I must be purty lucky considering how many people seem to have issues with them on this board. Is it one of the 1st few batches? I ask because it seems the updated versions are fine...
R40Victim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 09:54 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Frank McKinney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: A Yank in England
Posts: 755
Default

I've heard about the problems with 1/12th racers on carpet...but is the problem shaking of the circuitry (and connections) or static flowing through the graphite and circuitry? Does the silicone isolate the circuitry, is that what's solving the problem?
__________________
Minimal signature to save screen space! Big sigs suX0r
Frank McKinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 10:00 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
johnnywhopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Rome, NY
Posts: 371
Default

the problem we've had is static touching the antenna wire. if your car flips over or if a turn marshall touches the antenna, it shuts off.

very easy cure we're all doing - wrap the wire tight at the base of the antenna mast and secure it with tape or an o-ring below the body. you should not be able to see the antenna wire with the body on the car. there has been no issue at all with loss of range doing this and everyone here at our track who has done this has had not a single issue with "static shut off" anymore.
__________________
Team CRC, Spektrum, Hobbywing, JDJ Vinyl Graphics, Moby Graphix, Black Art, Power Push
johnnywhopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 10:11 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MN
Posts: 1,090
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

i tryed wrapping the ant at the bottom of the mast! that did not do it! horizon told me that is was the static on the board from it being so close to the ground that was doing it. and its just that ever so lite bump that puts it over the edge!
__________________
TEAM GENESIS R/C, Roche P12 2017, Roche F-1, PAINT BY MIKEY
onroad dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 10:12 AM   #6
Tech Apprentice
 
BugFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bergen - Norway
Posts: 83
Default

I've had the same problem with my system.. Had it sent in for service..

@johnnywhopper: Can you post a pic? I'm not shure I understand...
__________________
Svein E. Pedersen
- tamiya4ever -
BugFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 10:14 AM   #7
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnywhopper
the problem we've had is static touching the antenna wire. if your car flips over or if a turn marshall touches the antenna, it shuts off.

very easy cure we're all doing - wrap the wire tight at the base of the antenna mast and secure it with tape or an o-ring below the body. you should not be able to see the antenna wire with the body on the car. there has been no issue at all with loss of range doing this and everyone here at our track who has done this has had not a single issue with "static shut off" anymore.
I cut mine down to 3.6 and then wrapped it around the base of the antenna and shrink wrapped it when I first mounted it. I've never had a problem. You may be on to something there.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 10:18 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
bigragu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: BROOKLYN
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by R40Victim
Wow, I've slammed my 8th scale into the wall @ 50+ mph a few times, and it never shut down on me... I must be purty lucky considering how many people seem to have issues with them on this board. Is it one of the 1st few batches? I ask because it seems the updated versions are fine...
you gas guys run a spreate reciver pack thats y u never here about the shut down on gas cars..

my 12th scale did the same thing i built a reciver pack after trying everything
they recomended and low and behold shut down problems dissapared i think it has more to do with voltage drop then any other problem when u are dealing with 4 cell cars.....
bigragu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 10:21 AM   #9
Tech Regular
 
bigragu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: BROOKLYN
Posts: 302
Default

so here is another thought if it is triggering the failsafe in the system (static,crashes,voltage ext ) is there a way to shut failsafe off in the system but like i said i had no problems with shutdown after putting in a reciver pack...
bigragu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 10:34 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MN
Posts: 1,090
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

i also tryed the recevier pack and still had the same problems. there was another guy in a sedan where i race that was having my same issue! i can see where voltage would do it but after only a min of running i dont think it was that!
__________________
TEAM GENESIS R/C, Roche P12 2017, Roche F-1, PAINT BY MIKEY
onroad dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 10:46 AM   #11
Tech Regular
 
bigragu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: BROOKLYN
Posts: 302
Default

so have u run the car after silcone evrything
bigragu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 10:49 AM   #12
Tech Champion
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,824
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Ah I see, I thought it was the impact that killed it. I also run a pro-4, with the DX3, but that's on asphalt, no carpet worries there(although I wish there were, I'd love to race on that level of traction!...sadly, there are no carpet tracks within reasonable driving distance) Good luck with your car man, hope you get it sorted, I know how much technical difficulties can be a buzzkill on raceday...
R40Victim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 11:51 AM   #13
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lake Elsinore, ca
Posts: 873
Default

I read it can be cut to 3.6 but is that from the case or do i need to open it up. I dont know what is inside the case or if it even matters.
__________________
FT B44 - FT J82
LRP TC SPHERE - Futaba Fasst
Orion Lipo & Vortex motors
" Go that way really fast, if something gets in your way, turn"
tcmerf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 12:28 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
Nickmind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 388
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Nickmind
Talking

Please tell me if i am wrong, but in reading this out of the Spektrum manual.

"In most cases the antenna can be mounted inside the body with no loss of range"


Are they saying inside the RC model's body? and if so, you are telling me that if you put the antenna through the top of the receiver, that static is turn off the system? That does not sound right. I bet it would be drops in voltage.

I have never raced on carpet. There must be a lot of static then. And if that is the case, put a antistatic bag around the receiver or insulate the inside of the receiver with an antistatic bag? See if that works.
__________________
Nickmind - 2 x savages, hyper 7, Revo 2.5, TC4, T4, 3 x 18T, CRT x1, Tmaxx, 8ight & 8ight-T 2.0 - all ran from a 3PK and spektrum.
Nickmind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 12:35 PM   #15
imr
Tech Adept
 
imr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ypres, Belgium
Posts: 108
Default

I drive on carpet, rubber tires.
My spektrum antenna is inside the body, dosn't stick out.
No problems at all at this moment with my spektrum, love it!
imr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what is thermal shutdown??????????????? playboy Electric Off-Road 13 12-16-2007 11:03 PM
Did You Guys Know that PIR Might be Moving (or shutdown)? 403forbidden Northwest Racers 9 05-06-2006 03:49 PM
Novak 5800 thermal shutdown Davidka Electric Off-Road 10 08-19-2005 11:54 AM
ESC shutdown Experience Oasis2001 Electric On-Road 28 06-13-2003 03:33 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:53 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net