R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-01-2006, 11:55 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,721
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default Has my 3PK gone bad?

I have a 3PK that is getting quite old now, its about 3-4years old, I also bought it 2nd hand.

What are the chances of it not working properly, so that it gives me alot of understeer. I have had three different TC's over 1 1/2 yearsand have had the same issue with them, but its only now that I am suspecting my radio of being the problem as it has been the common denominator all this time.

I tried alot of setups with not much success and with my cyclone I even got help from Diasuke Yoshioka when he was in Australia, without any success.

Could it be the radio? Any one else had this problem?

Your help is appreciatted.
dontfeelcold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 12:40 AM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Lost in CA
Posts: 464
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to 5thscaleracer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dontfeelcold
I have a 3PK that is getting quite old now, its about 3-4years old, I also bought it 2nd hand.

What are the chances of it not working properly, so that it gives me alot of understeer. I have had three different TC's over 1 1/2 yearsand have had the same issue with them, but its only now that I am suspecting my radio of being the problem as it has been the common denominator all this time.

I tried alot of setups with not much success and with my cyclone I even got help from Diasuke Yoshioka when he was in Australia, without any success.

Could it be the radio? Any one else had this problem?

Your help is appreciatted.

you can calibrate the radio your self make sure it centers so that your able to center the servo properly. refer to the instructions there is a feature that allows you to calibrate throttle and the steering.
5thscaleracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 12:54 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,721
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I just did that and I got:

Neutral: 3%
Right: 111%
Left: 110%

I am also going to try another radio this weekend to see what happens.
dontfeelcold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 01:27 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: the beach australia
Posts: 707
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

have you tried changing receiver's ? or servo? or both?
flysti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 01:33 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

so the servos move when you turn it? how can it be a problem with transmitter?

if you understeer.

try 1.faster digital servos
2. EXP 100%
3. HRS reciever.

then of course car setup helps a bit
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 01:38 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
burbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to burbs Send a message via Yahoo to burbs
Default

It is the radio... I can think of at least 4 guys i race with who have had this same issue.. basically you can send it in to get looked at or do what they did.. they changed to a new UnUsed model on the radio and started all the settings over.. i seen 2 that had to go to a third channel.. it should work till you run out of channels LOL..

the guys ive seen this happen to either lost all or some right or left hand steering..
burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 01:58 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,721
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I run, and have always run HRS receivers, and I have tried new ones. I use futaba S9550 and Sanwa ERG-WRX servos and I have tried new ones.

I just remembered something that happened a couple of years ago that made me think of it being the radio as a possible problem. At this particular track about 2 months before a major annual meeting tookplace, I went there for a race meet. I used a KO EX-5 and the car had heaps of steering. When I went back to this track I used my 3PK and with the same setup had understeer. The track conditiond were the same etc etc but I couldn't get it to get the same amount of steering that I had before.

Now since running mod I have always had alot of understeer. I had 2 Pro4's and I had bizzare tweak issues that no one had ever seen before, and no one who looked at it could pick any problems with it. It would accelerate dead straight but would massively understeer to the right and massively oversteer to the left. You had to drive the car to understand how bad it was. I tried an FK05 and I had alot of understeer, and now I have a cyclone with alot of understeer and teh only thing that has remained the same has been the radio.

I will find out this weekend if its the radio, if it is, there will be a 3PK getting the bin job.
dontfeelcold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 08:07 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
MR JOLLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell
Posts: 4,762
Default

feelcold
how many hours has the 3pk clocked up on screen ???
__________________
EAMotorsports;;BRCA 27t National 2007 Champ's
FKO4,AdyB fan club !!
saying of the month;;The Past is History, the Future is a Mystery, this Moment is a Gift- that's why it's called The Present.
MR JOLLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 10:00 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

I really don't believe is the RADIO.......however, there are 2 things you have to check...

(1) new Module, my old one does have a problem, does not work when I am more then 10 feet away, replaced with a new one, problem solved.

(2) New servo....you are UNDERSTEER, despite the setup of your car, if your servo moving slow....either the receiver PACK is running low, or your servo is OLD....time for a new one...

Radio is simply WORK or NOT WORK....rarely kinda work and not sure it work completely....
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 10:24 AM   #10
Tech Addict
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 667
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Have you done a reset of the model memory, or just use one of the other 8 but reset it first, might be a good test to setup from a blank model memory
corwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 11:39 AM   #11
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 39
Default

hi, not to thread jack, but i have a 3pk problem. my power switch does not work, i have to unplug my battery. i tried to take it apart and got the grip, and ALL visible screws off but it still did not seperate to let me get to the switch. are there any hidden clips? or do i have to take off another part too?

b
bdrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 03:18 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

take it to obedience school
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 03:30 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
terryh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 343
Default

Never had a problem like that, could be worth contacting the distributor, they might be able to offer some advise, or fix the problem. The only problem I have ever had is with the HRS receiver glitching, but I think thats most likely a dodgy receiver. Good luck with it
terryh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 03:42 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 380
Default

I don't know if this applies here, I had a 9 channel ZAP and that had a problem with a wire on a stick pot. When in use, due to using PCM, it looked like a lock out and thus model problem. In the end this was traced to the wire ... just worth a check.
Andyg01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:17 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net