Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Hudy Setup Station - Anyone use the Off-road one for Off and On-Road? >

Hudy Setup Station - Anyone use the Off-road one for Off and On-Road?

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By 1/4milecrazy
  • 1 Post By 190mph

Hudy Setup Station - Anyone use the Off-road one for Off and On-Road?

Reply

Old 10-15-2017, 10:53 AM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,068
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default Hudy Setup Station - Anyone use the Off-road one for Off and On-Road?

Does anyone use the HUDY Off-road Setup Station #108905 for touring cars? I race both 1/10 off-road and on-road and currently have HUDY Acrylic original release set from like 2002 era for the touring car and I did buy the Top Plate for toe for the off-road but it was sitting a little tight around the shock towers on the off-road cars.


I want to sell the Acrylic ones and upgrade to the latest aluminum ones. Would like to avoid buying both types and get the off-road with an on-road top toe plate purchase. It's the $100 question I guess you can say.


Here is the pictures with Off-road model first which is obviously taller and has caster marking to 20 deg instead of 10 deg and some axle hole related differences to accommodate cross drive pin older cars and some claim on a 4.7mm diameter axle but I see metric cars have 4mm thread axles on the off-road cars. Not sure about a ride height issue when putting the touring car on the off-road setup station, I never see anyone check ride height from the stations.


I would not expect to buy only the On-road setup station and go the reverse due to the height related.


1/10 Off-road Hudy Station # 108905



1/10 On-road Hudy Station # 109305
190mph is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 07:59 AM
  #2  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (31)
 
ZEe_NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 597
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

I asked this question along severest threads and got no responses.


This weekend I asked one of the fast drivers at my indoor track the same question and he said it’s almost identical. I don’t know about the older model off-road setup station, but I bought mine last year (the 1/10 off-road hudy setup station) and I’m going to try and set up my TC tonight with it.
ZEe_NYC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 09:51 AM
  #3  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,068
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Well your should be pictured like the first one above.

Please let me know what you see if any issues. I have no issue buying the on-road top plate, just concerned with the axle/spindle hole if there is any slop. But my Associated buggies have 4mm thread the same as touring so you would think everything is going to work.
190mph is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 12:02 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (20)
 
GrandeGixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Waldorf, MD
Posts: 3,208
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

1 degree should be the same, no matter how high the hole is on the upright. I have the Hudy offroad one but the Arrowmax on road one since I couldn't get an answer either. I have not tried them on the opposite car.
GrandeGixxer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 03:07 PM
  #5  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 185
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I do, I use my 1/10 buggy on my tc car using the 1/12 scale top plate.
I used it this way for 5 years now.
Its all hudy.

Last edited by eazy70; 10-19-2017 at 12:10 PM.
eazy70 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 03:52 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
1/4milecrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: AE for LIFE!!!
Posts: 1,161
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Buy the on road one for on road and dont bother for off road. You odont need to be that precise. When your car has 7 degrees of slop in the front end what is one degree of camber or toe gonna do for you?
8T likes this.
1/4milecrazy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 06:02 PM
  #7  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (31)
 
ZEe_NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 597
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Ok. So I just mounted my TC to my 1/10 off road station and I could only get the camber done. The top plate is too wide to get measurements for the narrow TC track width.

I wonder if the onroad top plate would fit the off-road plates. Probably.


Either way... it’s nice to be able to check the camber (super important) on the TC. Mine was off by a lot of degrees.
ZEe_NYC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 06:22 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,068
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ZEe_NYC View Post
Ok. So I just mounted my TC to my 1/10 off road station and I could only get the camber done. The top plate is too wide to get measurements for the narrow TC track width.

I wonder if the onroad top plate would fit the off-road plates. Probably.


Either way... itís nice to be able to check the camber (super important) on the TC. Mine was off by a lot of degrees.
Did your TC axles fit good as in not too loose on the plates with the slots? I think there is pretty fair clearance and I am wondering if it is too much?


You will be able to buy the Top Toe plate for TC for the $40 and you should be all set if you feel the Off-road aluminum vertical plates are fine on the TC.
ZEe_NYC likes this.
190mph is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service