R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-03-2006, 01:00 PM   #16
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MN
Posts: 1,090
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

all i know is that when i called herizon they told me it was static that was shutting it down. i did everything they told me to. and still nothing helped. so i tryed my own and packed it full! and have had no problem scense doing it! they say that the static off the carpet causes the receiver to reboot. and in oder for it to turn back on you need to shut the car totaly off and back on! im just sain what they told me and what i did to fix it!
__________________
TEAM GENESIS R/C, Roche P12 2017, Roche F-1, PAINT BY MIKEY
onroad dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 01:37 PM   #17
Tech Regular
 
stuey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 393
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hey guys ive got the same problem with the poxy spektrum starting to get the hump with it now does any body know if spektrum have sorted the problems out with THEIR product yet. why should we have to do all this messing about, can any body from spektrumn let us all know what is going on.
stuey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 03:53 PM   #18
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 36
Default

I've been running spektrum in my 1/12th for a while now, about 15 meetings, had some big crashes but it's never shutdown on me.
rbecking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 06:28 PM   #19
Tech Elite
 
GrandeGixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Waldorf, MD
Posts: 2,923
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Thats why when the winter cam, I left the Spectrum in the gas car and just kept the Airtronics FM reciever in my carpet car. Less headaches. There is enough to worry about on race days to have to worry about this crap.
__________________
Joe Cude
Mugen MBX-7R Mugen MTX-6R Mugen MTC-1 Mugen MRX-6 Mugen MST-1 Tamiya Euro Truck
GrandeGixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 07:10 PM   #20
Tech Fanatic
 
kidDynomite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 928
Default

Strange. I thought ozite was a static free carpet. That's why they use it in computer labs, etc. At the track I run at, even the pit area is covered in ozite, and I don't think I've ever experienced any shock from grabbing tools or things of metal.
kidDynomite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 08:01 PM   #21
Tech Regular
 
bigragu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: BROOKLYN
Posts: 302
Default

u know what ....when its shutting down no matter what the reason its really fustrating ........sometimes its a hard hit sometimes its a light tap..i fixed the problem for now but ill tell you i was that close to putting my 27 band moduale and reciver back in my 12th..
bigragu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 02:09 PM   #22
Tech Regular
 
stuey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 393
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i will be running a diffrent reciever tomos which i borrowed of a mate its about 2 months newer than mine hope fully spektrum have pulled their thum out of theire a##e and sorted it. its nice to know spektrum are keeping us all informed.

very unhappy brit
stuey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 07:43 PM   #23
Tech Apprentice
 
TheRo0sTer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rapid City SD 57703
Posts: 97
Send a message via AIM to TheRo0sTer
Default

I've been having simular problems with my receiver. Thing is I've moved it to the top of my servo in my Sedan and I have the problem less but still have it. Only time it happens is when I cut the corner a little tight and the chassis touches the steel dishes.

So what is the supposed fix for this static shut down? I'll be damned if I'm going to go back to my stock receiver and module because they didn't protect their circuit board.
TheRo0sTer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 07:43 PM   #24
Tech Adept
 
G Ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 211
Send a message via AIM to G Ace Send a message via Yahoo to G Ace
Default

.

Last edited by G Ace; 02-05-2006 at 12:58 PM.
G Ace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 07:45 PM   #25
Tech Apprentice
 
TheRo0sTer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rapid City SD 57703
Posts: 97
Send a message via AIM to TheRo0sTer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by onroad dude
all i know is that when i called herizon they told me it was static that was shutting it down. i did everything they told me to. and still nothing helped. so i tryed my own and packed it full! and have had no problem scense doing it!
What did you pack it with? I'd like to solve the problem soon!
TheRo0sTer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 07:59 PM   #26
Tech Adept
 
G Ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 211
Send a message via AIM to G Ace Send a message via Yahoo to G Ace
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BugFreak
I've had the same problem with my system.. Had it sent in for service..

@johnnywhopper: Can you post a pic? I'm not shure I understand...
Below are a couple of pics of the fix Johnny is describing. In my 12th scale car I used a piece silicone fuel tubing at the top and bottom to secure the antenna wire. In my sedan I used a piece of fuel tubing at the bottom and an antenna cap at the top.

I was running my antenna wire all the way up the rollover mast, and a few weeks ago my car shut off after I hit a dot and the antenna/mast rubbed on the carpet. I wound the wire around the base of the mast, and I have not had a problem since.

If your ride-height is too low and your chassis is rubbing the carpet a lot the static generated will cause the receiver to shut off, even if you wrap the antenna around the base of the antenna. I had that happen to me once also.
Attached Thumbnails
spektrum shutdown-12th-dsm-fix.jpg   spektrum shutdown-tc-dsm-fix.jpg  
G Ace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 11:51 AM   #27
Tech Regular
 
stuey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 393
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hey

ive bee running my mates 2.4 reciver today it has give me no problem at all i'm going to re try mine again instaled in the car the same way if this gives me trouble it will be going back to spektrum with a swift right boot. we shall see what happends.
stuey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 08:47 AM   #28
Tech Apprentice
 
TheRo0sTer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rapid City SD 57703
Posts: 97
Send a message via AIM to TheRo0sTer
Default

Any word on what you filled your receiver with?
TheRo0sTer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 12:45 PM   #29
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MN
Posts: 1,090
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

all i did was went and got a small tube of clear SILICONE SEALANT. i packed it in between the two board and all over the inside of the case. i left the servo wires hooked up and pulled them out after the silicone was dry.
__________________
TEAM GENESIS R/C, Roche P12 2017, Roche F-1, PAINT BY MIKEY
onroad dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 01:42 PM   #30
Tech Apprentice
 
TheRo0sTer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rapid City SD 57703
Posts: 97
Send a message via AIM to TheRo0sTer
Default

Did this solve your problem? Basically just filled the 2 halves and put it back together? I want to make sure I don't fudge something up. $60+ for a new receiver isn't chump change.
TheRo0sTer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what is thermal shutdown??????????????? playboy Electric Off-Road 13 12-16-2007 11:03 PM
Did You Guys Know that PIR Might be Moving (or shutdown)? 403forbidden Northwest Racers 9 05-06-2006 03:49 PM
Novak 5800 thermal shutdown Davidka Electric Off-Road 10 08-19-2005 11:54 AM
ESC shutdown Experience Oasis2001 Electric On-Road 28 06-13-2003 03:33 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:05 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net