Community
Wiki Posts
Search
Like Tree18Likes

Essential a total newbie, looking for suggestions on a upgradable e buggy

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2024, 03:14 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Essential a total newbie, looking for suggestions on a upgradable e buggy

My only experience was owning a mp7.5 kanai for a few years but I bought someone's entire hobby. Spare motors, tires, servos controllers, you name it. I ran it as a toy and lost interest. This was all almost 20.years ago.

Now I am looking to try it out again w my son, just bashing or rsacing friends, nothing competitive. I want a solid electric platform that will be upgradable over time in 1/8 or 1/10 scale. Possibly even upgrading a chassis from 2wd to 4wd later, if that's even possible.

A kit would be fun but RTR might be more economical?

Is it possible to even consider this and be ALL in at $400 or less?

Last edited by Coldwaters; 01-11-2024 at 06:02 AM.
Old 01-11-2024, 03:45 AM
Tech Apprentice

EBuggy typically refers to 1/8 racing buggies running on electric vs nitro. That’s one of the most expensive classes to get into. Kits alone are typically >$600. You would still need all electronics, tires and sometimes wheels. While almost all 1/8 buggies are 4WD, it’s unusual for any car to be upgraded from 2WD to 4WD.