R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-05-2005, 07:32 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
knucklebusta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 107
Send a message via Yahoo to knucklebusta
Default HELP, fried GTB 5.5 in under 1 minute

UNREAL. I hook the thing up in my XX-4, run the thing and it's working, configure it an whatnot. I charge my 6 pack 3700 GP's, hook them up and turn on the ESC and the thing beeps and smokes.

Any ideas what I did? Nothing was crossed, everthing was tight. I even ran the same pack in my XXX-4 with my SS5800 for fear that pack fried the ESC. The pack is fine, works fine in the xxx-4. Think I got a bum unit? I just can't for the life of me figure out if I did anything wrong.

Also, how fast is Novak with repairs?

Thanks, Kevin
knucklebusta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 07:39 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Newville,Pa
Posts: 2,152
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

AWWWWW MAN... you really screwed things up gooo..... J/K

Chances are it was one of those freak one in a million units that was just destined to die at birth..... Novak is usually pretty promt with their service...
__________________
G's RC Raceway- Best off-road track on the east coast...period!!!

Pitman for Team Dallas Austin...
IMPACTPLAYR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 10:34 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
WheelNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Edmonton, Ab
Posts: 3,210
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to WheelNut
Default

Novak is pretty quick with repairs, I'd just send it back to them pronto and get it fixed.
WheelNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 10:42 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,678
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I must have gotten one of those too, my GTX quit on me last friday for no reason.

Now I know why I have never run novak before, so glad tekin is back.
o.s. power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 11:06 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
subman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edmonton,Canada
Posts: 1,237
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I would bring it back to the LHS you bought it from and get them to exchange it!
subman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 07:27 AM   #6
Tech Adept
 
knucklebusta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 107
Send a message via Yahoo to knucklebusta
Default

The guy at teh LHS, is a real JERK. He specifically states, any problems, don't bring it back to me, bring it to Novak. It wasn't RC Excitement BTW. Those guys are cool, it's just that they didn't have one, and wanted $40 more than this place. Anyhow, I overnighted it to Novak. Like I said before, technology doesn't impress me. I just can't understand why it fried. Do you think perhaps it's because after I charged the pack it was up to 8.4 volts or something? I charge it at 5.0A 5mV/C and 52 deg celcius.

I just can't understand why it ran when the pack was dull, then fried after I charged it.

Kevin
knucklebusta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 08:00 AM   #7
Tech Champion
 
Davidka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9,931
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

Could've been a fluke. Novak will back you up.
Were the tabs that the power wires come out of touching the chassis? The Graphite chassis conduct electricity.
Give it another chance, I bet you will like it.
__________________
"I have no idea what you're talking about, so here's a bunny with a pancake on it's head."

In mind and body, we're all heading towards old age. It is slower to go by bike.
Davidka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 08:10 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
knucklebusta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 107
Send a message via Yahoo to knucklebusta
Default

Nope, no wires, or tabs touching, the wires I shortened on the motor were meticulously soldered, no solder leaking over to other tabs. All wires tight. Shrink tubing over the deans. I'm careful with that stuff. I like everything to be neat as I'm a nit picker. Probably just a bad unit. I'll be afraid to put the new one back in when I get it now I couldn't believe the heat and smoke. My wife was ready to get a bucket of water, LOL. She thought the house was going to burn down

Kevin
knucklebusta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 08:28 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Rysuleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 578
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I think it's standard procedure to have any ESC sent into the manufacturers repair facility rather than have the LHS take your broken one and issue a replacement.

A guy that races with me sent in his Novak SS+ 5800 because one of the sensor wires got cut. Novak took a couple of weeks for some reason and then sent him a replacement, but it was a 4300. Don't expect Novak to overnight it back.
Rysuleod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 08:36 AM   #10
Tech Adept
 
knucklebusta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 107
Send a message via Yahoo to knucklebusta
Default

Well, they have a form, you can pick the shipping you want. I picked 2 day UPS for $5 I think. I might call them and have it overnighted if I get too impatient, or I might just buy a brushed system for the meantime, seeing that I can't use the thing anyhow due to all the snow and slush.

I make a lot of sense


I just have a problem, I couldn't sleep well last night knowing my new brushless was taking a trip back to Cali. If my stuffs in good order and working, I am able to function a lot better.


Kevin
knucklebusta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 09:27 AM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Rysuleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 578
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I can understand that. Who needs more stress? I think we'd all be agonized by spending $250 and not even getting to run the darn thing.

I was a little worried at first about my SS+ 5800 system because all those sensor wires seem so fragile, but it's holding up okay. I have mine in a XXX4 though so it's more protected than it would be in a 2wd buggy or truck.

I shortened my wires too. I wanted it to look all nice, so I spent a lot of time jamming the perfectly soldered end into the tiny hole. At one point I was pretty sure I melted the PC board, but I didn't hehe.
Rysuleod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 10:02 AM   #12
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Sorry bout your luck...

But

All the racer`s at my track experience nothing but great performance from their Novak GTB `s.....
Attached Thumbnails
HELP, fried GTB 5.5 in under 1 minute-wc.jpg  
__________________
Any driver can copy a great set up, a Champion however will steal it .
If Jesus returned as a Rc car he be a Rc10 B5M
George W. Cherry
Wild Cherry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 11:59 AM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 293
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

it shouldnt and could not have been rc excitement because todd runs his shop in tip top shape and always helps out when needed.


where was this thing bought at. i prolly know who tho
xxx-tkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 12:19 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
AE guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: MA
Posts: 122
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AE guy
Arrow

sigh...... should have went with the LRP! Nah lol novak is a very reputable company they should have it fixed within a week or two, no biggie.
AE guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2005, 12:31 PM   #15
Tech Adept
 
knucklebusta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 107
Send a message via Yahoo to knucklebusta
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxx-tkid
it shouldnt and could not have been rc excitement because todd runs his shop in tip top shape and always helps out when needed.


where was this thing bought at. i prolly know who tho

What's Todd got to do with it? He'd do the same thing, tell me to send it back to Novak, well maybe he'd give me a spare to use, he's good like that. It wasn't purchased at RC excitement, but at hobby usa. the most useless hobby store on the planet. I had the $240, so I said screw it, ima buy it and I did, and I got screwed. Oh well, Novak'll hook me up and hopefully the next one will work longer than 5 minutes.

Kevin
knucklebusta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 minute qualy. Pro and con?? J.Gonzalez Nitro On-Road 32 08-25-2008 02:11 AM
Last minute info on VP PRO !! Tabushi Nitro Off-Road 0 08-04-2008 09:25 PM
20 minute mod finals anyone? aus jd 2703 Australian Racing 2 08-05-2007 11:45 PM
TAKE A FIVE MINUTE PIT STOP socalbomber Electric On-Road 9 08-05-2007 01:34 AM
10 Minute Qualifiers GrandeGixxer Nitro On-Road 13 07-17-2006 01:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:56 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net